We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Have eaten several times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Ocean Star

Island Ocean Star
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Island Ocean Star Sushi, Hibachi and Japanese cuisine invites you to enjoy the finest Anna Maria has to offer. From the breathtaking views over looking Bimini Bay on Anna Maria Island to our flair for the dramatics at our brand-new hibachi table. Come spend the night with us. Ocean Star has a full bar, sit down sushi bar, Hibachi table and outside dining on the water.
provincetown
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Have eaten several times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The only reason I can't give 5 stars is because the service is typically slow. But that is the only bad spot, the food is wonderful. The servers are friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank wrx2ndregime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    7
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

As a local, we love Ocean Star, the food here is consistently yummy! Great sushi and amazing eel sauce and salads. The tempura and edamame are delicious too. Service is not the fastest and refills are not free on your drinks, but it is hands down the best sushi around.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but Unexceptional Non-Sushi Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Ocean Star is handicapped accessible with parking immediately in front of the door. No steps. Booths easily accommodate four large people, more average size.

Ocean Star Sushi and Japanese Restaurant's menu is extensive. While some have labelled this a "Sushi restaurant," the menu belies that label as it has page after page of Japanese specialities other than sushi. Our party was unadventurous and did not sample the sushi, so if you are interested in a review of the sushi, look elsewhere.

All of the entrees came with a salad of julienned mixed vegetables with a light Oriental ginger vinagerette. Tasty, but not memorable. Similarly the Miso soup did not wow.

Two of our party had tempura, both shrimp and chicken. The portions were large, yet delicate. In addition to the featured item, the tempuras included fresh green beans, potatoes, eggplant and squashes. No complaints.

One ordered Beef Teriyaki. It arrived simply as a steak with sauce. OK, but no pizzazz. I ordered Yaki Soba shrimp. The buckwheat noodles and julienned vegetables were fine, but the shrimp were tough.

All of the entrees we had were $18.95 or $19.95. We agreed they were somewhat overpriced for what we received. Service was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tombantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I read some of the reviews and frankly why would you go to a Sushi restaurant to order a SALAD ? If you want to eat very good Sushi this is the place and if you stick to their specialty Sushi menu you will be very very satisfied . I met their local fisherman who supplies a great deal of the sushi fish and it is high grade . If your from small town USA this might be regarded as expensive BUT as Sushi restaurants go in North America
this is great value for excellent food . Shocking thought this might sound this is probably the best food I have eaten in this eight week trip .
DD

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
227 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised
The sushi was very fresh and the service good despite a tacky strip mall location. We would return!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Ocean Star also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Island Ocean Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing