We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for a better place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5626 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
27% off Bungalow Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could not ask for a better place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is our 5th time there and we are never disappointed. Peaceful, clean, well run with great staff, and right on the beach. Their chef does an excellent job of preparing breakfast between 7 and 10am. And you have the ocean for a backdrop just steps away. Most of their staff have been there forever, so that says something about the management right there. If you think the cost is high, then remember a great breakfast is included, they have beach chairs and umbrellas, and if you just want to relax in the sun all day on an uncrowded beach this is all you need. We go for dinner at some great restaurants just 5 minutes away, but the rest of the time we relax right there.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the ocean is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank picklemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    74
    18
    14
    1
See reviews for
60
432
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our stay at the Harrington house was very nice. clean, comfortable and quiet. The beaches are beautiful clean and minimally busy. If you are looking for a low key truely relaxing time to get away
I would not hesitate to recommend or stay again at the Harrington house

Room Tip: There is not a bad seat in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickkv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presto, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

First time on Anna Marie Island and The Harrington House was the perfect place to stay at. We roomed at the Huth house, which is located a few minutes walk up the beach from the main house. Clean room, huge shower and jacuzzi tub, and nice patio with beach access and beautiful sunset view!
The breakfast every morning was fantastic and the staff was outstanding. The only complaint we had was that the bicycles they have for use there are in pretty bad shape and could use a little maintenance.
We hope to go back to celebrate many anniversaries!

Room Tip: Huth House is great if you want a little privacy from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarringtonHouseFL, Manager at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Harrington House. Thank you for bringing to our attention the condition of the bicycles -- it doesn't take long for the sea air to have its impact on anything metal. We are keeping a better eye on them and will be replacing the worn out ones soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Harrington House B&B was highly recommended by a friend who visits regularly, and we visited in mid-May for a weekend. It was wonderful. Very peaceful, quiet and tranquil. The beachfront is gorgeous and kept immaculate, the grounds are very nicely landscaped and well-maintained, and the breakfast meals were gourmet and delicious. We stayed in the "Cottage", a separate building from the main house, and is highly recommended. We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Property serenely set on a quiet end of Holmes beach. Vast expanse of beach with little or no crowds. Grounds are lovely and well maintained. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the chef prepared breakfasts are superb. (LOVED the oatmeal bread!). Rooms were comfortable, quiet, very clean, had nice beds and linens, and even included flashlights for the beach at night. We stayed in Dodt #1, and our only concern was the size of the bathroom. For 3 days, it was fine, but for longer, we would have wanted a larger bathroom. It was, in a word, tiny. Would definitely return to this property; all else was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been coming to Anna Maria Island for a number of years, most often renting a house for a week. This trip however was a much shorter stay, so we decided to look into hotels and B&B's. We were so pleasantly surprised by the Harrington House. It was a great mix of "small hotel and B&B". We were greeted warmly by the staff and our room (Birdsong) was perfect - with a large deck overlooking the gulf and endless views of the beach and water. Breakfast was delicious. They have bicycles, kayaks and beach chairs available free of charge to all guests - a nice touch. Enjoy this little enclave - it is a great place to call home for a few nights.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend spending a little more for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in the Dodt #2 on the beach. Location was wonderful walked out of our door straight onto the white sand.
The accommodation was a little tired for my taste but this is covered by the " old Florida look " everything you need is catered for however.
I felt a little uncomfortable with the staff ( too snobby for my liking ) and did not enjoy breakfast ( admittedly being British all I really wanted was a proper cup of tea and bacon with eggs!). With very few tables to tend we still had to wait and ask for things which is a no,no in my book. There did seem to be regulars there and much attention was on those, so maybe just timing.
Could do with upgrading loungers and broken umbrellas.
Liked the cookies though nice touch.
For $780 for 2 nights at off peak just expected a little better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kermit40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarringtonHouseFL, Manager at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Harrington House. We noticed you stayed last year and since that time we have updated a few things in Dodt 2 -- although it still does have that "Old Florida" feel as the beach cottage was built in the 1920s. We have one and two bedroom Bungalows that much newer and renovated with a more modern feel. We have talked to all our staff about your comments regarding breakfast and promise to do our best with all our guests and to make sure we let everyone know that if they would like to order something other than the special of the day -- they are welcome to do so. We hope you will return again to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
1.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
2.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5626 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing