We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love with this place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 11 on the second floor for one week. The room was immaculate and so spacious. It was very well equipped with lots of dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. The full size fridge and stove/oven were great as we cooked in almost every day (we found a wonderful fresh fish market on the island and had red snapper, grouper, pompano, cobia, flounder, mahi, and the biggest, most delicious gulf shrimp ever). The living area is very large with a big flat screen TV over a little fireplace that opens into the kitchen area with a table that seats four and a bar that seats three. The sofa and loveseat were so comfortable and the sofa opens out into a double bed. The separate bedroom has two queen beds, another TV, plenty of drawer space, and a walk in closet. Very quiet and very comfortable! There is a small table and two chairs right outside the front door that overlooks the pool and the beach. It was out of the wind so it was a great place to sit and watch the neighbors children in the pool or call out to see how someone's dinner out had been. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The laundry is free and open every afternoon. You have a reserved parking space and the trolley stop is literally at the end of the parking lot. My favorite parts were the warm heated pool, the beautiful beach with chairs and umbrellas, and all the friendly people we met there....many of whom have been renting for the same week or weeks for years...We loved it so much we booked for next year. Looking forward to seeing everyone again and trying some fishing in the surf!

Room Tip: We loved being on the second floor for the view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2floridasunshine, Owner at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us, I’m so glad you enjoyed your experience, I appreciate your kind words regarding our property and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.Units 11 & 12 upstairs is also my favorite.
Thank you,
Ken MGR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is an older style resort.it is.a basic room with a small kitchen,a large LCD tv and a pullout.we had a separate small bedroom with a queen bed.there was also a shower.we liked the separate room because it gave us a sense of privacy and enabled me to watch tv while my was able to go to sleep.most of the other units were a large room without the separate room.these units are small,but are clean and serve their purpose.the resort has a pool and is located on the beach.we had beautiful weather and were able to enjoy a week on the beach.there are some lounge chairs and a few umbrellas attached to the property,you may want to buy some cheap beach chairs at publish or Walgreens so you can sit closer to the shore.the beach is nice ,but can be shelly.the town does clean the seaweed and the shells.i saw this once.the resort people are nice and friendly.there are also bbq's available and free wi fi.they have a towel exchange,where you put out the towels you want clean and they give you that many towels back.they do not provide maid service.so you have to make your own bed and sweep your floor.the people who stay there seem to be people who come regularly.one couple had been coming for twenty years.all in all ,we enjoyed our stay.we would return .the location is excellent and very relaxing .you are near rest aunts and near shops.there is also a free trolley that stops right outside the resort.ana Maria island,Holmes beach area is a great place for a vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank downdawgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Thank you for selecting us and for revealing your positive view of our business with others. We strive to deserve accolades like yours every single day and we will never tire of hearing that we please our treasured customers and clientele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this motel by chance and are glad we did.

Friendly staff who welcomed us on arrival and gave us good local information

The room was basic but had everything you need - comfy bed, well equipped kitchen and clean bathroom. There was also flat screen tv and fire place as well as a BBQ outside.

Our room was a short walk to the beach

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Tashca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Hope you had a great time while visiting our general area. While I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed visiting with us, I suspect and hope you were treated warmly throughout your visit to our very special island ( Anna Maria Island ). Thanks again for your patronage and praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We very much enjoyed our recent stay!! We have been coming here for years. It's a great family friendly resort, directly on a beautiful white sand beach. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. We had a 1 bedroom unit, with full size livingroom and eat in kitchen. The livingroom had a very nice flat screen and fireplace. Our kitchen was very well appointed with everything that we needed, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans.

We very much appreciated, that we where able to have local family come and spend the day with us. They charge a small fee, per day for extra guests to use the room and pool. Considering that most places only let registered overnight guests use their facilities, we are more than happy to pay the small fee.

Lovely, quiet, clean family friendly resort at a reasonable price! Spending a relaxing week soaking up the sun with my husband and family, priceless!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shellerenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Thank you so much for your recent visit and subsequent wonderful praise. Feedback, especially from such well-spoken customers like you, is not only invaluable to those researching businesses like ours, but is also important to us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and feedback with us. Thanks again.Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a week. It was clean, quiet, on the beach, very convenient to great places to eat and a major grocery close by. I had to bring my own umbrella in order to have one down near the water but they do provide chairs and umbrellas up near the condo. We met great people whom we got to know during the week. It was like a family gathering. Family next door had a baby, which we never heard because it was so sound proof. No dishwasher but didn't need one.Swimming pool was salt water, great.I am a very picky person when I stay away from home and this place was great. I would definitely stay here again. Some of the folks I met had been coming for 25 years or more. Every condo has parking spaces close by. They also own a condo complex down the street a few blocks away but it does not have the pool with it. You can use the White Sands pool but it is far away. We really enjoyed the pool. Ken & Jeff were very nice on the phone and at check-in. They were available if we needed anything. Laundry service was wonderful. Put dirty towels out in a basket and an hour later, clean ones appeared.

Room Tip: Room one is closest to the beach and the rest are from one on down from the beach but all rooms are...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer. It is always most rewarding to hear directly from our customers and especially those willing to provide their positive perspective with the online world and beyond. Please revisit us soon and often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've been a regular at White Sands for a few years now. The affordable rooms are modern and have nice touches like flat screen tvs with lounge and kitchens areas. The owner provides a consistently charming, indepedent atmosphere with a clean well maintained property.Located on gorgeous Anna Maria Island, the beach is just a few steps away. White Sands Beach Resort provides even this native Floridian a reason to return as often as possible.

Room Tip: Various sizes and number of bedrooms. The crown jewel is one of the largest with all window views of...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Wow what a wonderful review....5 stars. While not everyone rates our business as a 5 star, please know that we rate each and every customer a 5 star.Thank you for your visit and for your willingness to share your important feedback with the online review community. A specific thanks as well for your laudatory remarks concerning our rooms. Please come back and continue to tell the world of how special our location truly is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Dated but very clean and directly on the beach! The people tend to stay here for a while. It is family owned by the same family for 37 years. The owners are nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeyejohn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_MGR, General Manager at White Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

We are most pleased that you mostly enjoyed staying with us, and thank you for doing so. It is most important for us to hear your stay did not match either our excellent reputation or more importantly your own expectations. We all can benefit from well-deserved constructive criticism which is how we view your remarks....thank you for them. Please check us out now we have done a lot of new updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
3.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 16 in Holmes Beach
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#15 of 16 in Holmes Beach
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Resort

Address: 6504 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1325
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $95 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Sands Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico on the Florida west coast island of Anna Maria, The White Sands Beach Resort is the perfect tropical island vacation getaway with miles of white, sandy walking beaches & blue-green water. We offer charming one & two bedroom Florida island style apartments, studios, cottages & motel rooms. More than just a motel hotel, All rooms have fully equipped kitchens, have 42 inch LCD TV's , playstation2 , DVD player, and free WI-FI at our Florida beach resort. While on vacation at the White Sands you can enjoy a gulf front heated pool, shuffleboard court, picnic areas and bar-b-q grills. Nearby are tennis courts, island beach shops, golf courses & a number of award winning restaurants like Beach Bistro and Sand Bar. We have Twenty-one Florida resort units on the gulf with kitchen and phone, & heated pool on the beach. No pets. Our island resort is a great Florida vacation destination near Bradenton, Longboat Key and Sarasota. Similar to Sanibel island, AMI Florida is located on the west coast of Florida just south of Tampa and is a great island vacation place for family vacations and Honeymoon vacations.We offer a quiet relaxing, tropical island feel with all the creature comforts of home. Our Florida island beach resort is located on the west coast of Florida in the city of Holmes Beach on Anna Maria Island Florida directly on the beach and on the Gulf of Mexico. You can see much of Florida's natural wildlife on our beaches, including Sea Turtles, and the gentle Manatee. Island Beachcombers can find Florida Sea Shells while walking and swimming along the beach. Beautiful sunsets, a perfect spot for a family friendly vacation or a quiet island honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your White Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
White Sands Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing