We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Tropical Island Atmosphere”
Review of Hurricane Hanks

Hurricane Hanks
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food & Tropical Island Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Don't be fooled by the looks of Hurricane Hanks from the outside. It is located in a little shopping center next to a liquor store and looks like an old bar. But the minute you open the door you are shocked and pleasantly surprised by the decor. It is bright and cheerfully painted with pastel island colors of creams, yellows, and teal. There is lovely tropical art everywhere which is tastefully done. Everything is neat, clean, and cheerful. The tables are set with colorful artsy fish place mats which adds even more color and fun. This atmosphere is extremely welcoming to all ages and that is what you find inside. Children to adults are happily enjoying food and drink. This is a bar, but one with a look of a fun island resort, not to mention the great food. We tried several sandwiches and the beer battered cod. All excellent and reasonably priced. We definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BobMcC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    277
    74
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Horeb, wi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for food and drinks!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hurricane Hanks is a great place for locals and for great food. We go there at least 2 to 3 times we go to the island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnrfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My number one place on Anna Marie Island!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Friendly ,great food and service . Top of the line ! The owners and staff are absolutely the most kind warm people you will ever meet. We love going there!
Reminds me of the show "Cheers" .You always feel at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not only was the service attentive, but the food was so good for a bar, that we came back again. When we first got to the Island, we stopped in for lunch and ordered a cheese burger and fries, and a Cuban and fries. I'm not a fries person, but these were not greasy, they were very crispy like they had been double fried like higher end establishments. The burger was so huge you could barely get your mouth around it, and it was very good. The cuban was wonderful according to my husband as he would not share...so that must mean it was great. We returned the night before we were leaving and ordered the Chicken parmesan, served with a wonderful salad with balsamic vinaigrette. The salad was nice and cold, fresh and crisp, not like so many side salads serviced in higher end restaurants. My hubbie ordered the Scottish salmon and he loved it. The prices were more reasonable than the tourist trap beach places, so we will be coming here the next time we come down. On a scale of 1 to 5...5!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hurricane Hanks at the Jersey Shore?”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Every few weeks we enjoy driving out to Anna Maria Island for dinner. Last week we decided to go to Hurricane Hanks.
We were greeted by very loud, obnoxious, dark haired, woman with a heavy new jersey accent. She was chain smoking cigarettes and drinking white wine while talking to a couple and using the "F" word multiple times in single sentences. I would have guessed she drives an 18 wheel truck when she is not being a hostess. We later learned that she is not a truck driver butt the wife of the owner.
We grabbed a seat at the bar while we waited for a table. We ordered a few cocktails from the bartender who was a grumpy, impatient, loud, obnoxious, dark haired woman with a - you guessed it - heavy new jersey accent. Lucky for us she wasn't chain smoking or dropping the "F" bomb. We had a laugh between ourselves about whether we were on Anna Maria Island or at the Jersey Shore. We later learned this bartender is the daughter of the drunken woman outside (who we thought was a truck driver).
We were then escorted to our table by a friendly young man who didn't have a Jersey accent. We were hoping that Snooki or JWoww wouldn't be our server. As it turns out our server was friendly and efficient. The food was good but the portions were a little small and overpriced (for a bar).
Next time I think we'll call ahead to see if the hostess and bartender are working.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Hanks also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Hurricane Hanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing