We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a Hidden Gem the Best on the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Titusville, Florida
1 review
“What a Hidden Gem the Best on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

They are located in the center of Anna Maria Island this Resort is somewhat of a hidden gem. It is located approximately 20 minutes away from Sarasota International airport. We made our reservation with Eric who was very helpful, we later found out he is a minister. The property has been extremely well maintained and features many different types of rooms. It seems to be catering to the needs of vacationers from all over the world we heard all types of accents. The Resort features a mix of standard, suite-like rooms and Cottages, we got a chance to see several before we had to unfortunatley leaveand weloved them all.

The suite we stayed in was clean and of a good size. The room featured a nice balcony with a view of the gulf. High Speed internet is complimentary and worked fine during our stay. They had beach chairs, grilles, beach towels and they even supplied free beach coolers, how cool is that. We also had to use the sofabed during the stay which I found to be surprisingly comfortable (sofabed, especially hotel ones are know to be notoriously uncomfortable).

This Resort is extremely good value for the leisure traveller/family for week-end stays or holidays There are many restaurants nearby, as well as one Publix market. It is a fairly central and convenient base for anything. We made our reservations to come back in June to renew our vows with Reverend Eric (what I nice man). Jeff was also very nice he helped us with just about everything we needed.

Cant wait to get back to my Dream Vacation spot

PS check out there Tiki Hut Beach Bar, guests will play bartender and I must say spent quite a bit of time there.

Room Tip: They do very intimate weddings we got to see one and they did a really nice job. It was catered ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    123
    34
    5
    6
See reviews for
255
433
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cocoa beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent several nights in the Orchid Cotage over the holidays it was fantastic - very central location - we just parked the car when we arrived left it there, everything was in walking distance. My wife said she had the best time ever.
Our room was great and very clean and really was not in there all that much. A great touch was they left a bottle of champagne for our anniversary,

All the staff was very friendly and helpful, they are right on the beach with lots of beach chairs.

Keep up the good work, Josh

Room Tip: Ask Jeff for some great Island tips..he helped us quite a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed just one night with family after a funeral. The Starfish room seemed clean enough and well equiped but we only used the dishes and the fridge. It has no view. Parking was a bit of a shuffle and the bare old wooden stairs and rough paint on the outside of the building gave me pause. But soon I was noticing old trees and vines, water features, gardens, painted picnic tables and tiki huts etc that give the place a cottage charm. In the morning after check-out we were allowed to stay for the day and borrow a cooler, towels (beach and shower), chairs, sunscreen and use a parking spot. They also allowed us to use a private shower inside so we could actually enjoy the beach and we finally left around 5pm, clean! The property is on a sunny, beautiful, quiet, white-sandy beach with sparkly blue water.

Room Tip: Warning, set your chairs away from the live beach cam. My dear Hubby up north in the snow could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimbaseballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights in the coral reef suite over the holidays. The suite was perfect for our family of three. We used the location as a destination as well as a base to visit disney etc. The setting is incredibly charming and relaxed. We used the grills and the tables in the tiki huts on the beach as the setting for most of our meals as we would watch the dolphins, pelicans and people headed up the beach. It was an incredible setting! The staff was professional and kept the grounds very neat and welcoming. Eric the owner went up and beyond to accomodate us by loading our rented kayak and paddle boards into his own truck and giving us a ride over to the inlet side of the island so we could explore the mangroves. Great place, great staff, great setting! We are looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tridentata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Having just spent a week in the Sandcastle Penthouse I can only agree with all the excellent reviews for this resort. Resort? No it's not a resort, but a collection of nicely maintained beach houses/apartments on the best strip of sand I have ever encountered. Watching dolphins in the bay from the penthouse suite was just magical.
Weather was not so kind during our stay but we are sure to return when it's warmer. Go, expecting a casual beach house and you won't be dissapointed, enjoy a wonderfully laid back break, as owner Eric explained it's not the Ritz or intended to be, but for us it was just perfect, good accommodation in a sensational location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamDenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came here for a wedding ~ 6 months ago, place was very tranquil and relaxing. They hosts are very accomodating. Location is top shelf! I liked it so much that I came back with a friend a couple weeks back for a qucik 3 day trip. Again, great time! Werre only a few other guests. Peaceful at night. Very well-located to grocery, liquor, beer, restaurants, etc. Cannot recommend them enough. Cannot wait to come back in a couple months!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location, over looking the beach. Walkable to the Beach House restaurant in one direction and The Sand Bar the other direction (long walk but along a great beach)
Sunsets views are great
Stunning location
Room very clean. Kitchen very clean
Private beach was very peaceful

The kitchen was under equipped with cutlery, plates etc. Nothing really matched. We had one wine glass for example.
The apartment felt like it needed updating, but maybe this is the old Florida feel other people really like

Listening to the upstairs apartment seemingly move furniture around all day and all night got annoying - in between the very short bursts of rapid bed squeaking noises which thankfully only lasted a minute or so ;-)

Guys running it were friendly and helpful - Jeff was very laid back and friendly.

For the price I would expect more but then I guess the location and the views are where the dollars are going.

Travellers tip - Try and get a room that does not have another above it

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Property: Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Address: 2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort located in the heart of your island paradise. Penthouses, gulf view suites, Key West style cottages and your own private sugar white sandy beach. Sip wine and the watch beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Hotel Holmes Beach
Cedar Cove Resort And Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing