We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I would rate this place a 8 on a scale of 1 to 10. Great location, very clean, bathroom a little dated and could use an facelift but not bad at all. We stayed in Unit 114 which was a courtyard unit about 20 steps to the pool and maybe 80 to the beach. The pool was fairly crowed when we were there but then we were there over the Fourth of July holiday. I would definately stay there again. All units seem to be very close to the same except location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caddesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed in room 109, which needs updating. Sofa & loveseat need replacing, one glass in upper balcony window is cracked, tile near balcony is broke, wallpaper in bathroom coming off wall, one kitchen utensil drawer won't open all the way unless you open the oven door first! Kitchen counters & appliances were good. Cabintry is older but functional.
Having said all this, none of the negatives should be enough to keep you away. Enjoyed my time at the pool, but wish the water had been kept warmer.

Room Tip: If you really enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the beach, ocean, sunsets & wildlife, get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife & I have been going to Anna Maria Island for over 8 years. We found the Coconuts Resort on the internet & made our reservations on our first trip. We have stayed in a bunch of the units & we love the Gulf Front Units the best because we always enjoy looking out the big sliding glass doors at the beach & gulf. Now we stay at the Coconuts when we come to the Island three times a year. Everyone is very friendly that stays here & we also have met special friends that always come & stay the same times we do. The staff is always the best. If you ever have a problem they don't waste any time trying to get it fixed. One report I read said that they saw worms when they opened their door & had ant problems........HELLO, you're in Florida at the beach!!!! We've seen the worms & they were all dead on the floor because the rooms are treated for bugs regularly. Ants are normal & are every where in Florida especially if you keep food laying out every where on the counters that they didn't want to wipe down. Even when you clean really good, those worms can still be found dead after they have crawled out where they were hiding while they were cleaning the room. The owners & office people work really hard to keep up with all the requests for updates on the units. In our eight years we have seen a lot of the updates come to life. We enjoy the peace & quiet of being on a dead end street & being right on the beach. The heated pool is one of the best. By the way, Unit 105 is not that outdated & the owners do whatever they can to keep it up. Why in the world do you come to the beach & want to stay in your room......we always stay away from ours. I don't know what that couple was expecting. The beds we slept in were comfortable & never missed a good nights sleep after staying on the beach all day. I also noted that most of their other reviews of places they visited on the Island were the same negative thoughts. Hopefully, they did have some enjoyable moments while they were on the Island.
We ALWAYS enjoy ourselves when we are on the Island...........

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Semi-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had high expectations as my fiancé had great memories of Coconuts from her childhood. However, the let down started as soon as the key hit the door. Worms everywhere, we were told by management that it was 'just cleaned', unless the cleaning person is blind, doubt it. Once we got all of the worms out of our outdated crappily furnished room (#105 by the way) the ants attacked. They did respond quite quickly with ant bait, but, I'm sorry if this is pretentious, I didn't go on vacation to clean and wipe down the kitchen of my rented unit. The beds were extremely hard and contrary to the ad on the Internet, the beds in all but 2 units at Coconuts are doubles. All in all, we stayed away from our room as much as possible and most of our vacation was fabulous. A little updating goes a long way, Coconuts owners, maybe then the exorbitant price will be justified. Stay anywhere else if you can.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ARussofEville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Location wonderful - quiet - beautiful white sandy beach. Accomodations suitable, could use some updating. Staff is very unfriendly. No services are really offered, you take your own towels to office & pick up more. Traveled w/sisters for a 4 night stay. Great location for watching sunsets, beach combing & relaxing - terrific place for families w/small children, or older folks just wanting to escape it all. Not a place for younger crowd looking for party action. It is directly on the beach though w/ 8 units facing the Gulf. Actually got to witness The Green Flash on May 3rd @ sunset. From everything I've heard & read, this is a rarity, but worth looking for. Saw a school of dolphin right off shore on the morning of departure & the night before saw the Anna Maria Island volunteers combing the beach w/flashlights to search for the Loggerhead Sea Turtles nesting areas, where they come in to lay their eggs. So all in all, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Would definitely stay in beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

This will be our 2nd year at Coconuts. The location can't be beat, right smack on a beautiful beach. Rooms are condo style, with a balcony, living room, fully stocked kitchen, bath and bedroom, plenty of storage space. Cute island-ey furnishings. Nice little swimming pool. Close to public free bus. This is not high end luxury for movie stars, but is great value for regular people and has everything you need/want.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Birthday_Girl_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband & I were 1st timers at Coconuts. We were lucky enough to have a beachfront (upper unit #110). The lower units looked to be perfect for families with kids as they had direct access to the sand from their screened in patios. It's obviously a family-friendly place with kids, parents & grandparents having a good time. Walls between units were well insulated because I never heard the TVs next door or the kids unless they were outside playing, no big deal.
Our unit was spotless (& I'm picky) and comfortable. Internet access was fast. No problems with parking. Great location. Would return someday - if another beachfront upper unit is available. We're glad we stumbled upon this place online.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GenCo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.4 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.3 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.4 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Beach Resort
Address: 100 73rd St, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1137
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconuts Beach Resort has the best Location on Anna Maria Island. Direct Beach Front, heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Coconut Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing