We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to be done”
Review of Beach Bistro

Beach Bistro
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beach Bistro has been Anna Maria Island’s romantic fine dining destination for 26 years. Located beachfront, looking out on the Gulf of Mexico, the scenic waterfront backdrop and spectacular sunsets make it the perfect place to celebrate special occasions or simply relax after a long day.The Beach Bistro boasts the highest Zagat ratings for food and service in the state of Florida and is currently the eight-time recipient of Florida Trend’s Golden Spoon Award. It is also the twelve-time recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.The mission of the bistro is simple: to provide you with one of the best dining experiences that you have ever had.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Had to be done”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having read all the hype we decided to give this a whirl. It was fine but not so great. The tables are a little on the small side and a bit cramped. The staff are very uber efficient. The food was okay. I think having so much fine dining on our doorstep in Europe has probably tainted our view. The Americans around us loved it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    125
    85
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of big city dining.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beach Bistro couldn't have been a better place to celebrate a 65th birthday. Expensive, but worth it. The entrance into the bar was a little "odd", but that didn't matter. The bartender said to walk on through to the hostess station. We were early, but she said the table was just clearing and wouldn't be long. We had a couple of drinks at the bar and right on time, we were called to the table. The bar itself was a throw back to the forties, I thought, but was only added six years ago. Small but cozy. Nice.
The smallish dinning room seats 40, is my guess, and was busy at 7:30 on a Wednesday night. A good sign... The food was superb, the wait staff attentive without being overbearing. Diver scallops with a touch a curry was on the money. Grilled shrimp on a citrus polenta worked perfectly. Key lime pie, of course, and an artisan chocolate mousse with vanilla ice cream topped off the evening. We left happy...and the place was turning tables for the second time or third time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rphawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best bouillabaisse ever!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We ate here the last week in March on our last night of our vacation. I selected the restaurant because of its beach location and the fact that the back dining room has a lovely Sunset view. Although the decor is a bit outdated and the red long stemmed roses rather old fashioned, the food is fantastic. I had the finest bouillabaisse ever. It was full of lobster and other delicious seafood items. My husband had the prosciutto wrapped sea bass which was also delicious. Our friend had the lobster escargot which is basically lobster prepared escargot style. A terrific twist on the traditional dish for those who don't like snails. The chocolate bar dessert was also quite exceptional. The restaurant is expensive but it is the best food that we had Anna Maria Island. I am still thinking about that bouillabaisse…

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank minhnvu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Dining”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A beautiful setting with incredible service and outstanding food. The prices are worth the portion size and the quality of the food.The view is also spectacular. I do agree that the restaurant is quite "fancy" for children, however they did a wonderful job catering to our 5 and 8 year old and made the setting accommodating to them as well. I had the grouper and my husband had the lamb dish. We went back for a second time later during the week and had another phenomenal meal when I had the lobster appetizer and my husband had the duck. Overall, one of the best meals we had during our visit to AMI.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaG_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gold Spoon”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Excellent wine, and an absolutly amazing night. The food was amazing and I believe the Gold Spoon award says it all. Sean Murphy was a gracious host and the views were the typical breath taking views one comes to expect while taking in the laid back island lifestyle of Anna Maria. Possibly the best food on the island besides locally caught fish prepared in a backyard by a local.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bistro also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Beach Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing