We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacRae's of Homosassa
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Homosassa
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Homosassa Riverside Resort(Homosassa Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Resort(Homosassa Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
26
39
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
39
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscallopslaid backroom was cleangreat placethe riverold floridascallop seasonmonkey barbeer and winelive musicroom serviceplace to eatbait and tackle shopscalloping triplove this placestate parkgulf of mexico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 77 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is THE place to stay when snorkeling for scallops. Not fancy, but comfortable, and
just off the river. Not a chance of roaring traffic or other noise - other than the frogs at night after
a good rain.

The eats at The Shed are good, but mostly fried. If you wany your own, rent an efficiency and
pretend to eat healthy......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelnow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton this ain't it. This place is basically an old Florida fish camp. Once you take your chill pill and realize this is a laid back tank top and flip flops type of place you will have a blast. Also keep in mind everything here is geared towards being on the water, snorkeling, fishing, cruising up and down the river. If that is not your thing you might grow bored after a day or two. The people are friendly, the room was clean, and the beer was cold. My AC blew good and cold and we had a full kitchen with everything I would need if I wanted to stay one night or a month. If you are put off by people eating and drinking with their shirts off and flip flops on their feet, stay away. If you want to hear good music and eat good bar food around friendly people by all means show up. I have stayed at the Ritz in Naples and have stayed in more than one presidential suite from New York to Las Vegas. My point is you have to know what you are getting into. This is old, laid back Florida. Go with the flow and have a great time. We went during the height of scallop season and everything was packed, yet everyone was friendly and having a great time. BTW we used Captain Zach Hoffman based upon MacRae's recommendation. It was money well spent. I have lived in Florida for 55 years and it was the best day of fishing in my life.

Room Tip: Get and end room near the river. Do not worry about the noise from The Shed, it closes early. Scallop season is very busy. The Freezer restaurant is a short walk and well worth it. Keep in mind everything around here is tank tops and flip flops.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Shed oozes atmosphere and feels like something out a movie. Perched right on the Homosassa River, this casual bar/snack bar, part of the Macrae's complex at Homosassa features awesome river views on a busy waterway, a loyal fishing clientele, cheap beer, a riverwalk and piers and atmosphere plus. $1.75 for a 16 oz Bud.
Have never been to riverside bars on the Louisiana Bayou, but I imagine they would be like this. Amazing place for a drink and chill.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was there during the week so the rooms were $55, they were clean, had coffee in the room, several dining options nearby and it was quite. Unfortunately for me it was 32 degrees both mornings and so the fishing wasn't very good, but that is not the hotels fault, that is the fishing god's fault (they can't always be good to me, LOL).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is old Florida at it's best. Located on the Homosassa River it has 4- 1 bedroom apartment units and a dozen or so one bedroom motel type rooms. Just a short walk toward the river brings you to The Shed with cold beer and appetizers and some really friendly local people. Tuesday night is the catfish fry followed by Karaoke and music. Watch the local guides bring in the catch, the boats going up and down the river, rent a pontoon or jon boat and go fishing yourself. The onsite bait and tackle shop has everything you need for a great day on the water and from the activity early am at the ramp it seems the local guides do a good business. There is a single boat ramp and first come first serve docking but we have spent several days there on numerous occasions and never had a problem. This is a great area to have a family get together with fishing, eating and grilling on the grilles right outside the rooms. Tv's and clean rooms but this is not a spa...it is a real Florida location with an emphasis on the water, friends and good people. During scallop season the place is VERY busy and early reservations would be a good idea.

Room Tip: The 4 single bedroom units have kitchens and are preferrable for a longer stay. The single unit rooms are clean with AC/ two beds and a TV with a shower bath.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews