We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campy beachfront with perks...but not updated and not a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Campy beachfront with perks...but not updated and not a resort”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed just one night with family after a funeral. The Starfish room seemed clean enough and well equiped but we only used the dishes and the fridge. It has no view. Parking was a bit of a shuffle and the bare old wooden stairs and rough paint on the outside of the building gave me pause. But soon I was noticing old trees and vines, water features, gardens, painted picnic tables and tiki huts etc that give the place a cottage charm. In the morning after check-out we were allowed to stay for the day and borrow a cooler, towels (beach and shower), chairs, sunscreen and use a parking spot. They also allowed us to use a private shower inside so we could actually enjoy the beach and we finally left around 5pm, clean! The property is on a sunny, beautiful, quiet, white-sandy beach with sparkly blue water.

Room Tip: Warning, set your chairs away from the live beach cam. My dear Hubby up north in the snow could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimbaseballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    134
    36
    6
    6
See reviews for
280
478
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights in the coral reef suite over the holidays. The suite was perfect for our family of three. We used the location as a destination as well as a base to visit disney etc. The setting is incredibly charming and relaxed. We used the grills and the tables in the tiki huts on the beach as the setting for most of our meals as we would watch the dolphins, pelicans and people headed up the beach. It was an incredible setting! The staff was professional and kept the grounds very neat and welcoming. Eric the owner went up and beyond to accomodate us by loading our rented kayak and paddle boards into his own truck and giving us a ride over to the inlet side of the island so we could explore the mangroves. Great place, great staff, great setting! We are looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tridentata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Having just spent a week in the Sandcastle Penthouse I can only agree with all the excellent reviews for this resort. Resort? No it's not a resort, but a collection of nicely maintained beach houses/apartments on the best strip of sand I have ever encountered. Watching dolphins in the bay from the penthouse suite was just magical.
Weather was not so kind during our stay but we are sure to return when it's warmer. Go, expecting a casual beach house and you won't be dissapointed, enjoy a wonderfully laid back break, as owner Eric explained it's not the Ritz or intended to be, but for us it was just perfect, good accommodation in a sensational location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamDenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came here for a wedding ~ 6 months ago, place was very tranquil and relaxing. They hosts are very accomodating. Location is top shelf! I liked it so much that I came back with a friend a couple weeks back for a qucik 3 day trip. Again, great time! Werre only a few other guests. Peaceful at night. Very well-located to grocery, liquor, beer, restaurants, etc. Cannot recommend them enough. Cannot wait to come back in a couple months!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location, over looking the beach. Walkable to the Beach House restaurant in one direction and The Sand Bar the other direction (long walk but along a great beach)
Sunsets views are great
Stunning location
Room very clean. Kitchen very clean
Private beach was very peaceful

The kitchen was under equipped with cutlery, plates etc. Nothing really matched. We had one wine glass for example.
The apartment felt like it needed updating, but maybe this is the old Florida feel other people really like

Listening to the upstairs apartment seemingly move furniture around all day and all night got annoying - in between the very short bursts of rapid bed squeaking noises which thankfully only lasted a minute or so ;-)

Guys running it were friendly and helpful - Jeff was very laid back and friendly.

For the price I would expect more but then I guess the location and the views are where the dollars are going.

Travellers tip - Try and get a room that does not have another above it

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was a quick 3 day get away. The sunset room was perfect. 2 bedrooms,kitchen, bathroom with a great patio. Lets not forget the few steps to the beach and hammocks! There are grills, coolers everything you could need want and more. A perfect place for families or a group of friends. Grocery store and liquor store is in walking distance. Everything is so clean. They have thought of everything. Little boxes outside your door that say "be sweet rinse your feet" the patio furniture was in good condition with a dry bar and plenty of seating. Jeff and Eric make you feel right at home, just so nice and accommodating. We came back from the grocery store left the door to the car open, Eric came over to make sure we were ok, just in case. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

After staying at several Resorts on the Island we finally stayed at Cedar Cove Resort. My wife loved it, in turn it was just awesome. We didnt know it but they have a private beach, and the days that we were there they had a guitarist playing. I thought I was in the Bahamas but didnt have to leave he country.

The Cottage we stayed in was the Sunflower, King bed and comfy. Talk about clean my wife said she could have eaten off the floor, not that she would. The people at the front desk were very helpful and kind. They made us feel right at home, I wish this was home

Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
673 reviews
2.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 16 in Holmes Beach
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Property: Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Address: 2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort located in the heart of your island paradise. Penthouses, gulf view suites, Key West style cottages and your own private sugar white sandy beach. Sip wine and the watch beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Hotel Holmes Beach
Cedar Cove Resort And Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing