We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at a reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We hated to leave, but just got back home from Pirate's Den last weekend. We took our grandsons (ages 10 & 16) there on vacation. Maree met us with a friendly welcome & helpful advice about things to do and see. She continued to be helpful throughout our stay of 8 days.

Our apartment was # 3--two bed, two bath. It was cute, clean, comfortable, spacious & quiet. Decor is Old Florida style. We found it to be well furnished. The pool was pleasant and clean.
Like other reviewers, we were able to borrow lawn chairs, umbrella, beach towels and toys to take the short block to the beach. Everything worked in the apartment and the landscaping is attractive. We enjoyed having breakfast or dinner out at the screened in porch. There were books to read if we were into it.

The location is just one block from the white sands of Holmes Beach. You cross a street, walk a few yards between small dunes with sea oats and a few burs (wear your sandals) to get to the beach. Just a few yards away is a beach cafe with delicious shrimp and fish. The boys enjoyed belgian waffles on the beach a couple mornings. The place has live music every night. Many other restaurants are within walking distance. The trolley is free. Publix & Walgreens are just a block away. We loved it. Can't wait to go back next year & plan to stay longer.

Room Tip: With a family, the second bathroom in apt 3 came in handy. Its a downstairs apartment, convenient t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had apartment 4 and it was absolutely ideal for a trip to Anna Maria Island. The apartment was spacious, well fitted out, and very clean. Pirate's Den is in the middle of the island, a few metres from a lovely beach, and the location is excellent. Dave and Maree couldn't have been more helpful, and work really hard to ensure that their guests are well catered for. The other guests we met there were repeat visitors, and I can understand why Anna Maria Island itself is lovely, and we particularly enjoyed visiting Bean Point which is an unspoilt beach at the top end of the Island. We ate at the Rod & Reel a few times, which was super.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BridieBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Just got back from our 3rd visit to the Pirate's Den and can't wait to go back next year! If you are visiting Anna Maria for the first time and are not sure where to stay, look no further, you will not be disappointed. Maree and Dave are great hosts, the place is very "homey", the location can't be beat -- the beach is directly across the street and behind is a plaza with gift shops, Publix, CVS Pharmacy and other stores. Go go go!! You will love it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AmberLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The previous reviews about Pirate's Den reflect our experience too.
We had a very relaxing time in Pirate's Den on AMI. The apartment we stayed in was spotless. Publix is around the corner and a short walk from the apt.. The beach is across the street. Pirate's Den have chairs and umbrellas you can borrow. We were recommended to go to Fire and Stone pizza restaurant on Cortez which was great value. All in all it was a great experience and we'd be back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make sure you ask for a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eireann12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Where do I start? The pirates den is a wonderful example of old florida at its best. My wife and I live in Jacksonville Fl and wanted some away time. So we did our research and settled on this great place. Dave and Maree are two of the most inviting people I have ever met! The rooms are attractive and clean, close to the beautiful ocean. Try the mango fruit when you go they are delicious. Thank you so much for sharing you're paradise with us Dave and Maree we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markmabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed for 10 nights in July with our 7 and 4 year olds. We were in apartment no. 2 (overlooking the pool).
Maree & Dave were very friendly and helpful and over the years have accumulated loads of beach equipment (chairs, umbrellasand even beach towels) which you are free to use. The apartment was well equipt, clean and even had a cupboard full of kids games. The pool area was small but with plenty of beds and parasols. There were gas bbqs available in the garden area and we were able to pick fresh mango for breakfast!
Manatee beach is only 100yds away and is stunning.
Anna Maria Island has a number of decent restaurants dotted around all of which are either within walking distance or you can use the free trolley bus that runs up and down the island. The trolley bus stop is only a 5 minute stroll from Pirates Den and just by the Publix (so handy for shopping).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clench999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

No reason to look anywhere else to stay on Anna Maria Island. This place is perfect. It's close to the beach, it's very clean, has all the amenities we needed for a week, including chairs and beach umbrellas, and the best hosts, Maree and Dave, that anyone could ask for. All this for a great price. When we come back to Anna Maria Island (we've been there three times) I will definitely be in touch with Maree to book our apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
971 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
1.6 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
171 reviews
2.1 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Pirates Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Pirates Den

Address: 3501 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holmes Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $80 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Pirates Den is a small family run resort located on gulf drive in Holmes Beach. We have four individually decorated 2 bedroom apartments and 2 one bedroom cottages. Enjoy the island way of life, sun, beach, and most of all relaxation. Swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and walk any of the seven miles of sandy beaches and of course if you walk too far you can always catch the free trolley back to your fully equipped apartment. The island described by the English Daily Mail newspaper as "tranquil Florida, as it used to be, just beaches, pelicans and palm trees". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Pirates Den Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Anna Maria Island
Resort Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria Pirates Den Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing