We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got our limit of Scallops again!”

River Safaris And Gulf Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.84*
and up
Crystal River Manatee Swim
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Small Group VIP Manatee Pontoon Tour
More Info
$51.94*
and up
Gulf of Mexico Airboat Ride and Dolphin Quest from Homosassa
Ranked #1 of 26 Tours in Homosassa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Safaris - Mild & Wild Airboat Rides & Dolphin Tours / Manatee Tours / Pontoon Rental / Eco Boat Tours / Fishing Charter / Scalloping / Cafe & Alligator Exhibit Tropical setting with plenty of parking on our 3 acres of natural and landscaped property. Rentals and Rides leave from our waterfront location. Key West style building in front of the property is where you go to sign in for tours and rentals and to get information and visit our gift shop and cafe. Next door on the same property is the Pepper Creek Pottery in a 1930's Florida Cracker House and the Glass Garage under the Tree House Vacation Rental. Restrooms in the main building with Changing rooms located next to the Glass Garage. Live Alligator "pit" is between the buildings and the waterfront canal that leads to the Homosassa River and the Gulf of Mexico
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is our 5th or 6th time, more for our hosts, that we have rented a 21' or 25' pontoon boat from this location. They are great renters. We rent once a year to go scalloping and this year was no different, no surprises. It was a beautiful day last Saturday and we were able to get our limit of scallops and made it back in plenty of time.

Just remember that they only take cash. Just be prepared ahead of time!

Scallops are at marker 10 and to the right! lol

Thank RonKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverSafaris, Manager at River Safaris And Gulf Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi, we wanted you to know that we all saw your review and appreciate you taking the time to do it. Loved the picture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for River Safaris And Gulf Charters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 599 of 606 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a GREAT day on the river until the propeller came off our pontoon boat, and these people charged our credit card for an ADDITIONAL $400 AND they are trying to stick us with a bill for an additional $1300!! They would not even allow us to have OUR mechanic look at the engine to see what damage was really done. Only NOW have I gone throughout the internet to find other circumstances where these people have done the some thing to others. PLEASE find another company to go with. There are PLENTY of them out there. I don't want anyone to go through the heartache we have been through these past few days. The bad thing is we would probably have even offered to take care of getting the engine fixed. We don't even know what the real problem WAS. I NEVER write bad reviews, but I do not want anyone else to go through what we have.

3  Thank SpaDiva247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverSafaris, Owner at River Safaris And Gulf Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

The Homosassa River is a rocky narrow dredged waterway where damage does happen. We offer propeller and skeg insurance in order to help offset the high costs that may be involved in engine and boat damage but the maximum this covers is $225. Our policy is to provide the customer with records of payments that we make to have repairs completed, if requested, so that they know exactly what they are paying for. We do not charge the customer for the days that the boat cannot be rented due to damages. Our goal is to get the boat back up and available for the next renter as soon as possible. We take great pride in our rental boats and customer service and hope that potential boat renters will give us the opportunity to prove it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just back from a fun filled day with the River Safari. We booked a Swim with the Manatee Tour. Our Captain Jim was a fabulous guide to finding and swimming with these amazing, gentle giants. He fully explained the do's and don'ts... Clean, well fitting wet suits, goggles and swim boots were supplied. You can either swim or just ride along. Hot coffee and hot chocolate were offered to all when the swim was complete. We stayed in the swim area for over an hour - plenty of time to get up close and personal. Dry towels and even blankets were on board to warm the swimmers. Well worth the time and dollars spent. Lovely cafe with home made bread and cookies - sandwiches etc. We had just enough down time from our swim to head back out on the water for a one hour air boat ride. Our Captain - Bob - was fully of surprises and pointed out bald eagles, indian mounds, etc... We traveled to the edge of the gulf and back - skimming the water... Thrilling ride without being frightening at all. This whole day was a first for us and we rated it a five star day.
Many thanks to the entire staff of River Safari. We will sing your praises to anyone who asks. And best of all, only one hour from our home in The Villages.

1  Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riversafaris2014, Owner at River Safaris And Gulf Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

All of us here at River Safaris wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review! Coming in the winter to Homosassa is always a great time to see manatees and the airboat rides are excellent winter, spring, summer and fall. You let us know we are doing our jobs well and that you enjoy the Nature Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We to the Martins Keys ride. It was a perfect boat ride to end our trip to this area of Florida. We saw a pod of dolphins, osprey nests, manatees, and so many birds. Capt. Bob slowed down every time there was something to see. Excellent trip. Bring a coat! Their store had clean bathrooms and a little cafe. Although we did not eat, it looked clean.

1  Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riversafaris2014, Owner at River Safaris And Gulf Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We took the airboat St. Martin trip, with Capt Tom. The staff is very polite and friendly. The deli has a good sandwich selection with fair prices. The boat ride is totally awesome, seeing the gulf from an airboat is really relaxing and has a bit of a thrill all at the same time. The experience is beyond words. It's a little pricey, but worth the time. I would recommend this to anyone going to Crystal River or Homosassa. Capt Tom's service is definitely worth a generious tip. Make sure you check out the allegators before you leave. :)

1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riversafaris2014, Owner at River Safaris And Gulf Charters, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We all appreciate you taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Safaris And Gulf Charters also viewed

 

Been to River Safaris And Gulf Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing