We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect casual beach stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Save
You added Anna Maria Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect casual beach stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great location next to main beach. Close to shopping and restaurants. Awesome heated pool for the little ones. Cozy and clean room. Bring picnic supplies to enjoy the shaded tables. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    20
    4
    12
See reviews for
53
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a good booking with the agency "Ricky Skipper" and arrived to a good location. The room was average, but great for us as we had two young children and didn't need anything fancy. The king size bed was VERY comfortable, but the couch in the other room was old, but for the children... okay. It was not the futon as mentioned in the brochure!!!
Publix was a quick walk away and we enjoyed cooking our meals and watching movies on the large tv.
We had a wonderful view of the sunset with the second balcony and the privacy of the lower area was wonderful. A grill and fire pit in the courtyard was useful The beach area has a playground, cafe and extra showers... The sunsets and a free local bus was simply a true gift. WE LOVED THE EASY WALK AND SAFETY TO THE BEACH. WE WOULD DEFINATELY BOOK THERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: #7 does NOT have the futon in living room But good for a couple only. #9 upstairs has the full view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsciarp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Having read some neagtive Reviews on the AMI Beach Resort prior to our arrival we were then pleasantly surprised to discover that the new Management had made their promised improvements: our room (11) was clean and well equipped (towles, shampoos and soaps, etc) and big enough for our family of 4 (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, small kitchen). The location is superb and the beach just a few meters away. We enjoyd our stay very much and would come again! A huge tiki hut was under construction during our stay, it seemed too big for the place...

Room Tip: Room 11 (Groundfloor) was great for our kids to easily run in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrailingExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Since new owners took over, this place has no charm. Office staff is rude & unflexible. Not to mention the new renovations. A monster-size tiki hut has been erected next to the pool area, eliminating privacy of pool area that it once had. The tiki hut also obstructs the view & patio privacy of the 2 units facing pool. This resort used to be quaint, charming & friendly when Carolyn & Tim were the managers. They made you feel like it was a home away from home. They also lived on-site and were always eager to assist. My family has vacationed here for the past 20 yrs., but no more. They used to allow dogs but new managers will not. Luckily I was able to stay next door at the Alamanda Villas. Anna is the owner & she is truly an exceptional lady! While relaxing there, the New Managers (at the beach resort) found dog poop on their property & blamed me & called the police twice to come & talk to me. Unbelievable! They told me I was not allowed on their property with my dogs. I can assure you I did not walk my dog on their property. They told me they had video cameras & would be researching the tape. To this day, they have been unable to prove who made the dog-poo on their property! They do not have common courtesy to treat others with respect & they don't know the value of a SMILE :-) Being a "sourpuss" (or as the Brits say "fiddleface") is not a good way to do business !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BadDog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
There are some people who have been coming to the Resort for years, and are sad to see the improvements. They liked it the way it was. Repairs and remodeling were necessary to keep up with current expectations that guest expect. Not aware of any rude comments by staff. Since we have taken over in April of 2012, we have had nothing but high marks from guest on the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

From day one we were plagued with workers upgrading the facilities.Work was taking place sometimes from 08.00 until after 20.00 hours.We were unable to use our patio's ( for which we paid a premium) due to the lack of privacy and the fact that the workers were using it as a storage area. When we did find an area to relax at the edge of the site relatively free from disruption we received a note from the management warning us not to move the picnic table. Naturally we ignored such a warning and reminded management we were paying guests trying to obtain some comfort from an unsatisfactory situation.An indication of the poor management approach to our comfort was evident when we would place the table in a position that suited us and when our back was turned they would move it back to its original position.
After several weeks of trying to enjoy the facility we approached the manager and suggested a rebate of 20% would be appropriate for the disruption to our vacation, this was met with the response that " the owner could not agree as he was having to pay for upgrading the facilities" we reacted by leaving the site and reporting the events to the chamber of commerce.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Calidad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are a new management company just took over in April 2011. It is my understanding there was allot of construction going on to remodel the Resort, sadly this guest was there during the time when this may have taken place. All of the heavy construction is done. Beautiful tumbled marble decks are down, pool looks great, rooms have been updated. If this guest were to contact us, we would definitely give them a greatly reduced rate, and some free days to offset there bad experience during that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We have stayed here for years and will never return due to new management's "improvements." The place is constantly under construction -- loud, smelly, half finished, wires exposed, showers not working, pool closed -- it was a nightmare. This used to be a charming place to stay with our family, and we will never come back. After our disappointing stay, we were charged $100 for damages. Be careful! Apparently we left damp towels on the floor the day we checked out (which we typically do on the last day assuming someone is coming in that day to clean). They claimed the towels damaged the carpet and required extra cleaning. We got a surprise bill a month after we checked out!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jomellygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Anna Maria Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Since December of 2010 there was some extensive remodeling of the Resort. This remodeling was necessary to update the resort and repair it. Most all of the improvements have met with high praises, the rooms now have King size pillow top beds, queen size sleeper sofas instead of futons, new flat screen tv's, high speed wireless internet, a business center across the street for guest use, tumbled marble courtyards and decks, new pool furniture and bar stools, pool redone and heated, absolutely gorgeous landscaping that is lit up a night.....there been so many great improvements made. The staff brought on in April of 2010 Harold, Betty and Malachi are the best! They are concerned about the guest comfort, their needs, the cleanliness of rooms and do everything in providing an environment to encourage them to coming back. This management team was not in place when guest had problems, but they are there now.
We believe in the coming months to have many positive reviews, and be rank as one top 3 places to stay on the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Suburbs of Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed here for the first two weeks in July. Our room was great - really clean with an enormous and really comfortable bed, which was wonderful after a 21+ hour drive! There was a 42" flat screen TV and wifi too, although we didn't have much time to take advantage of either! The grounds were clean, but the pool area could use some new furniture and fresh paint. Website pictures are pretty misleading. The staff was friendly - there is a towel exchange every other day and pool towels available. There is only one washing machine and dryer available from 2pm-5pm for $4 per load. The staff was friendly, but maid service was almost non-existent. We stayed 2 weeks and our room was cleaned once - about 2 days before we left. Also, we weren't aware that they allowed pets - the last day we were there, a family came in with 4 dogs. This property is right on the public beach access, so the beach in front is always very crowded, but we just walked down a few blocks to a quieter area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdlegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.3 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Beach Resort

Property: Anna Maria Island Beach Resort
Address: 105 39th St, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1906 (Formerly the Aquarius Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort has been recently remodeled and updated.The pool area has been redone, with pool accessories and chairs and a tumbled marble deck. The pool is heated during winter. The rooms have been updated as well with Hi-def flat screen TVs, pillow top King size bed,new queen size sleeper sofa. There are 9 one bedrooms, and 2 two bedroom suite. All the rooms have dining table, Kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink. The Resort itself is directly on the beach, surrounded by lavish gardens of palms and shrubs and tumbled marble decks and walkways.Rooms 1,2,3,4 and 11 are ground level for handicap individuals. Room 4 and 9 face the beach directly. Rooms 10 and 11 are the two bedroom and two bath units that face toward the pool. Rooms 5, 6,7 and 8 are upstairs and have balconies with views of the beach. Room 11 is the best equipped for handicap individuals. Rooms 1,3,4 and 11 are pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Anna Maria Island Beach Resort Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing