We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A last minute decision to spend a couple of nights in the area brought us to the door of this motel since it advertises views of the water from every room.
It is a fun " Old Florida"place. There is a guest lounge next to the office,with good,fresh coffee each morning.We had # 109, which is a full apartment with living room,bedroom and kitchen, with huge sliding glass doors in both living and bedroom. It also has it's own patio,about 30 ft long. The walk to the beach is just the length of the building and is spectacular. What wasn't perfect: when sitting on our patio,our view was actually of the railing of the pool. Next time,I would request a second floor room.Also,our bedroom sported one single and one double (full) bed. Guess we are too used to a queen or king.
BTW, Phil,the caretaker is a wealth of local knowledge and can direct you to great restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleeSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear CaroleeSouthFlorida,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy you found us and enjoyed your stay here! I will also tell Phillip, our Maintenance Supervisor, that his recommendations to local restaurants were appreciated.
As far as the pool fence goes: The Blue Water Beach Club originally had no pool fence in the 1960's and 1970's (there was even a diving board!). Years later, the law was changed and all commercial pools had to have a fence around them in order to protect children, who could fall into the pool unsupervised.
We would be more than happy to arrange a room on the second floor, maybe also one with a King Size bed for your next stay. Give us a call if your travels take you to Anna Maria Island again!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed on Anna Maria--in this case, Holmes Beach--for several decades, so I know the area well. Discovering the Blue Water a few years ago was a gift. It's not pretentious, & it's not rundown. On the contrary, it is exactly what, for me, the Anna Maria area is all about: the charming, old Florida that is simple, lovely & relaxing. Blue Water is wonderfully located on the beach, immaculately maintained & rooms provide all the basics. They do offer a variety of options, so explore what's available before booking. Everything from deluxe suites to simple rooms are a possibility. Is has its own pool beside the beach & a trail down the the water. Highly recommended if you don't insist on pretentious. And prices are great as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear patrick g,

It means a lot to us, that you chose the Blue Water Beach Club for your recent stay, especially since you know the area well already. We feel honored and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and your room during your stay.

The Blue Water Beach Club was originally built in 1958 and was one of the first Motels on the island. We are trying to keep the "Old Florida" charm while updating our property with 21st century amenities like wireless internet access and flat-screen TV's. Again, we are delighted that you picked the Blue Water Beach Club for your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us again, when your travel brings you to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Get there early to get a room. Fills up fast. We ended up sharing a room but there was plenty of room. Just open up deck door and there's a whole outdoor room for you! (our room had two daybeds in the living room and two beds in the bedroom.) Has a kitchen and table, too. Very clean. The grounds are kept very neat. On the beach, there are lounge chairs to use. Saw dolphins right off the hotel. It was a quiet and relaxing stay. Great place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennie-MosesLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Jennie-MosesLake,

Thank you for sharing your memories about the Blue Water Beach Club here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even saw some dolphins out in the Gulf of Mexico.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the best beach hotel in this area. Great location right on the beach. Nice view of the ocean from the room. Nice big private balcony. Gorgeous property and nice clean pool. Kept well and room and grounds are nice and clean. Service is excellent, the ladies that manage this place are just the best. Great coffee in the morning with free cookies, just look at out for the thievin' squirrels. We highly recommend this place for a relaxing time at the beach.

Room Tip: Room 224 is excellent with great view of the ocean and a nice private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigbillyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear bigbillyt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and calling us "best beach hotel in this area". That is a great honor and we truly do appreciate your positive feedback! I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the service and I will pass on your compliments to our team.

If your travel takes you to Anna Maria Island again, please give us a call. We would love to have you again.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Blue Water Beach Club for six glorious nights. This place is very well maintained and all the staff will help you with anything that you need, directions, recommendations of good restaurants (and not the "touristy" ones). I loved that they provided beach towels so we didn't have to weigh our suitcases down! I also loved that they had chairs actually out on the beach. First come first serve, but if you don't get one of those chairs, you can always go to the closet and get one there (of course not as nice as the ones the provide on the beach). The water in the pool was crisp and cool and so refreshing. My husband and I are well acquainted with Anna Maria as my dad lives in Bradenton, and we have been coming here for over 30 years, but to actually stay on the island and stay at this place was just a our little slice of heaven. The people running this place really care and you can tell by how well it is taken care of. We will be going back, no doubt about it. Already made reservations for next year! We went from September 16th until September 22nd and we basically had the pool and beach to ourselves. Breakfast at the Rod and Reel Pier was so much fun and not far away at all!! AND very inexpensive to eat there. The only addition I would make is put a t.v. in the bedroom when the husband is watching his sports at night, I'd rather watch something else. Can't really sit outside as you will get eaten up by mosquitoes, but everyone knows about the mosquitoes in Florida!

Room Tip: Room 210 was very nice and clean and spacious and the AC was very cool (as we like it). Checked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin31360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Robin31360,

We would like to thank you very much for your great review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation with us. The month of September is one of our slower months and a well kept secret for travelers that are looking for a very quiet and peaceful vacation.

I will forward you suggestion about a TV in the bedroom to our owners and thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time stay on Anna Maria Island, The place is older, but well maintained! our stay was excellent! We are planning to return soon. The location was convenient, close to shopping, many off-site restaurants & RIGHT ON THE PRIVATE BEACH. Walk from your room to the beach or pool! Rooms were clean, bright, recently renovated & well equipped. Free on-off trolley one block away. All of the staff were friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: All room have a view of the pool & Gulf of Mexico, Hotel has 2 floors. The view of the private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Gail-lou,

Thank you very much for your nice review of your first visit to Anna Maria Island and the Blue Water Beach Club. I am glad you enjoyed our bright rooms and it makes me very proud, that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliment to the staff. And we would be thrilled if you would stay with us the next time you visit Anna Maria Island!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my wife got married 8.17.2013 and I found out about this property from my supervisor, and gave them a try and all i can say is Thank you! It reminded my wife of being back on her island in Puerto Rico, she really enjoyed herself so much that we looking to invest in us our own property. The property manager Sebastian was amazing and gave us a little wedding gift bag, and that just made my wife's day. It couldn't get no better. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Erik,

Thank you for posting such a nice review about the Blue Water Beach Club! We feel honored that you spent your honeymoon at the Blue Water Beach Club and even shared some of your great pictures with us! We hope to see you again very soon, maybe for one of your anniversary's?

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
2.9 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 16 in Holmes Beach
288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bungalow Beach Resort
Bungalow Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Anna Maria
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Club

Address: 6306 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1619
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $68 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is time to relax and enjoy some time away. We are a gulf front resort on a beautiful, quiet beach with white sand, family-owned for more than 40 years. Whether you choose an apartment, studio or bedroom - all of our rooms have a gulf view, daily room service, flat screen cable TV, free wireless internet and individual controlled A/C plus you can enjoy hot coffee and cookies in the lobby every morning. Hit the beach, just a few steps away from your room or take the free trolley to explore the whole Island. In our landscaped courtyard area enjoy a game of shuffle board or grab a pool towel from our office and take a dip in our heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Beach Club Hotel Holmes Beach
Blue Water Beach Hotel
Blue Water Beach Holmes
Blue Water Beach Club Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing