We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same with recent "improvements" -- be ware of surprise "damages" bill after you leave!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We have stayed here for years and will never return due to new management's "improvements." The place is constantly under construction -- loud, smelly, half finished, wires exposed, showers not working, pool closed -- it was a nightmare. This used to be a charming place to stay with our family, and we will never come back. After our disappointing stay, we were charged $100 for damages. Be careful! Apparently we left damp towels on the floor the day we checked out (which we typically do on the last day assuming someone is coming in that day to clean). They claimed the towels damaged the carpet and required extra cleaning. We got a surprise bill a month after we checked out!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jomellygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Since December of 2010 there was some extensive remodeling of the Resort. This remodeling was necessary to update the resort and repair it. Most all of the improvements have met with high praises, the rooms now have King size pillow top beds, queen size sleeper sofas instead of futons, new flat screen tv's, high speed wireless internet, a business center across the street for guest use, tumbled marble courtyards and decks, new pool furniture and bar stools, pool redone and heated, absolutely gorgeous landscaping that is lit up a night.....there been so many great improvements made. The staff brought on in April of 2010 Harold, Betty and Malachi are the best! They are concerned about the guest comfort, their needs, the cleanliness of rooms and do everything in providing an environment to encourage them to coming back. This management team was not in place when guest had problems, but they are there now.
We believe in the coming months to have many positive reviews, and be rank as one top 3 places to stay on the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed here for the first two weeks in July. Our room was great - really clean with an enormous and really comfortable bed, which was wonderful after a 21+ hour drive! There was a 42" flat screen TV and wifi too, although we didn't have much time to take advantage of either! The grounds were clean, but the pool area could use some new furniture and fresh paint. Website pictures are pretty misleading. The staff was friendly - there is a towel exchange every other day and pool towels available. There is only one washing machine and dryer available from 2pm-5pm for $4 per load. The staff was friendly, but maid service was almost non-existent. We stayed 2 weeks and our room was cleaned once - about 2 days before we left. Also, we weren't aware that they allowed pets - the last day we were there, a family came in with 4 dogs. This property is right on the public beach access, so the beach in front is always very crowded, but we just walked down a few blocks to a quieter area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdlegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife, my little girl and I spent a whole week here. In general, the hotel is in a very poor condition, showing no maintenance for a long time. Regarding the room, it was ugly and there was an unpleasent smell like "humidity" everywhere. Some windows did not lock and other were rusty, the vanitory evacuate the water at a very slow speed and the refrigerator were with food rests.
To our surprise, in 1 week NOBODY HOUSEKEPT OUR ROOM!!!! and, the last day, when we were putting our baggage into the car....an employee told us that she could clean the room for a tip, jajaja, a superb bizarre situation.
NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Ricky and Angel the staff at the resort were beyond accommodating, courteous, helpful, informative and we will be back time and time again in the future!! We had a wonderful mothers day weekend trip, the kids had a blast and all of our needs were met and then some!!! .

What a great location , right on the beach, restaurant within walking distance!

Cannot wait to go back again!!!

Thank you to the staff again for all they did ;)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyandjimmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayd for 4 nights in Number 6. But most of the rooms, it seems, are pretty similar. I was not impressed at all. The bedroom closet was about 18" wide. There were no coat hangars, period. There was some old iron junk on the floor of this closet. There was one steak knife and one butter knife in the drawer. The deck off the bedroom, which could barely hold two resin chairs was coverd an inch thick with pine needles. (They boast Australian Pines around the property, but the needles are everywhere). My first thought was that they weren't expecting us. But we'd had reservations for nearly two months. I had booked it with "Heidi". But we got in late and ther was no-one in the office. A note had been left on the office door for us to go to room 6.
The next day we were told that Heidi had been fired by the new management that had taken over. Rick and Angel however were very nice. Friendly and helpful. The 'unit' was a bit depressing to me. It was kind of dark and dreary. The one window in the 'living' area faced a common walkway where other guests could walk right by the window. Beyond that was the big stairwell, and beyond that the parking lot. Not very romantic, not scenic at all. There are NO amenities whatsoever, except a small piece of wrapped soap inside the tub. No shampoos etc. No hair dryer (but who needs it in that heat). The whole place was in dire need of some painting and general TLC. Rust on the front doors seeping through. Chipped tile, missing baseboard.stained carpets. The bathroom towels looked like they had come from a jumble sale, all different colors and striped with other colors. Not very appealing. The 'touted' pillow top mattress was actually one of those sponge egg-crate things that are put over the mattress. Nevertheless, they were quite comfortable as beds go.
After 4 days, we moved to Number 9, which is the only 'ocean front' unit. A difference of night and day. Windows everywhere; much much brighter. With plush white towels in the bathroom, albeit that the tags on ALL of them said "Marriott". I had to laugh. This unit even had some coat hangars. And light bulbs that were more than 40 watts. Here was another problem though; when sitting on the private westerly facing deck, the railing was so high that when seated, we could not see over it and we'd have to stand up to see the beautiful beach and ocean. Or bend over to see under it. This property is in a prime location, I must say, but at $210 a night for number 9, I think it was dramatically overpriced, The whole property needs sprucing up and some serious housekeeping. And sweeping up everyday with the outside chairs wiped now and again. Perhaps even some windows cleaned and shrubbery cut back. If this place was $50 a night, I would recommend it thoroughly. But it's not.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AyJayEdmondsWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Based on reviews and cost, we stayed at the Anna Maria Island Beach Resort during our stay. Heidi, who seemed to manage the office 24/7, was very helpful in recommendations, directions and tips about the island. The room (#5) was clean and spacious. In addition to the king sized bed, there was a futon that would have slept two. There was everything you would need, from cooking pots to glass plates, oven/stove, microwave and fridge, a comfortable bed and quiet nights. The only thing missing was a private place to sit and look at the water. The balcony attached to the bedroom was daunting for two to enjoy. It was very narrow and so high you couldn't see over it while sitting. The view straight ahead was that of the next hotel. The side view didn't really offer much more. That being said, there were plenty of chairs available overlooking the Gulf and a beach towel on the sand worked just fine. The location is excellent and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencersbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We traveled to Anna Maria for the first time this month. The resort where we stayed was wonderful - lush grounds, very nice apartments, steps to the beach, quite, beautiful pool - what more could you want. Oh yeah, short walk from a fun restaurant - Cafe on the Beach. I would highly recommend a visit to Anna Maria Island and stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjecae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#1 of 15 in Holmes Beach
1,008 reviews
1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterline Marina Resort & Beach Club, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

Address: 105 39th St, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1906 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $150 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort has been recently remodeled and updated.The pool area has been redone, with pool accessories and chairs and a tumbled marble deck. The pool is heated during winter. The rooms have been updated as well with Hi-def flat screen TVs, pillow top King size bed,new queen size sleeper sofa. There are 9 one bedrooms, and 2 two bedroom suite. All the rooms have dining table, Kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The Resort itself is directly on the beach, surrounded by lavish gardens of palms and shrubs and tumbled marble decks and walkways.Rooms 1,2,3,4 and 11 are ground level for handicap individuals. Room 4 and 9 face the beach directly. Rooms 10 and 11 are the two bedroom and two bath units that face toward the pool. Rooms 5, 6,7 and 8 are upstairs and have balconies with views of the beach. Room 11 is the best equipped for handicap individuals. Rooms 1,3,4 and 11 are pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing