We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Crab House

Riverside Crab House
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You don't have to enjoy great food and funYou don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktailYou don't have to spend anytime dreaming by the poolYou don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee, or the passing dolphins or manatee......BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were lured into the Crab House by the riverfront location.

PROS: amazing views overlooking the Homosassa River and the 'monkey' island.

CONS: waited 20 minutes for our $10 grouper fingers to arrive, they tasted like rubber with way too much breading and were lukewarm. The men's bathroom floor was flooded with urine. Was last checked by staff the day before. Service slow! Waited 10 minutes to get our check. Won't be back...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    78
    41
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great view, ok food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was my first time here and my wife's second. The view of the river and Monkey Island is excellent. The island is only 50-60 feet from the restaurant. Our visit started off good with getting a table at the window. The restaurant was busy, but not slammed. We ordered our food (alittle overpriced) which took forever to come out. My wife asked our waitress what the hold up was and we couldn't get a straight answer. Our waitress came back out to us and asked us if we wanted a salad for our wait. I let her know that we ordered salad as one of our sides and she was clueless. She looked at our order on her pad and said she read our salad as something else.

Our salads wer brought out along with some rolls. This is now an hour into visit. Never once did she come back to re-fill our drinks, clean off our table as needed, or follow-up with us throughout our visit. Now an hour and a half into the visit my wife gets told that one of the sides is no longer available. Once again we ask how much longer for our food. Our waitress informs us that one of our meals appeared to be over cooked to the manager and it is being re-made.

Finally, our order is brought out. My plate is ok and my wife's meal was decent. The only quick thing about the visit was the waitress bringing our check to us when asked..lol...

Despite the poor service, I would come back again just for the views.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexus873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Getting ready to go back again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I are getting ready to go back to the Riverside Restaurant. We love the food and the service. Nicki the bartender at the downstairs tiki is the best. She always makes us feel so at home. Derrick the manager is always checking to make sure everyone is happy. We can not say enough about our experiences. Don't forget to order some crabs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We took a day trip kayaking and went to Homosassa Springs. Although it was a windy day, it was gorgeous. After our trip we wanted to eat at a local restaurant. We finally decided on Riverside Crab House, which is connected to Yardom Lounge, and Monkey Bar. All three places have a similar menu and occupy the same land area. We ate upstairs overlooking Monkey Island (yes, there are 5 monkeys living on a very small island). I ordered raw oysters and they were wonderful, the presentation was great. My guy ordered fish and chips and they were good. The service was excellent and the price was reasonable. There are a lot of restaurants in the area but we will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great gem that's off the path!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Found this place by accident and then went based on the reviews, we were not disappointed. Food was very good, view of the river was great, and the monkeys were entertaining! Service was good, we got there around 5:00 and the restaurant was just starting to fill. We would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Riverside Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing