We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SEAFOOD!!!”
Review of The Freezer

The Freezer
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Homosassa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Restaurant/Bar in an old seafood freezer on the water where boats bring in their fresh catch. Amazing shrimp, fish dip and stone crabs. A lot of local controversy around restaraunt so it is becoming very popular.
Spring Hill, FL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT SEAFOOD!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Looks like a dive, but it really is a nice kick back kind of place. Eat great seafood, and I mean yummy seafood, and have a cold beer....relax, this is the Florida life!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gjmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    342
    82
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“They let people smoke there”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I can't believe people like the food. It's just not good.....any of it.
It's a cool bar to see the locals and drink beer or wine .
No wait staff so you pay before you get anything

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry34448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT SEAFOOD!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was my first time to eat at Freezers. Awesome!! Great Seafood, Great atmosphere! Unbelievable prices.Right on the water. Going back next weekend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kjdsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Best shrimp I have ever had hands down, and I've had a lot of shrimp! This place wasn't even on our radar when we stayed in Homosassa Springs, but a local couple took us here. The atmosphere was great, just a bunch of people having a good time, drinking cold beer and eating good food. Great view of the water and boats coming in. We are really glad that we got to experience this locals favorite!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank vege1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of cracker”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

just a run down place where fisherman bring in their catches. A local hangout but the buckets of shrimp with a cold beer are the best and sitting outside watching the gators swim around along with all the other wildlife was nice. It was something nostalgic. bathrooms are a little to be desired to say the least.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sineas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Freezer also viewed

 
 

Been to The Freezer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing