We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax is the operative word!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homosassa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacRae's of Homosassa
Ranked #2 of 3 Homosassa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relax is the operative word!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is THE place to stay when snorkeling for scallops. Not fancy, but comfortable, and
just off the river. Not a chance of roaring traffic or other noise - other than the frogs at night after
a good rain.

The eats at The Shed are good, but mostly fried. If you wany your own, rent an efficiency and
pretend to eat healthy......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelnow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton this ain't it. This place is basically an old Florida fish camp. Once you take your chill pill and realize this is a laid back tank top and flip flops type of place you will have a blast. Also keep in mind everything here is geared towards being on the water, snorkeling, fishing, cruising up and down the river. If that is not your thing you might grow bored after a day or two. The people are friendly, the room was clean, and the beer was cold. My AC blew good and cold and we had a full kitchen with everything I would need if I wanted to stay one night or a month. If you are put off by people eating and drinking with their shirts off and flip flops on their feet, stay away. If you want to hear good music and eat good bar food around friendly people by all means show up. I have stayed at the Ritz in Naples and have stayed in more than one presidential suite from New York to Las Vegas. My point is you have to know what you are getting into. This is old, laid back Florida. Go with the flow and have a great time. We went during the height of scallop season and everything was packed, yet everyone was friendly and having a great time. BTW we used Captain Zach Hoffman based upon MacRae's recommendation. It was money well spent. I have lived in Florida for 55 years and it was the best day of fishing in my life.

Room Tip: Get and end room near the river. Do not worry about the noise from The Shed, it closes early. Scal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Shed oozes atmosphere and feels like something out a movie. Perched right on the Homosassa River, this casual bar/snack bar, part of the Macrae's complex at Homosassa features awesome river views on a busy waterway, a loyal fishing clientele, cheap beer, a riverwalk and piers and atmosphere plus. $1.75 for a 16 oz Bud.
Have never been to riverside bars on the Louisiana Bayou, but I imagine they would be like this. Amazing place for a drink and chill.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was there during the week so the rooms were $55, they were clean, had coffee in the room, several dining options nearby and it was quite. Unfortunately for me it was 32 degrees both mornings and so the fishing wasn't very good, but that is not the hotels fault, that is the fishing god's fault (they can't always be good to me, LOL).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa.Fl
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is old Florida at it's best. Located on the Homosassa River it has 4- 1 bedroom apartment units and a dozen or so one bedroom motel type rooms. Just a short walk toward the river brings you to The Shed with cold beer and appetizers and some really friendly local people. Tuesday night is the catfish fry followed by Karaoke and music. Watch the local guides bring in the catch, the boats going up and down the river, rent a pontoon or jon boat and go fishing yourself. The onsite bait and tackle shop has everything you need for a great day on the water and from the activity early am at the ramp it seems the local guides do a good business. There is a single boat ramp and first come first serve docking but we have spent several days there on numerous occasions and never had a problem. This is a great area to have a family get together with fishing, eating and grilling on the grilles right outside the rooms. Tv's and clean rooms but this is not a spa...it is a real Florida location with an emphasis on the water, friends and good people. During scallop season the place is VERY busy and early reservations would be a good idea.

Room Tip: The 4 single bedroom units have kitchens and are preferrable for a longer stay. The single unit roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently. We were in the area to do some paddling. We were looking for a place convenient to the Chaz River and Withlacoochee. We ended up not doing the With due to the wind.

We did paddle the Homosassa as it was RIGHT THERE! The boat ramp is next to the property. There is the 'Shed' also for refreshments altho we did not have the chance to check it out.

The room was very comfortable - we had the kitchenette which had the coffeemaker and full refrigerator and regular sink. The kitchen was well equipped with just about anything we needed.

There are picnic tables and grills in the grassy areas as well.

The office was very accommodating for our late check in as well. This is a great spot and a very comfortable inn. We can definitely recommend this place.

There is no pool here. The room had a very nice TV. Room Service - other than the very capable maid service or the office there is no room service. This is more along the lines of an inn rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Get some groceries nearby Our room was adjacent to the 'Shed' and there was live music in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_MART_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
396 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This s a great place for a few nights, especially if you own a boat ! Very reasonable rates, and clean rooms. Docking available, outside bar and limited food, but great outside atmosphere right on the Homossassa River. You can rent boats also, or hire great fishing guides. Beautiful freshwater springs, or very scenic ride to the Gulf of Mexico . Stay outside fr some great Sunsets !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Villagesre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
772 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
7.0 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
630 reviews
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacRae's of Homosassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacRae's of Homosassa

Property: MacRae's of Homosassa
Address: 5300 S Cherokee Way, Homosassa, FL 34448-4423
Location: United States > Florida > Homosassa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Homosassa
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Macrae`s Of Homosassa Hotel Homosassa
Macraes Homosassa
Macraes Hotel Homosassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing