We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home with Loads of Extra's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anna Maria Pirates Den

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atoka, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home with Loads of Extra's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We have stayed at Pirates Den four times and each one has been great. We always stay two to three weeks. We are very anxious to retire soon so that we will be able to go for two to three months!! We adore the owners, Dave and Maree. We knew on the first stay, by the end of the first day that we had found a piece of heaven and that we would probably become close to Maree and Dave. Then on the second trip we went in November and were there three weeks (including Thanksgiving). We had a wonderful Thanksgiving with Maree and Dave thanks to them having a pot-luck Thanksgiving Dinner in their lovely screened-in room open to anyone that was staying there. There were six or seven couples at the dinner and it felt like we were at home with our own family. And since then Dave and Maree have become like extended family.

We love the accomodations at Pirates Den. You never have to want for anything (even scales in your bathroom to weigh on). Maree and Dave periodically will ask you how everything is going and if you need anything whatsoever. We have stayed in many condominiums over the years but none have ever had all the amenities or personal attention that Pirates Den has.
We are both big bicyclists and love the fact that there are bikes on premises (free too, imagine that!!!) We ride and walk almost the whole island every single day and when we get home to Tennessee we always say for weeks how much we miss the simple, stress free life of Anna Maria Island and our bike and walking excursions. We don't have to use our car very much while there because you have every convenience in walking distance: Publix Grocery, Walgreens, restaurants, hair salons, souvenir shops and even a trolley that carries you along the whole island. Oh, and not to forget the ocean right across the street that you can see from several of the units at Pirates Den. We usually walk on the beach and sit on the beach and read one of Maree and Dave's complimentary books from their little 'mini library'. When we get ready for some serious swimming and conversation with whomever might be poolside we come back to the swimming pool.

One of our other favorite places in Florida is Key West but since we've been coming to Anna Maria Island we have not been back to Key West because Anna Maria reminds us so much of Key West why go all that much farther plus Anna Maria is so much more laid back and Pirates Den is so close to the beach - just a short walk across the street with hardly any traffic to have to worry with.
Last summer our son's family came down for a week while we were at Pirates Den and had already reserved a condo directly across the street from Pirates Den. They stayed on the 3rd floor with no elevator and complained the whole week about the stairs and many other things. They paid three times what we did and at the end of the week they said they sure wished that they had stayed at Pirates Den and the next time they came they would definitely book at Pirates Den instead.

I can't say enough about Anna Maria Island, Pirates Den or Maree and Dave. But I will say that we are scheduled to go back at the end of this week for two lovely (not long enough) weeks. Can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
97
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at Pirates Den for nine nights at the end of April / start of May 2010. Even before the stay we had a very positive impression of the establishment, based both on the reviews and Maree's flexible, friendly and very helpful attitude when we corresponded with her before the trip.

We were not disappointed. First of all, Maree & Dave were very welcoming hosts, generous with their local knowledge and providing little extras for our comfort and convenience. The two-bedroom ground-floor apartment was perfect for our needs (with two little children): spacious, with an enclosed outside area, clean and tidy, while not being decorated so expensively that we lived in fear of breaking things. We were offered beach towels and toys. The pool and barbecue further enhanced our enjoyment.

Pirates Den is conveniently located: just across the road from a lovely beach and five minutes' walk from Manatee Public Beach (with life guards, playground, restaurant) and close to a Publix supermarket and other shops. It is also within walking distance of the free trolley stop.

We loved every minute of our stay on Anna Maria island, and I have to say that Pirates Den played a full part in this. We firmly intend to return to Anna Maria and as long as it is under the same management we'll return to Pirates Den.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Liliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed in one the the cottages and found it had everything we needed.The cottage has more than enough room for the three of us and is well equipped. We really enjoy having a private patio to sit out morning and night, just for alone time. Pirates Den is located within walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course the beautiful beach. We honestly haven't found anything we don't like and highly recommend the Pirates Den to everyone. Dave and Maree(the owners) are wonderful people and are always around if you should need anything.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukestergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

This is one of the best little spots I have ever been to.The locaton is great,the rooms are clean...charmingly decorated with a lot of care.It's location is perfect.
The couple who run it are true professionals in every sense of the word.They are the reason we went back the 2nd time and brought our friends along.We felt we were going to see people we KNEW...they are helpful,kind,interesting...there if you need them...but discreet: you feel taken care of.They make up part of the charm of AMI.WE already have our reservation for next year.
Don't hesitate GO...and reserve as soon as you can : O)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAiA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

Dave and Marie are like staying with "family" - you feel like you've knoun them your whole life. They are very accomodating. We were going to Key West previously - they are part of the reason we keep going back to Anna Maria . The location is great, the accomodations have everything you could need - they are like being "home". Our friends came with us this year and felt the same way...we're already booked for next year!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I have spent three fantastic vacations at the Pirates Den and the accomodations have always been great thanks to Maree and Dave, they could not be better hosts. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Everything is right there shopping, beach, fishing and dining.

Barb and Bill Rosar

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williammcgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We have been going to Pirates Den as a family for seven years now and would not think of going to any other accommodation. This year we came with our son daughter and their families and in-laws, four children plus eight adults and were made very welcome by Maree and Dave, who treat us as part of the family.

We had three apartments all with private patio and grill, which was ideal for all eating as a family.

The complex has its own private pool and is vey close to the beach shopping and restaurants. We did not use our car from the minute we arrived until we left.

The apartments are clean spacious and well maintained and we look forward to many more holidays at Pirates Den.

The Stewart Family
Edinburgh

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothyandnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.1 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Pirates Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Pirates Den

Property: Anna Maria Pirates Den
Address: 3501 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holmes Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Pirates Den is a small family run resort located on gulf drive in Holmes Beach. We have four individually decorated 2 bedroom apartments and 2 one bedroom cottages. Enjoy the island way of life, sun, beach, and most of all relaxation. Swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and walk any of the seven miles of sandy beaches and of course if you walk too far you can always catch the free trolley back to your fully equipped apartment. The island described by the English Daily Mail newspaper as "tranquil Florida, as it used to be, just beaches, pelicans and palm trees". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Pirates Den Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Anna Maria Island
Resort Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria Pirates Den Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing