We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT VACATION!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GREAT VACATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just returned to the frozen North after a wonderful week at White Sands. The location was absolutely first-rate! We loved everything about our stay. The apartment was well equipped with just everything one needs for a relaxing, trouble fee stay. The only thing I wish was provided were pool towels so we wouldn't need to use the room towels at the pool, but this is just minor thought. The pool was always inviting with warm water and plenty of sunshine. Met many nice people, many of whom were veteran guests visiting year after year. A good testament to the resort. We hope we can visit White Sands again and again in the future. Book early, it fills up fast!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for Thank you for your kind words and your positive review ! We are happy to hear you enjoyed pool and all the other amenities in your room and loved our location right on the beach.
We also appreciate your ideas and suggestions in order to make your next stay with us even better! We are constantly working on improving the experience for our guests and are committed to providing a clean quality accommodations.. Our staff works hard to ensure each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay and we are exited to hear that you did enjoyed your Stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliment to the staff. We have looked into supplying pool towel and enlarging our laundry facility's to accommodate the extra capacity.. Let us know at check and we can supply you with a couple of additional towels.

We appreciate the feedback and you are always welcome you to contact us by phone at 941-778-2577 or by email at wsresort@aol.com . if you would like to provide any additional details regarding your experience or any ideas on how we can make your stay better . Thank you once again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is smaller, funky old style Florida, on one level. The place is a best kept secret. Great location, nice, clean, comfy with easy access to the beach. Excellent value for a fully equipped apartment with fridge, stove and microwave. My unit had a King size bed and a queen size pull out couch. Perfect for couples, singles or a small family. Pool and beach chairs to watch the sunset are just a short walk. Picnic tables and BBQ's are available.

Room Tip: The Tropical Breeze is a bit cheaper so if your a value minded Anna Maria traveller this is your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yourtremblant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate your great review and are glad that you enjoy your stayed with us at our 2 locations The White Sands and The Tropical Breeze.

The White Sands was originally built in late 50's and was one of the first Motels on the island. The Tropical Breeze cottage were brought to the island in the 40's for 3 sisters which we purchased in the earlier 80's. All on which are continuously updated and well maintained,

We are trying to keep the "Old Florida" charm while updating our property with 21st century amenities like wireless Internet access and 42 flat-screen TV's, new kitchens, electric fire place, PlayStations , DVD players and more. Again, we are delighted that you picked the White Sands and Tropical Breeze for your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us again, when you feel the need to getaway from it all and hit the beach and visit Anna Maria Island once again..

If you have the chance and would like to post an additional review our Tropical Breeze Beach Club also has it own listing, and we would love to have a review place there as well.
Thank you again for your kind words and review.

Once Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon


Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenly, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went there to vist my brother and OMG it was the best place ever. The sands the beach the rooms etc everything was perfect to the Deolphines playing in the water infront of us. We loved our stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mchlthornt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We would like to thank you for writing such a great review about the White Sands Beach Resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even saw some dolphins out in the Gulf of Mexico.
Thank you so very much for your kind words and your positive review ! We are happy to hear that our you loved our location right on the beach,your accommodation and your over all stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff.
If your travel takes you back to Anna Maria Island, please give us a call. We would love to see you again!

Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Where our backyard was the Sand, Sea, & Sun in abundance! The 4 to 9 ft pool was always warm, refreshing, & sparkling. We were so cozy in our cool comfortable cottage with luscious greenery, palms, & birds of paradise in abundance. Staff was simply gracious, pleasant, & helpful. Amenities were very supple, especially the king bed & pull out. We slept like babies on perfect mattresses. Everyone was also so friendly & had nothing but good comments & memories of White Sands & Tropical Breeze. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate your wonderful review and are glad that you enjoy your stayed with us at our 2 locations The White Sands and The Tropical Breeze.

We are happy that you enjoyed the landscaping on the grounds, the beach , heated pool and the attention of our staff. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff.

We hope to see you back again soon, Once Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

If you have the chance and would like to post an additional review our Tropical Breeze Beach Club also has it own listing, and we would love to have a review place there as well.

Thank you again for your kind words and review.

Sincerely,
Ken Gerry

Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

First time visitor but not my last! Loved the old FL style and feel of the White Sands. Clean well furnished nice size rooms. Comfortable beds. Plenty of pots, pans and dishes with full size refrig, stove, toaster, and micro wave. Easy Easy beach access from all rooms. Plenty of grills and tables for cooking dinner at your door. Nice size, well maintained pool area. Perfect place for families with young children. Free trolley stop near entrance of White Sands. Very special thanks to Jeff, Kenny, Kathy, Chris, Kevin & Mike for a FUN and RELAXING stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebGReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Owner at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, I’m so glad you enjoyed your first visit with us, I appreciate your kind words regarding our property and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Thank you,
Ken MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband introduced me to this little gem on Anna Maria Island. He had been coming since he was 11 and now we are married we come every other year with our children and even introduced my parents to stay.

What is there not to love about this place, it is clean, friendly, heated pool, rooms are spacious and access right to the beach.

I love this little oasis.......I feel so relaxed when iIvisit.

Rooms are fully equipped with fridge, oven, stovetop and all the items needed to cook.

I love coming here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1girl1boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Owner at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, We appreciate your loyalty and returning year after year. Our guest are what make our place great and a returning destination where people can feel at home make friends that last a lifetime. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time with us, I appreciate your review of our property and we look forward to seeing you on your next returning visit.

Thank you,
Ken MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Considering the location right by the beach - it makes more then up for the very basic and old structure. We definitely would come back to visit. We had no reservation, the proprietors worked with us to provide reasonable ad-hoc accommodations. We stayed in the larger unit right by the street - no problem. It would be a great place to stay longer and feel like home while enjoying the beach and the fantastic sun sets - just a few feet from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreDre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review of your first visit to Anna Maria Island and the White Sands Beach Resort

The White Sands is a great gem on Anna Maria Island Florida, it was originally built in late 50's and was one of the first Motels on the island. we are continuously updated our units while trying to keep the "Old Florida" charm while updating our property with 21st century amenities like wireless Internet access and 42 flat-screen TV's, new kitchens, electric fire place, PlayStations , DVD players leather couches and more.
We appreciate the feedback and you are always welcome you to contact us by phone or by email . if you would like to provide any additional details regarding your experience or any ideas on how we can make your stay better . We love hearing back from our guests and how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know ANYTIME -- especially while you are here, what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. I am so thankful that your time with us made for a great vacation! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Please do not hesitate to contact us again, when you feel the need to visit Anna Maria Island once again.. Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon .

Sincerely,
Ken Gerry
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
3.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Resort

Property: White Sands Beach Resort
Address: 6504 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico on the Florida west coast island of Anna Maria, The White Sands Beach Resort is the perfect tropical island vacation getaway with miles of white, sandy walking beaches & blue-green water. We offer charming one & two bedroom Florida island style apartments, studios, cottages & motel rooms. More than just a motel hotel, All rooms have fully equipped kitchens, have 42 inch LCD TV's , playstation2 , DVD player, and free WI-FI at our Florida beach resort. While on vacation at the White Sands you can enjoy a gulf front heated pool, shuffleboard court, picnic areas and bar-b-q grills. Nearby are tennis courts, island beach shops, golf courses & a number of award winning restaurants like Beach Bistro and Sand Bar. We have Twenty-one Florida resort units on the gulf with kitchen and phone, & heated pool on the beach. No pets. Our island resort is a great Florida vacation destination near Bradenton, Longboat Key and Sarasota. Similar to Sanibel island, AMI Florida is located on the west coast of Florida just south of Tampa and is a great island vacation place for family vacations and Honeymoon vacations.We offer a quiet relaxing, tropical island feel with all the creature comforts of home. Our Florida island beach resort is located on the west coast of Florida in the city of Holmes Beach on Anna Maria Island Florida directly on the beach and on the Gulf of Mexico. You can see much of Florida's natural wildlife on our beaches, including Sea Turtles, and the gentle Manatee. Island Beachcombers can find Florida Sea Shells while walking and swimming along the beach. Beautiful sunsets, a perfect spot for a family friendly vacation or a quiet island honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your White Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
White Sands Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing