We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Holmes Beach
Post
Inbox
Search

“If dining can be stressful, that was our experience”
Review of eat here

eat here
Ranked #16 of 46 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Marina Drive
Description: Eat Here offers chef-driven, American artisan cookery. An emphasis on local product and fresh Gulf seafood served in presentations suitable for sharing and tasting. A casual neighborhood place, with a community table, featuring craft beers and wines. On Anna Maria Island.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eat Here was decent, I guess, but overall our experience was not spectacular. We got there just a bit before they opened at 5PM and receive a gruff response that we should not come in but wait outside. There was no warm welcome just a question as to whether we wanted to eat inside or out. Inside was very dark and rustic; outside was airy but in the parking lot. We opted for outside and were only occasionally bothered by loud vehicles and exhaust. The four of us ordered beverages, two appetizers to share, two salads to share and an entree each. Everything came at one time due to a problem with their "system", whatever that meant. Overall the food was fine but it was challenging and stressful to balance plates half on/half off the table and put beverage glasses atop the food plates to consolidate room. There was no accommodation from the restaurant. The positive guest reviews on OpenTable, Trip Advisor and Yelp far exceeded our personal experience. Chalk it up to a one time anomaly if you want but somehow I think, after watching the circus, this happens more than reported. No, we won't be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iknowquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokossocial, Marketing at eat here, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, please get in touch with us so we can better understand your experience.
mail@eathereannamaria.com
(941) 778-0411

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Eat Here is one of my favorite restaurants. We visit 3-4 times each winter. Everything is delicious. It’s a cozy place with a unique menu that changes slightly each year. Unfortunately some of my favorites (ckn & waffles, fried spare ribs) have disappeared from the menu. But, you can’t beat the flavors of all the remaining items. The only complaint I have is their tableware. They use the cheapest stamped stuff that, frankly, detracts from your dining experience. It’s strange that the owner, probably the best restauranteur in FL doesn’t see that. Oh well.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank silversailor370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

How can one resist the name and menu items like the Titanic salad (with iceberg lettuce, of course)? It’s got the typical seafood offerings you’ll find in any Gulf Coast restaurant, but with a few items that are a little less bland than the typical fare. I had the shrimp mosca’d - New Orleans style, which was good, as long as you don’t expect actual highly spiced New Orleans style. Better than most of the meals I have had here. The shrimpcargot was cleverly prepared, and the brussel sprouts were good and served in a large portion. Dessert was a chocolate pudding cup with sea salt, and a huge slice of key lime cheesecake - more than I could finish. While it’s a small place, there is some outdoor seating, but it was too chilly for us to consider that option. It was easy to get a reservation online the same afternoon but I don’t know how long a wait we would have had without reservations. Our server was attentive and prompt. Overall, a good experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jrudnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

From moment we sat down very unfriendly service then got 3/4 orders wrong. New Orleans shrimp at $20 for 4 medium shrimp is a rip-off and the garlic sauce was like watered down soup and shrimp not seasoned. Overall a terrible experience and when told server about food not to mention wrong orders no manager came out and absolutely no offer to accommodate us. Don’t Eat Here

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank johnaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokossocial, Owner at eat here, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John,

We are disappointed to hear that your Eat Here experience was not positive. We have spoken with our staff regarding the details of this situation and have parted ways with the server in question. We are committed to an excellent guest experience so we hope you will some time choose to Eat Here again and allow us an opportunity to redefine your experience. Thank you for understanding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

in a small but well serviced restaurant. Reserve if you can or go early. Many people were turned away.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 605aubreye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed eat here also viewed

Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to eat here? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing