We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during our vacation. The location was perfect (Right by the beach). The rooms were clean and updated. The management staff was awesome. We loved it. If you're coming to Anna Maria for a vacation, stay at Palm Tree Villas!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 590 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed this past month for my honeymoon and was extremely pleased with our accommodations. We left the caribbean where our wedding took place to be closer to home on our honeymoon and we made the right choice by staying at Palm Tree Villas. Obviously with a honeymoon you want everything perfect...and it was! Clean, comfortable, spacious, and a great value...I would certainly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool, and are newly renovated.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took a couples vacation in 2012 which was the first time we had visited Anna Maria Island and Palm Tree Villas. We loved it so much, we decided to take the whole gang back this year.
There were 13 of us (7 adults, 5 teenagers, 1 child) and we all had a great time despite a couple of rainy days from tropical storm Andrea.
The villas are a short walk to the beautiful beach and everything you need is provided. Wagon, umbrella, chairs, beach towels. The pool is small but perfect for an 8 unit property. It never felt crowded and provided a great alternative to the ocean when the waves were a little rough from the tropical storm.
The maintenance staff did an amazing job of cleaning the property up after the storm! They also responded quickly when we had an AC issue and when we locked ourselves out. Oops!
The stock room has everything you need including towels, linens, rugs, and even movies & games. There are 2 sets of washers/dryers which is super convenient, they are free too! We loved having the ability to replace our towels and linens when we wanted. The onsite stock room is a brilliant idea!
The staff was always nice and willing to help if we needed anything.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLR920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Palm Tree Villas two weeks ago for the second summer in a row! We love this place. The street is quiet and you're right across the street from the beach. We stayed in Room # S24 and it was exactly what we needed. The mattress is unbelievably comfortable, linens were so soft, and pillows were fluffy. The room was immaculately clean. Everything we needed was there. The place also has wagons and beach accessories to use during the stay. We love it and plan on going back for a third summer in a row next year, hopefully sooner!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My fiancé and I came here with some friends recently. We stayed in room 25 closest to the street. The room was clean and comfortable. They had absolutely everything we needed and more! Everything from a blender in our kitchen (which came in handy) to extra towels in their extra room that's available to the guests. We didn't use the pool much as it was literally across the street from the beach. They even had beach chairs for us to bring to the beach. We did use the grill a couple times as well. The girl in charge was always super helpful with anything we needed. She suggested some great restaurants. We also spent a lot of time on our rooms private patio which was also a great amenity. I really can't think of anything bad to say! I will be booking my next trip soon and will be coming back here for sure!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fearmy442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in unit #20 (2 bedroom, 1 bath) 3 nights with our 3 kids in June 20-23 2013. This is a well-run property and as many of the posts say, picturesque with a quaint and tucked-away feel. It's on a quiet street and the hotel comes with everything you would need to for a great beach vacation. The landscape is beautiful and very well maintained. As the name sake for the hotel, the palm trees steal the show and offer a nice privacy barrier around the property & pool area.

But we paid a hefty price ($700) for a so-so stay and for that rate (and reviews) were expecting much more.

This property is not a hotel. It doesn’t offer turn down service, which is the main differentiator of a hotel vs. condo. This is absolutely a condo in that it offers you access to use the property but there are no other amenities aside what is in your unit or what is available in the common area. So the ranking is a bit skewed IMO because they are not being compared to other condo or vacation properties on the island.

There was a strong urine odor in the master bedroom. To be fair we didn't say anything till our last day because the first night it was fainter but by the 2nd night the smell was unbearable. Housekeeping & management were prompt to address our concern but really you can't do much for that much urine. And so they only spent about 5 minutes working on the smell. They sprayed a cleaning solution on the carpet which helped some, but the odor was still strong enough that my wife had to sleep facing away from that side of the room. By the morning the smell was back in force. The carpet will need to be removed from this unit. I strongly recommend you check this before you book this unit.

The only other issue worth noting (see below for positives & negatives) is the office needs better signage. Not only did we have difficulty finding the office, we had a few interruptions from people thinking our unit was the office, as it was closer to the street. There are no visible signs that point to the office or note where the office is located.

Positives:

Quiet location in residential area
Private feel
Prompt and really nice office staff
Beach gear - lots of it - wagons, umbrellas, towels, toys, chairs, etc
Proximity to beach
Quality fixtures in the bath & kitchen
Tiled floors, keeps the rooms nice and cool
Showers on the back porch for all that beach sand

Negatives:

Urine on the carpet in the master bedroom
Poor kitchen wares selection, needs bigger pots, more cooking utensils, matching wine glasses
Old furniture
Busy street crossing to the beach
Old linens and super thin pillows
Small pool - the spa isn't seperate and didn't work for us
No turn down service
Poor office signage

We gave it 2 circles because had it not been for the urine smell & turn down service, we probably would've rated this a 3 or 4

Room Tip: Get the other unit that has a gated back yard that faces with street access.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hotel_5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Manager at An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Since we bought this property, our number one priority has been to provide a clean, comfortable, and "upgraded" accommodation for those who are trying to relax on this laid back old Florida Island. From the many reviews that we have received since we took over, we have accomplished just that, as also evident in our large returning guest population. Obviously we did not accomplish that with this particular guest and for that I deeply apologize.

The smell of urine on the carpet is absolutely a first time occurrence and unacceptable. Had our cleaners detected it prior to this guests arrival it would have been taken care of. According to this guest they waited 3 days into their stay to notify us, and we responded immediately. When they were asked if they were happy with the results they said they were.

Like most properties on Anna Maria Island we do not offer daily turn down service, and make this clear on our website where they booked, prior to entering credit card info, as well as on the email confirmation sent. However, fresh linens, paper products, soap and trash bags are always available as well as additional pillows and blankets, kitchen utensils and cookware and anything our guests may need. Our staff is there to help and available by phone 24/7. We would have been happy to provide additional kitchen utensils and cookware from our large on-site stock room, if only we had known.

The units were completely renovated with new furniture less than 2 years ago, and we purchased all new high quality linens about 6 months ago from a retail store, not a mass produced linen company. We stock the rooms with 9 pillows, however had we been asked, we would have been happy to provide new/additional pillows.

Expectations are everything and it sounds like Anna Maria might not have been the best fit. Anna Maria Island is not like many beach towns. It is unique in that there are no high rises, chains or franchises allowed. Businesses are small, mom and pop, boutique style. This is what gives the island its small town, friendly, laid back, quaint charm and keeps people coming back year after year. This is not the place for people to go if they are expecting a full service hotel.

I am sorry to hear this guest was not happy with our pool. We feel the images on our website are quite accurate and as we have only 8 villas, it is not necessary to have a large pool. We feel our pool is the perfect size as it fits on our property well and has never been full or crowded. Most people stay with us for our proximity to the ocean and spend less time in the pool. I have yet to see all of our loungers full or the pool full. As far as the spa, we do not advertise having one, so I would consider this a happy bonus, not a disappointment.

Both the office door and this guest's villa were appropriately labeled, however we are working on creating more prominent office signage to avoid any further issues. We are happy to hear this guest did see the beauty of Palm Tree Villas and had some positive thoughts on the property as well as our staff. We do our best to accommodate our guests and stock the property the best we can, keeping in mind we are a small boutique style property and do not operate exactly the same as large chain hotels. We appreciate the feedback and are busy working on improving all we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My recent return visit in mid-May 2013 was well enjoyed. Spence had upgraded the pool area over the winter with new stone deck, lush landscaping and quality lounge cushions. The manager Andrea greeted me during my return and was aided by her cool small dog Bailey! Andrea is very professional and had contacted me days before I was to arrive- nice touch! I have already booked my 3rd return in the fall. This place is quiet, quality and relaxing!

Room Tip: If you travel alone or with one other person, I stayed in the Studio room to save even more money an...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
3.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Anna Maria
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 16 in Holmes Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas

Address: 207 66th St, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $155 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise on sunny Anna Maria Island - your 'green' destination for sun, beach & 100% relaxation. Brand new villas with heated pool, full kitchens & garden patios, just a short walk from the Gulf Beach. The only hotel on Anna Maria Island recommended by LIFE magazine. Enjoy island hospitality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Island Getaway At Palm Tree Villas Hotel Holmes Beach
An Island Getaway At Palm Tree Villas Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing