We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holmes beach is a nice destination but the accomdations are really average...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2007

This was our second round with the Harrington House so something must have brought us back... fact is I was a bit disappointed in terms of what you pay and what you get... six hundred bucks isn't chump change for a couple of nights on the beach... when I put out that kind of money for a bed and breakfast I expect it to be something out of the ordinary. We paid way less than that for a superior bed and breakfast in the Maui highlands a year or so ago which kind of set the bed and breakfast bar for me... yeah, I know, not a weekend get away destination but in a part of the world where you expect to bleed your bank account dry it was head and shoulders above what we just experienced at the HH.

So... what does six bills and two nights on one of Florida's finest beaches get you? On this round it was a musty, damp room with a peculiar odor... kind of a combo of bug spray, mildew, (and something perfumy in an attempt to cover up the bug spray and mildew) with an air conditioner that rattled you out of bed every time the compressor cut on. Sure, the in-room heart shaped hot tub was a plus and being right on the beach in a classic Florida beach house was nice but...

Both breakfasts were not anything to write home about... two mini blintzes on day one and a small omlette with two pieces of toast the next, ok, homemade oat bread toast and a piece of blueberry bread... but again, for the money I really do expect more. My wife ordered something other than the daily special and was presented with two fired eggs and, well, two fried eggs... no bacon, ham, sausage, or anything else was offered up...

Not really panning the place as a disaster but it is showing its age and in terms of "value" I would rate it pretty low on the chart... romantic getaway? Perhaps but I think this destination is best suited for senior citizens with small appetites or anyone else with large weekend getaway budget in search of a some place that offers a bit of solitude and lot of peace and quiet.

Will we go back? Probably not... we'll file this one under the been there, done that (twice) and look for another Florida getaway... for the same money, less actually, we could have done a three day cruise on a RCL ship out of Port Canaveral with some money left over to leave in the Casino.

If the HH is in your sights I would avoide bunking in the stinky, damp cottage and opt for one of the rooms on one of the upper floors of the main house... don't recall any issues during that stay and the breakfasts were better and more substantial during round one.

Summary: Destination/Beach: A+++ Accomodations: C
Breakfast: D Staff: B+ Local eateries: A

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Scrwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 643 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2007

We just returned from a long weekend at the Harrington House and just loved it! Everyone that we met was helpful, extremely nice and friendly and never seemed like they were going out of their way to help. It was a full house while we were there but we never felt crowded. The bikes were great a lot of fun and a good way to tour the little island! The best part of the day - the yummy chocolate chip cookies that came out in the afternoon!! All in all, we had a great time and are already trying to figure out when we can go back ourselves and/or with our families!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lconner001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We have stayed at Harrington House twice before, we booked a room in the B&B over 6 months ago, a few days before we we due to arrive we had an email asking us if we minded being upgraded to the beach condo (Vist Grande Villas) when we opened the door to the condo we thought we had arrived in heaven, the condo was fantastic.
We had a full width window directly overlooking the beach and three huge bedrooms, all en-suite.
We had planned on having breakfast in the main B&B but our balcony was too inviting for us to leave,
We sat and watched the sun set every night to a glass or two of wine, it was magical.
We have to thank all the staff and the owners of Harrington House for making our stay the highlight of our vacation in Florida.
We have a small B&B in York, England so we know what makes a place special, Harrington House is special.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank barbicanhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

My husband and I recently celebrated my birthday at Harrington House B & B in Holmes Beach, FL, on Anna Maria Island. This was our first stay in a B & B and it couldn't have been more lovely! Everyone was so friendly, and extremely professional, just made our visit a dream! The location was spotless, beautifully decorated, and such a relaxing time! We have already recommended their Website and a trip to friends and family, while hoping to return soon ourselves! Most definitely what a vacation should be!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank ILBeachmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisonj, Patti Davis, Innkeeper Manager at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2007

We wanted to take the opportunity to Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful comment on Trip Advisor and for referring us to your friends. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you again! From your Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We booked our room en-route to Anna Maria we were actually 2 miles away when we rang, The Harrington was recommended in the Lonely Planet book which has never let us down so we went for it. Our Room Birdsong had a rate of $200 per night inc breakfast which I thought a tad $$$ at first but when you add in a great gourmet breakfast, free use of the Kayaks & cycles ($10-15 per hour most places,) We made full use of the facilities and made it a decent deal.

The group of properties are in a stunning location all are well maintained clean and thoughtfully equipped with the neccesary robes, towels, High quality soaps and lotions. Our room was perfectly adequate in size. I don't understand people who moan about room size when staying at a property almost 100 yrs old, if you want modern rooms stay at a Howard Johnson.

The view from the balcony is breathtaking, teaming with birdlife, Stingrays actually jumping 2ft out of the water and of course the Dolphin show twice daily as they pass feeding. We took the Kayak's out when we knew they were due and the wife was close to tears when a mother bottlenose swam by with her two babies. Almost worth the room rate on it's own.

Eating.
We ate at the Waterfront on the bayside of the Island. We brits are a tortured race when it comes to decent food we have to pay for quality dining. The menu here i thought was excellent value. with well presented high quality ingredients. The house smoked salmon appetiser was excellent as were the coconut shrimp.

A great range of Local & european special beers were sampled and the wife enjoyed the range of wines. A walk on the pier, post meal and a chat with the fisherman made for a great night. We ate here twice, it was that good.

Overall.
Anna Maria Island & the Holmes beach area is really very special. So stay away, don't go there, it's mine.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nevergolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rednordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisonj, Innkeeper at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SunDollyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
1.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
2.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
8.8 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bungalow Beach Resort
Bungalow Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Anna Maria
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5626 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $210 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing