We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Havana Cabana - CLOSED

Havana Cabana
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Caribbean, Latin
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Small eatery, tucked away on a side street! Wonderful tasting food - arroz con pollo, picadillo, pulled pork dinners. Yummy sandwiches - Cuban, any of the wraps. Family owned - nicest people! And the truffles are amazing and decadent! Breakfast is good too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southern NH
Level Contributor
240 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a small establishment that was busy at breakfast time on a Sunday morning. Food was decent and plenty was served; coffee was good but no rush to provide refill. Wait staff was pleasant. If everything else was full, I would try again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tltallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had a nice dinner here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stopped into Havana Cabana and had a pleasant experience. I had the special sausage, onions and peppers over rice and thought it was very good and fresh. My husband had the Cuban sandwich which was adequate but have had better. The black beans were excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient and I noticed there was one older man preparing the food by himself and it was quite busy. Good value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Minneapolis_MnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have been wintering here for the past several weeks. This place is a great place for a good meal with a quiet atmosphere. The prices are very reasonable. We have been here at least once to sometimes two times per week recently. Never had a bad meal. Owner bends over backwards to please...almost always comes by to see if we were satisfied. My hubby's favorite is the 3.99 brunch special...can't hardly beat that price. We love the Cuban sandwiches. Mahi tacos great. Our favorite is a new special that he has been making that is a sausage, onions and peppers in a red sauce served over beans and rice. Mmmm, mmmm was good. One day we went in for brunch and had a difficult time deciding on that dish or breakfast. We opted for breakfast with a return for the sausage dish for supper. We ran late going to eat for supper and he was out of the special. The owner was upset that he was out and had promised that if we returned tomorrow that he would make that dish for one of his specials again! Of course we went back again and had the sausage dish. And of course we weren't disappointed!. Portions are plenty big. Rest of staff have been very attentive and friendly too. This place has been one for our favorites for the past few years. Sometimes the island can be so busy and many places can get noisy. This place is quiet,calm and casual. Sometimes you just need that. Nice to be able to go out and converse with company.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I noticed several decent reviews and decided to try it as we were looking for a casual lunch while touring by bicycle. I believe only the old reviews had any thing passive to say. The beers were refreshing at least. My wife had a passable Greek salad. My eggplant caprese sandwich was tough and flavorless. It was a special which our waitress said was good but she appeared to be a rookie. Was charged extra for fries and Cole slaw even though all other sandwiches came with them. They took that of the bill when I complained. Service was ok but I noticed tables left dirty for the entire time we were there.

Helpful?
Thank ibresqone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Cabana also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing