We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this beach”

Manatee Public Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.53*
and up
Anna Maria Island Segway Rental
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved this beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Although it is a large public beach area, it never felt crowded (oct 2012). There is a lifeguard on duty and a great Beach Cafe that did lovely breakfasts and sundowners with a singer. Restrooms are to the side. There was also a well stocked shop, small playground and volleyball nets set back. You can hire sunbeds and umbrellas. All in all something for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ozmum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    131
    24
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Always Packed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great Beach area - lots of food places and restrooms but always packed with people.

Lots of parking here and a short distance to walk to the beautiful Gulf.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This beach used to be fantastic . I appreciate that the storms can have a big effect but I still don't think it is as good as it was years ago. The pier was destroyed in a storm and has not been replaced which is a big mistake. I think there are local arguments ongoing regarding the funding for a new pier. But the beach does not look right without it. I have stood many times on the pier watching the locals fishing and chatting to them, you could also have a chance of seeing dolphins or manatees from the end of the pier . The cafe has changed big time and for me lost its friendly atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_hall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This summer we spent our vacation in Florida with family. Our oldest son said we HAD to go to Manatee Beach before we went home. I now see why! Sugar white sands, crystal clear waters (even after Tropical storm Debbie), and a great place for shell hunting. While it was crowded the day we went, the crowds did not detract from the beauty of this beach.

There is a snack bar (we didn't use) and a surf shop (that we did use). Prices are reasonable and the selection decent. The only complaint I had was the condition of the restrooms, but when you have wet and sandy people coming up from the beach....pristine restrooms are not going to happen!

Overall a great place to take the family. Can't wait to go again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DenayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I've been coming to Manatee Public Beach on Anna Maria Island for over 40 years. We've seen the good, the pier, the ugly, no pier after the hurricane, and most everything in between. Plenty of shade from the pine trees if you want it, and plenty of room on the sand for everyone else. The beach is kept clean and can get quite full on weekends. There's plenty of room all along the gulf if even not on the official public beach. I still like the drumming circle in the evenings at sunset here, along with volley ball, live music, and food from the beach shops on site. Bring your sunscreen and an umbrella if you like, and a frisbee or skim board. Everyone has a great time. We do, every time we're here, especially when we see the dolphins at sunrise or sunset.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zen_journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatee Public Beach also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Manatee Public Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing