We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always my go to place for visiting friends and family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Beach Club
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Club to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always my go to place for visiting friends and family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We love everything about this motel. One of the last few true Floridian Mom and Pop establishments. Tidy rooms, great Gulf views, clean pool, personable and helpful staff, trolley stop ... I could go on! Can highly recommend this place. Thank you Sebastian.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherlockBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello SherlockBeach,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Blue Water Beach Club on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please feel free to call on your next trip to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    40
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We live in Florida and had never been to Anna Maria Island before so we decided to finally check it out. There are many places to stay so making a choice was difficult. We wanted to be ON the Gulf, not near, or a few steps away, or across the street. We also preferred a room with a view of the water, as well as a king size bed. Kitchenette rooms are common here, but that was not a necessity as we were anxious to check out some interesting restaurants. From the outside (parking lot side) Blue Water, although beautifully landscaped, appears to be an older two story motel. This concerned me as we pulled into the lot since we were paying about $200/night including all taxes and fees for each of three weekday nights. Even the first impression of the room was not terrific, but all my doubts slipped away when I stepped out of the sliding glass door (Room 129) and saw the beautiful grounds, wonderful pool area, and the beach right in front of me. Sort of like Dorothy arriving in Munchkinland. We had a fabulous stay, and enjoyed exploring the island, and chatting with the workers at Blue Water. The staff is great. Not so sure about the cleaning staff, who one day did not even make our bed, and left my dirty coffee cup in the room the whole stay. No worries though. It's really not about the room, which is comfortable enough, and quite clean. There is free wireless internet, and an old-fashioned 19" TV. As far as the island itself, there are beautiful beaches if you end up staying some place that is not waterfront, and ample parking at the public beaches. There's really not much to do except suntanning, swimming or walking on the beach, and eating. Everyone visits the pier on the bayside on the north end of the island. We had delicious grouper sandwiches and then hung out on the pier afterwards watching people fishing, and drinking $1.50 Happy Hour Pier City beer beginning at 3PM. We had lunch one day at the Sand Bar, yummy conch fritters, and a delicious cup of clam chowder for $3.50. There's not many deals on restaurant dining, so we would rethink the whole idea of having a kitchen if we go back. All in all, it's a place we would recommend to anyone, and if /when we return, we'll definitely stay at Blue Water.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, each has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello pko57,

Thank you for your response and for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your honest feedback and hope it will influence other travelers as well.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Blue Water Beach Club, though next time we'll probably stay somewhere else. The hotel is in a great location: It's near excellent dining and this stretch of beach never seemed very crowded. Ours was the cleanest hotel room I've ever stayed in and the grounds were beautiful. The room's furnishings were minimal. The mattress was stained and may be as old as the hotel, but it is still reasonably comfortable. The bathtub didn't drain well, the drain was rusted out and the drain cover floated around the tub as it filled with water. The staff were frequently visible on property, either maintaining it or assuring that amenities were only being used by hotel guests, and we felt secure leaving our first floor unit open as we went to the beach. As we arrived, we were "greeted" in the parking lot by an employee who yelled at me for parking in the wrong place, though if there was intended "check in" parking, it was not marked as such. As we left, another employee told us a very personal and very unflattering family story, which frankly disgusted us. In sum, this place is in a great location, but the employees weren't very pleasant and the accomodations, while very clean, haven't been updated in decades. Because the recommend question below is "yes" or "no," I'd say "yes," but with caution.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello GoodGirl_11,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at the Blue Water Beach Club. We appreciate any feedback to help us refine and improve our services and amenities.

I am sorry to hear that you felt being "yelled" at by an employee in the parking lot. We try to make every guest feel as secure as possible and monitor the parking situation throughout the day. I also apologize that one of our employees told you about their personal problems during your stay with us. I have discussed this incident with our front desk staff to avoid mistakes like these in the future. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We chose the Blue Water Beach Club because of its location. We walked out of our door and after, not many steps, we were on the beautiful beach. We had a deluxe apartment and it was everything we'd hoped for. The apartment was very clean, with nice furnishings...the mattresses were even comfortable. We had everything we needed; all the dishes and pots and pans, coffee maker with filters, full size fridge and stove, cable TV and private patio with beach chairs. There were also beach chairs on the beach and access to umbrellas and beach toys. Cindy and Sebastian, at the front desk, were GREAT! They joyfully answered all inquiries. By the time we left, I felt that they were old friends. Thank you for a wonderful vacation, hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazykitty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello Lazykitty52,

Thank you for choosing the Blue Water Beach Club and for sharing your comments. Our team strives to provide a great service to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible.

See you next year!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I booked this hotel for a few reasons - location right on the beach (no road to cross), reviews and beach towels for loan (who wants to lug beach towels on a plane?) It didn't disappoint... it's so conveniently located to everything. The beach is just steps away with a beautiful beach view. There were plenty of beach chairs available for guest use, a shower outside for washing off sticky sand and salt water and a sparkling clean pool on site. Sebastian was so friendly and recommended AWESOME restaurants. We loved each one of them. Just ask him...

The place might have been glamorous 30 years ago, but it's pretty basic(almost vintage/retro) now..but so clean and certainly sufficient.

If you go be sure not to miss Bean Point. The water is so clear there and you'll see loads of sea life (horseshoe crabs, live sand dollars and starfish). There are amazing sand bars too..that go way out... there is no where to park nearby though..so you'll need to park and walk from either the Rod&Reel Pier or the SandBar restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello Tanmom,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it was a pleasure to help you find the best restaurants in the area. We would be thrilled to welcome you back on your next trip to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
342 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Wow, what a treat this was at Blue Water Beach Club! We attended my best friend's wedding and this was his vacation spot for many years. It was an amazing find for us with a fabulous location and simply one of the cleanest hotels in which we've ever stayed.

The Blue Water Beach Club is retro 50s but impeccably clean. The rooms were spacious and every one has an Gulf view. There's nothing fancy here, but you don't need it. There's a fabulous pool and the Gulf is just 30 seconds away.

This was our first visit to AMI and we'll be back for sure.

No food here, but you can just walk a few hundred meters down the street (or beach) to the Beach Bistro, which was another great find.

If you want a nice beach vacation at a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello TumbleweedandCactus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the Blue Water Beach Club and appreciate your comment on how clean our rooms are. I hope that you get the chance to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeston UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We discovered AMI and the Blue Water in '92 after a hectic Orlando week - the ideal antedote. We have been back five or six times since. The beach location is bliss. Vivid sunsets, pelicans and Eric the Egret for company. Clean and comfortable with great staff. The island is laid back - great eateries (Rotten Ralph's, City Pier for good basic fish meals, Sign of the Mermaid for something more special).

AMI is great - friendly locals, great beach walks. Watch the speed limit, 20mph in parts, I was pulled over recently but pleaded Britishness!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Hello busmanuk,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Blue Water Beach Club and all the wildlife surrounding us. We hope you will come back soon and "chill" on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
2.9 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Club

Property: Blue Water Beach Club
Address: 6306 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1619
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is time to relax and enjoy some time away. We are a gulf front resort on a beautiful, quiet beach with white sand, family-owned for more than 40 years. Whether you choose an Apartment, Studio or Bedroom - all of our rooms have a gulf view, daily room service, Flatscreen Cable TV, free Wireless Internet and individual controlled A/C plus you can enjoy hot coffee and cookies in the lobby every morning. Hit the beach, just a few steps away from your room or take the free Trolley to explore the whole Island. In our landscaped courtyard area enjoy a game of Shuffle board or grab a pool towel from our office and take a dip in our heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Beach Club Hotel Holmes Beach
Blue Water Beach Hotel
Blue Water Beach Holmes
Blue Water Beach Club Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing