We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haleys Motel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2006

This is a pet friendly motel and believe me you can smell the flea powder in the rooms. I didn't realize this until it was too late. Didn't sleep a wink! Hard bed, funky smell and just plain uncomfortable. I wouldn't stay here unless I had a dog.
The owners were great. For the money...forget it, I'm still scratching!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank kittykat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Haleys Motel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 287 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2006

Where to begin?

We chose Haley's Motel as the palce where all of our wedding party, closest friends,a nd some family would stay for our wedding which was on November 13, 2005 at The Sandbar (Also great!). We visited Haley's prior to making the arrangements and were taken by surprise at the willingness and kindness of the staff to help us with every little detail.

Haley's offered their entire property to usl including their two largest beach houses, for parties by the pool, and even our REHEARSAL DINNER! They contacted a local BBQ joint "Mr. Bones" (the best in Sarasota) and arranged to have our dinner catered, with tables set up, etc. They even got us a keg of beer for the evening! Also, no detail was left un-done... coolers filled with ice were available for sodas, refrigerators to store cold food, etc. They even let us hire are own steel drummer Clarence Brown who is now a regular entertainer for parties at Haley's.

I could go on and on... the short stroll to the beach is beautiful as well. In minutes (or less if you want to borrow one of the motel's bikes) you can be on beautiful Anna Maria Island Beach. White sands, and usually very un-crowded.

Any negative reviews of this motel are picky, snobby, or just plain not able to appreciate the paradise that is Haley's Motel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PianoDan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chelmsford MA
14
Reviewed March 3, 2006

I took my 5 year old twins over February school vacation to Haley’s. Everything about it was terrific! We stayed in unit 9. It was casual, self serve and clean!. Everything you needed was right there, I didn’t rent a car. I appreciated the plentiful supply of beach towels, sand toys, beach chairs, kites, bikes, the heated pool, grills, the beautiful gardens, the kitty, a dog and pet birds, even aloe plants growing like weeds along the street and an indoor game room with with bubbles for kids, crayons and games.

If you insist on bringing your laptop, there's wifi.

The beach was an easy walk down the street, not more than five houses down. We took the trolley to Manatee beach for the playground and on the beach café. We took the trolley to the supermarket, out to icecream, out to eat at “Tip of the Isle”. One of the best parts was adopting grandparents. It was fun meeting the other guests around the pool and in the gardens. Everyone walked to the beach for the magnificent sunsets. Tom was great, very friendly and hard working to make sure the property was beautiful and guests enjoyed their stay. I didn’t pay for daily maid service and didn’t miss it. Dishwashing soap and kitchen towels were provided. I didn’t care if the beds were made everyday. I felt lucky to have found this treasure, it felt like we moved down to our beach cottage for the week and it was perfect!

I flew Southwest out of Manchester NH direct to Tampa which was easy as pie, and Henry (------) met us at baggage claim and drove us to Haley’s.

If you love the beach, swimming with dolphins in the surf, building sandcastles, collecting shells, grouper sandwiches, swimming under the stars, friendly relaxed people, gorgeous gardens, the casual friendly atmosphere rather than a bustling chain hotel, you will absolutely love your stay at Haley’s.

I hope I didn't let out the secret and there's room for us next time!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cushing, WI
12
Reviewed February 18, 2006

We stayed in unit 11 in the Garden House. This is an older home, but the Buehler's (the owner/operators) have put much care into it and it is very clean and comfortable. Everything at Haley's Motel just makes you think clean. There was new living room furniture and an antique dinning room table for 6.The housekeeping was excellent even though they only come into the rooms every other day. This seems to be the norm in most of the resorts on Anna Maria Island.
There is a new game room downstairs with a full size pool table as well as a computer with high speed Internet.
From the private deck you are above a most beautiful tropical garden with several neat places to sit and relax.
If you are looking for old Florida and a family feeling, I recommended Haley's Motel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
memphis
14
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Attended this location for a wedding. Worst decision ever.

Rooms are small, old, musty, and generally in a state of ill repair. Housekeeping is nonexistent, unless you want to pay $10/night extra.

Extremely overpriced for such awful rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2005

I had found this motel on the internet and decided we would stay here for a couple of nights on our most recent visit to Florida. The property is a motel built in 1953 and the owners have done a wonderful job of renovating the rooms and decorating each in a distinctive style. We only needed a room for two so Sabine, the owner, showed us two of the renovated motel rooms, one decorated in a fun 70s motif and another called The Palm Tree room which was the one we chose for our stay. The room has a queen bed, mini kitchen and a small, completely renovated bathroom. Everything was cute, extremely clean and it was a great place to spend a couple of days. It is an easy walk to the white sand beach that is located about 1 1\2 blocks away. Sabine gave us many suggestions for things to do and places to eat. She and her husband are animal lovers and there are a resident cat, a dog and "guard birds" on the property. Pets are welcome.

Although we very much enjoyed our stay here, some travelers may find a couple of drawbacks. The room we stayed in was quite sufficient for our needs but may not be for travelers that require a lot of space. The bathroom was quite tiny and only had a shower, The motel does, however, have larger accommodations available. Also, if one is staying for more than one night, be aware that rooms are cleaned every other day, unless guests request daily cleaning, available at an additional charge.

If you are looking for something a little out of the ordinary, give Haley's Motel a try. I think you will like it!

2  Thank sari80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
217
Reviewed March 20, 2005

We stayed at Haley's Motel for a week and we were very disappointed with our accommodations. Our room was units 11 and 11A. The rooms were not clean when we arrived. Everything was simply old, musty, dirty and smelly. There was mould around the bathtub. The floors were all filthy. Housekeeping services was pretty much none existent - other than changing the towels. The unit had a full kitchen but it wasn’t complete. Being beside the main road didn’t help - traffic was very noisy in the morning.

The only reason I gave this place two stars is for the heated pool (which is very nice) and the close access to the beach. Otherwise, it certainly is not worth the price of about $1300 for the week.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.7 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
3.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
4.2 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Anna Maria
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haleys Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleys Motel and Resort

Address: 8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range: $180 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleys Motel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haley's offers two room studios, motel rooms, one bedroom cottages, 2 and 3 bedroom homes. Entire property is SMOKE and PET free. The sandy path to the Gulf of Mexico is only about 100 yards from your door. No roads to cross (except from the Gumbo Limbo House) Free use of beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and beach carts. Heated Pool, AC/heat, basic cable, TV, gas grills. All rooms and property have free wireless Wi-Fi. Free island wide trolley to dinning, shopping and all kinds of activates. Coffee makers with coffee and bath amenities. Most units have full kitchens except for a few motel rooms. They include Cook top or stoves, dishes and serve-ware and more. All rooms have a minimum of coffee maker and small refrigerator. Family owned and operated Book Direct for Best Deals. See "Specials" on our website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haleys Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel And Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing