We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time had by all!”

Ellie Schiller Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.99*
and up
Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rehabilation center for injured animals, with a broad selection of birds and reptiles, including the manatee.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good time had by all!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is not large by any means. But, the number of different animals you are able to see is significant. If you are a veteran, especially with a disability, make sure to ask about a discount. My dad was with us and obtained a free pass to all of the parks in Florida. Didn't really see any manatee. They were penned off in an area of the lagoon that was not close to any of the walkways for viewing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Savys_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,393
    457
    84
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So nice to visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

So clean and animals are taken care of.The employees are so helpful and know everything we ask them.Love walking around several times a week .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeAnna535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Creek, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very well maintined park with a large variety of animals to view. We parked at the west entrance so we missed out on the boat/tram ride. The manatee talk was too long to hold the attention of our grandchildren (ages 4-8) but otherwise they loved the park. Great place for family fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must Do”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after a morning of manatee watching and loved it. Well presented, interesting, clean and natural. This is like a great zoo in the sort of wild. I loved the boat ride on the way in, the hippo, the birds, the cats and the boardwalk. Nicely done, Florida!!

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see in Crystal River”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful gem in the middle of town. The tour starts with a short pontoon ride to the preserve. The reserve houses a fantastic zoo of local wildlife, except for Lou the adopted Hippo. I will not reveal the other animals so other travelers can enjoy the same surprises I did.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie Schiller Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ellie Schiller Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing