We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Sands Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas(Holmes Beach)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haleys Motel and Resort(Holmes Beach)
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast(Holmes Beach)(Great Value!)
$259
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Beach Resort(Bradenton Beach)
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tortuga Beach Resort(Bradenton Beach)
$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Gate Resort(Bradenton Beach)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
33
16
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
16
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeen coming for yearslaid backfamily ownedon anna maria islandbooked for next yearsmall familyheated poolrooms are spaciousfree islandwe loved our staytrolley stopnice poolwonderful placefew stepsthe kitchenbrotherssandals
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 53 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I was married on Anna Maria so it has a special place in my heart. I like to go over for quick weekend stays but this can be hard with more condos on the island than hotels. I stayed here over a year ago and the location is great. The rooms needed some improvements and there were some bug issues. I am hoping that they have done some renovations so I can try again and say that it was awesome.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good since you are on the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NativeDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Thank you for sharing how your stay did not match either our excellent reputation and universally high ratings and more importantly your own expectations. Your constructive criticism is just that. I will ensure that our staff addresses each of your complaints.Thank you for selecting us, among your many choices of hotels in this region. You did choose us for good reasons which include physical property, location, rooms, general amenities, to name a few. We apologize for the issue you had, We are always updating rooms and making changes but keeping with the low key island style. Please let us know which particular things you though need updating, so we can discuss in more detail and hopefully resolve to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been staying at White Sands for about 10 years and have always enjoyed our 2 week vacation there. The owners are very helpful, very knowledgeable and always willing to help with any questions you may have about the island. Though there are alot of restaurants, White Sands provides weber grills and we prefer to grill nightly, never having to go far or leave the island. We enjoy watching the sunsets nightly. The resort is a family owned business and it is spotless and updates are done frequently. We will continue to go to White Sands year after year. We love it there.

Room Tip: All the units are excellent. They all have kitchens, and tables and chairs outside for relaxation at the end of the day or for early morning coffee.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Thank you for being a repeat customer and for writing a review that promulgates your positive feelings about our resort and our manners. That says it all to us. Please continue to grant us the high privilege of serving you. Love your review! Years ago we established to treat everyone like family . Accordingly, your comment that you felt like you were a family member is music to our ears. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just returned to the frozen North after a wonderful week at White Sands. The location was absolutely first-rate! We loved everything about our stay. The apartment was well equipped with just everything one needs for a relaxing, trouble fee stay. The only thing I wish was provided were pool towels so we wouldn't need to use the room towels at the pool, but this is just minor thought. The pool was always inviting with warm water and plenty of sunshine. Met many nice people, many of whom were veteran guests visiting year after year. A good testament to the resort. We hope we can visit White Sands again and again in the future. Book early, it fills up fast!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you very much for Thank you for your kind words and your positive review ! We are happy to hear you enjoyed pool and all the other amenities in your room and loved our location right on the beach.
We also appreciate your ideas and suggestions in order to make your next stay with us even better! We are constantly working on improving the experience for our guests and are committed to providing a clean quality accommodations.. Our staff works hard to ensure each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay and we are exited to hear that you did enjoyed your Stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliment to the staff. We have looked into supplying pool towel and enlarging our laundry facility's to accommodate the extra capacity.. Let us know at check and we can supply you with a couple of additional towels.

We appreciate the feedback and you are always welcome you to contact us by phone at 941-778-2577 or by email at wsresort@aol.com . if you would like to provide any additional details regarding your experience or any ideas on how we can make your stay better . Thank you once again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is smaller, funky old style Florida, on one level. The place is a best kept secret. Great location, nice, clean, comfy with easy access to the beach. Excellent value for a fully equipped apartment with fridge, stove and microwave. My unit had a King size bed and a queen size pull out couch. Perfect for couples, singles or a small family. Pool and beach chairs to watch the sunset are just a short walk. Picnic tables and BBQ's are available.

Room Tip: The Tropical Breeze is a bit cheaper so if your a value minded Anna Maria traveller this is your spot. Second time we've stayed there.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yourtremblant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We appreciate your great review and are glad that you enjoy your stayed with us at our 2 locations The White Sands and The Tropical Breeze.

The White Sands was originally built in late 50's and was one of the first Motels on the island. The Tropical Breeze cottage were brought to the island in the 40's for 3 sisters which we purchased in the earlier 80's. All on which are continuously updated and well maintained,

We are trying to keep the "Old Florida" charm while updating our property with 21st century amenities like wireless Internet access and 42 flat-screen TV's, new kitchens, electric fire place, PlayStations , DVD players and more. Again, we are delighted that you picked the White Sands and Tropical Breeze for your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us again, when you feel the need to getaway from it all and hit the beach and visit Anna Maria Island once again..

If you have the chance and would like to post an additional review our Tropical Breeze Beach Club also has it own listing, and we would love to have a review place there as well.
Thank you again for your kind words and review.

Once Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon


Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went there to vist my brother and OMG it was the best place ever. The sands the beach the rooms etc everything was perfect to the Deolphines playing in the water infront of us. We loved our stay!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mchlthornt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We would like to thank you for writing such a great review about the White Sands Beach Resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even saw some dolphins out in the Gulf of Mexico.
Thank you so very much for your kind words and your positive review ! We are happy to hear that our you loved our location right on the beach,your accommodation and your over all stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff.
If your travel takes you back to Anna Maria Island, please give us a call. We would love to see you again!

Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews