We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Resort Sixty-Six
Nearby Hotels
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas(Holmes Beach)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$336
$309
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Post(Bradenton Beach)
$188
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
26
17
14
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
17
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbluegreen ownersbeach bistrorci exchangefull kitchenpool and hot tub areaice makerfree trolleymaintenance stafflounge chairs arethe sofa bedon anna maria islandfront officeshort driveliving areaother guestsup to dategreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 60 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We booked through Bluegreen Resorts and didn't know what to expect. We weren't told that since we aren't Bluegreen owners that we'd be placed in the room between the office and laundry room (the only room rented out to non owners! I was very upset upon learning of this but found that it wasn't much of a problem as I anticipated. Booked our room for $80/night which was a steal right on the beach.

Room was clean although furniture and TV was older(DVD remote didn't work). Didn't spend much time in the room so it worked. Was well equipped with the full kitchen and all utensils. Small courtyard with 2 gas grills. Felt very secure with 2 keyed entries to the property.

Resort is on the beach and attached to Beach Bistro, a very upscale intimate restaurant ($50 plates and up) The beach access was wonderful and although we explored neighboring beaches of Ana Maria Island, Cocquina Beach, Manatee Public beach, Longboat Key and Siesta Key, we found Holmes Beach to rate very highly compared to the others. The beach was never crowded like Siesta Key although the volume did pick up on the weekend. Because of the rainy season, the ability to dart inside when storm clouds rolled in during the evening also was wonderful.

Was a wonderful stay and was a very laid back vibe to the area. As Floridians, we've visited many beach but we loved Holmes Beach and our stay at Resort Sixty-Six and its our new spot to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkeys68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Overall the resort was nice and very convenient to the beach. The biggest drawbacks for us was there were some problems with some things in the room. Nothing big the resort was a bit dated but overall we had a great trip and would return.

They did come and fix all problems (the next day).

There is a very nice restaurant that often defeated the security of the guests by leaving outside doors open. It's not really a kid restaurant so we didn't go there but others I'm sure would like it. Seemed like it was 4 rooms put together to make a restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terpdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

When we booked this resort through RCI I tried to contact at least 10 times. Never got through to a human and never got a call back afte leaving messages. We were booked into a room with no sunlight. The room shared a hallway with the small overpriced restaurant attached to the resort. We had to look out the small bathroom window to see if it was raining. This window overlooked the garbage cans. We were not able to see if it was day or night from the door or the two windows. The cleaning staff was great though and the location on the beach was great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank lmiller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is a hidden gem. On the beach, beautiful white sand and aqua clear water. Staying here you are also close to some of the best resteraunts ever. The casualness of the small town makes you wanna stay forever. You can actually get on a bike and travel the whole little town, and have lunh at a small bistro and go hang in the small shops potsed all over the town I have been twice so far on my anniversarys and we will continue to visit every year. I'm only 33 but when I retire this where I wanna be. The stay is great with a beautiful pool that is very relaxing and a well kept hot tub to end the day with a nice cool drink in your hand as the sun sets in the ditance, doesn't get better than this......

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank jimmystamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

All you need if you want to relax at a laid back, on the Gulf Great resort! Choice of GREAT BEACH, pool or hot tub. Look North or South--Just beach as far as you can see, and sunsets, an event. Amazing 1 bed room units have a KING bed ( rare for 1 BR units) and all else you need --even wi-fi. Don't have to worry about traffic or kids becoming road pie.----Is a true island location in a residential area. You can leave your car and take the FREE trolly for shopping or goin'g to Din Din and such.

Down the road is Publix --their steaks grill real GOOD on the free Gas Grilles --save alot on cooking your own dinners.

If you have 5 to 7 kids, and like boom boxes and 3000ft to get your knees wet --- go to Daytona. If you want no big traffic problem, totally relax and get sea biscuts and starfish in 6 ' of water ---You need to go here or buy a week here.

[--]

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ERNBLOWINWIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews