We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not memorable.”
Review of Havana Cabana - CLOSED

Havana Cabana
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Anna Maria Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Not memorable.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

So my family pulls up to the little Cuban restaurant anticipating, well, Cuban food. There was some Cuban food, but not even enough to fill a page of a menu. So we sit down and there are only two other groups in the restaurant at the time. After about 20 minutes of waiting for a waiter, one of the cooks comes up. A few more families come in. The cook gives us water and tells us "Bella has 2 tables so wait." So we wait some more. Again the cook comes up and says "Now Bella has 3 tables." So after more waiting our real waitress comes up to our table. She takes our order. Food is overpriced for portions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Less than satisfied!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family and I spent a week and Anna Maria Island and we tried a variety of restaurants. One day while driving down the main drag we saw the orange VW bus advertising Havana cabana restaurant and we thought "this looks nice." Upon entering the restaurant we were told that Bella was swamped and that she had three tables to wait on. So we waited and waited and were eventually seated. When Bella finally got to us, she was complaining about the other patrons and told our daughter NOT to go into the restaurant business. Strange comment to be sure. Bella was also fused that so many people came in at once....her comment was "did someone ring the lunch bell or something?" Ok...enough about the poor service, the food was VERY overpriced. Considering that much of it was frozen and processed we were very disappointed. Skip this place as there are much better establishments on the island.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDisneyFansFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow! Great flavors and reasonable prices.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Bella was so friendly, and the taste of everything was great. Arroz com Pollo included moist chicken breast, yellow rice, black beans, Cuban bread, and soup of the day. The soup was amazing! Cuban sandwiches of several varieties- include black beans and rice for about $8. We've tried Jose's, but we will not be making the drive to Cortez any more. Can't wait to try breakfast!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
331 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quaint - breakfast experience...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering, witnessed an argument of 2 cooks on a Sunday morning @ about 10:15. The server was outside chatting w/her customer so the cook delivered our food. Home fries were hard and should have been cooked longer. Veggies in Garden Omelet could have been cooked longer too. T.V. and music going at the same time??? Small restaurant and we were the only diners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
534 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very Good Omelet's here!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had Omelet's here this morning. I had a Spartan (Greek) omelet and it was very good. Pleasant quaint atmosphere. Nice place to stop on the way to the Anna Maria Island beaches.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James99946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Cabana also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing