We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
orlando, fl
1 review
“Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed at the Harrington House this weekend and loved this Bed and Breakfast! Country charm, beautiful beach and GREAT customer service. The food was excellent as well. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amydaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    79
    19
    14
    1
See reviews for
63
463
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
smills01
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

This was my second visit to the Inn. The first was so wonderful that I've recommended it on-line and to friends. If I was to go again- I would only stay in the Hurth House. I was very dissapointed because we drove 4 1/2 hours to stay in a very tiny room (Primrose ) with no fireplace or jacuzzi and even though they said it was gulf front-it was a side view that you had to go outside to see. The second night we were moved to the cottage which was much nicer. When I expressed my disappointment in the first night- they really didn't seem to care. The location is ideal- the food was much better last time. All and all- I probably would have recommended it highly- and booked again at the Hurth House- but being basically told. "so what"- we're almost always booked put a bad taste in my mouth! Try the Heron Cay in Mt. Dora.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — tiny, cramped room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smills01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Been coming to Anna Maria Isl for years and will only stay at Harrington House. Don't know why another traveller said the breakfast was poor, they are huge and change everday and whats more they won't begrudge you seconds either, if you can manage it!! The staff are all very professional and they now have at least 4 different buildings to choose from, if a room was not to their liking and also was available.
The beach is possibly one of the finest in Florida and actually equalls many of the best in the Caribbean. I am actually staying here now as I write this and once again, I am pleased to be here with my wife.
Be it with your kids or just a romantic few days with your loved one, Harrington House and location can't be beat.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank selecthotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

My husband and I recently returned from a four night stay at the Harrington House. We absolutely loved the inn and Anna Maria Island. The island itself is very quiet (especially because it's the off season) and very few people were on the beach. The beach itself is as nice as many we've seen in the Caribbean - white sand, crystal clear water. The Harrington House provides beach loungers, umbrellas, beach towels and floats, as well as bicycles and ocean kayaks. We had a small but clean and nicely decorated room in the Carriage House, which is located a few steps from the main house. The Carriage House has a common room with a kitchen and living room, which was nice for making lunch. The breakfasts were delicious, and served either in the dining room or out on the pool deck with a gorgeous ocean view. The staff is wonderful - very helpful with questions, dinner reservations, etc. - without being at all intrusive. If you're looking for a quiet getaway on a beautiful beach, this is the place!!

  • Liked — Close proximity to beautiful beach
  • Disliked — Room was small
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyDPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane Central
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

This was our second round with the Harrington House so something must have brought us back... fact is I was a bit disappointed in terms of what you pay and what you get... six hundred bucks isn't chump change for a couple of nights on the beach... when I put out that kind of money for a bed and breakfast I expect it to be something out of the ordinary. We paid way less than that for a superior bed and breakfast in the Maui highlands a year or so ago which kind of set the bed and breakfast bar for me... yeah, I know, not a weekend get away destination but in a part of the world where you expect to bleed your bank account dry it was head and shoulders above what we just experienced at the HH.

So... what does six bills and two nights on one of Florida's finest beaches get you? On this round it was a musty, damp room with a peculiar odor... kind of a combo of bug spray, mildew, (and something perfumy in an attempt to cover up the bug spray and mildew) with an air conditioner that rattled you out of bed every time the compressor cut on. Sure, the in-room heart shaped hot tub was a plus and being right on the beach in a classic Florida beach house was nice but...

Both breakfasts were not anything to write home about... two mini blintzes on day one and a small omlette with two pieces of toast the next, ok, homemade oat bread toast and a piece of blueberry bread... but again, for the money I really do expect more. My wife ordered something other than the daily special and was presented with two fired eggs and, well, two fried eggs... no bacon, ham, sausage, or anything else was offered up...

Not really panning the place as a disaster but it is showing its age and in terms of "value" I would rate it pretty low on the chart... romantic getaway? Perhaps but I think this destination is best suited for senior citizens with small appetites or anyone else with large weekend getaway budget in search of a some place that offers a bit of solitude and lot of peace and quiet.

Will we go back? Probably not... we'll file this one under the been there, done that (twice) and look for another Florida getaway... for the same money, less actually, we could have done a three day cruise on a RCL ship out of Port Canaveral with some money left over to leave in the Casino.

If the HH is in your sights I would avoide bunking in the stinky, damp cottage and opt for one of the rooms on one of the upper floors of the main house... don't recall any issues during that stay and the breakfasts were better and more substantial during round one.

Summary: Destination/Beach: A+++ Accomodations: C
Breakfast: D Staff: B+ Local eateries: A

  • Liked — Location, Location, and, oh yeah... location!
  • Disliked — Value to cost ratio...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scrwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We just returned from a long weekend at the Harrington House and just loved it! Everyone that we met was helpful, extremely nice and friendly and never seemed like they were going out of their way to help. It was a full house while we were there but we never felt crowded. The bikes were great a lot of fun and a good way to tour the little island! The best part of the day - the yummy chocolate chip cookies that came out in the afternoon!! All in all, we had a great time and are already trying to figure out when we can go back ourselves and/or with our families!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lconner001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We have stayed at Harrington House twice before, we booked a room in the B&B over 6 months ago, a few days before we we due to arrive we had an email asking us if we minded being upgraded to the beach condo (Vist Grande Villas) when we opened the door to the condo we thought we had arrived in heaven, the condo was fantastic.
We had a full width window directly overlooking the beach and three huge bedrooms, all en-suite.
We had planned on having breakfast in the main B&B but our balcony was too inviting for us to leave,
We sat and watched the sun set every night to a glass or two of wine, it was magical.
We have to thank all the staff and the owners of Harrington House for making our stay the highlight of our vacation in Florida.
We have a small B&B in York, England so we know what makes a place special, Harrington House is special.

  • Liked — quality and attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barbicanhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
1.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
2.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5626 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing