We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Gem............”
Review of Resort Sixty-Six

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resort Sixty-Six
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is a hidden gem. On the beach, beautiful white sand and aqua clear water. Staying here you are also close to some of the best resteraunts ever. The casualness of the small town makes you wanna stay forever. You can actually get on a bike and travel the whole little town, and have lunh at a small bistro and go hang in the small shops potsed all over the town I have been twice so far on my anniversarys and we will continue to visit every year. I'm only 33 but when I retire this where I wanna be. The stay is great with a beautiful pool that is very relaxing and a well kept hot tub to end the day with a nice cool drink in your hand as the sun sets in the ditance, doesn't get better than this......

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank jimmystamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

All you need if you want to relax at a laid back, on the Gulf Great resort! Choice of GREAT BEACH, pool or hot tub. Look North or South--Just beach as far as you can see, and sunsets, an event. Amazing 1 bed room units have a KING bed ( rare for 1 BR units) and all else you need --even wi-fi. Don't have to worry about traffic or kids becoming road pie.----Is a true island location in a residential area. You can leave your car and take the FREE trolly for shopping or goin'g to Din Din and such.

Down the road is Publix --their steaks grill real GOOD on the free Gas Grilles --save alot on cooking your own dinners.

If you have 5 to 7 kids, and like boom boxes and 3000ft to get your knees wet --- go to Daytona. If you want no big traffic problem, totally relax and get sea biscuts and starfish in 6 ' of water ---You need to go here or buy a week here.

[--]

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ERNBLOWINWIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I are Bluegreen travelers. WE DECIDED IN JAN OF 09 TO GO TO anna maria in sept of 09. Our entire trip was wonderful. The room was one bedroom on the second floor. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness at this resort. We look forward to returning again and again to resort sixty six.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank debandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

My wife and I blindly made reservations to stay at Resort 66 using our Blue-Green points and were surprised at how wonderful it was. The resort is located on the North side of the island which was away from some of the hustle and bustle south of us. The room was very clean and was quite comfortable for our week long stay. We found out that if you head to this area, the third and fourth week of September are outstanding times to go. This is because the summer rush is over and the locals are back from their vacations(which they seem to take the first two weeks of the month). Since the room are equiped with full kitchens, we were able to visit the local fish markets to purchase some fresh fish for our meals. We found a nice one on 123rd street south of Cortez.

A great drive is to head down Manatee to Palma Sol Drive and head south towards Cortez. On the right side of the road will be a park(Rose Park, I believe) where you can pull in the circle driveway and walk out on the fishing dock. While we were there, four dolphins swam up by us to check us out. If you go down Palma Sol drive a little further, there will be a park on the left side of the road that surrounds a stream that heads into the bay. When we pulled in this park, we sat down and watched 4 manatee playing in the stream.

A great place to eat on Anna Maria Island is the Sandbar on the north side of the island. We ate there twice and enjoyed both meals. One more thing, since it doesn't seem to rain on the island, I would recommend renting a convertible. We did and loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mineola_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We had a one bed, one bath (don't know if they are all the same) that we were very pleased with. The room was clean and up to date with everything we needed. The people were very friendly and helpful from the management to the cleaning staff. The best part for me was the location...it is right on the water. The pool was nice - we had no idea we would be spending as much time there as we did - this was my kiddos first experience with salt water and so we spent almost as much time at the pool as we did the beach....oh well.

We met two different people/families that were staying there for the 15th and 23rd straight year. They love the place and look forward to using their week every year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank PBOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We are return vacationers through our Bluegreen timeshare to Resort 66. We love the location & the beach! The laid-back, small-town atmosphere can't be beat. This is miles away from hi-rise glamour. The location is what we love and return to. Rod & Reel Pier & Rotten Ralphs are favorite restaurants.
The units are modest, one bedroom pullout sofa units that sleep 4 at most. They are clean and we noticed new paint, new couch, new DVD players, new pool chairs & umbrellas since our last trip. The pool and spa are old but clean. No inflatables.
There were very few kids when we stayed... For our children (3/5) to play with other kids their age we had to head to the beach. Most other guests were retirement age. So evenings were quiet. The Beach Bistro Restaurant right there is very elegant & elite... not for family dining.
In our past two times at this resort we have run into families that were disappointed with the place. They even chose to give up the rest of their weeks and left early to find a different hotel in another location.
The sunsets are BEAUTIFUL!! You really need to rent beach supplies locally as the resort doesn't offer many chairs, umbrella, etc.. for use on the beach.
A rental car is a must!
We will return, with children the early bedtimes/ quiet nights don't bother us. The modest rooms are balanced with the convenience of having the beach right there, it was convenient for naps/ play/ snacks/ pool.
Staff were nice, but mostly kept out of our way.
We had fun! A quiet, family kind of fun.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank OrlandoBound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

What a lovely place Anna Marie Island is. This resort was almost on the beach, the sunsets are beautiful, and the beach when we visited was quiet. The location to all ameneties is excellent, even the trip to Busch Gardens did not take more than one hour and the interstate is easily accesible. On the down side, we found the first unit allocated, a studio room 110, to be dismal, right opposite the back of the beach restaurant a few feet away. We were moved to another room, and things picked up. The front of house staff were friendly, the resort spotlessly clean, the pool area, although not big was adequate, as the ocean is only a few feet away. Dolphins can be seen on a daily basis. I would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alibeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
988 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
169 reviews
3 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.6 mi away
Waterline Marina Resort & Beach Club, Autograph Collection
9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Sixty-Six

Address: 6600 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1326
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Resort 66
Resort Sixty-Six Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Sixty Six
Resort Sixty-Six Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing