We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best things we did in our six weeks on the island!”
Review of Zegway by the Bay

Zegway by the Bay
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A segway tour with Zegway by the Bay is the best way to see Anna Maria Island. As we embark on a guided segway tour of Anna Maria Island, we'll explore the hidden paths most would never know as you won't find them on a map. We'll share with you, as our guests the story of Anna Maria Island from Ponce de Leon, the Seminole Indians, George Emerson Bean, to "Island Stewards" of today. We promote all businesses as we roll along our Anna Maria pathways. We have the weekly updates for several events you may wish to attend. From bands like Koko Ray and the Soul Providers, playing regularly at local pubs and restaurants, to artists like Cheeta, who's art work is painted across the island. We'll share the stories and show the way to newcomers from Leffis Key to Bean Point.Your tour guides live and play on the island and love to share stories with their guests on the guided segway tours. Safety is always important. We do training prior to the tour so no worries and it won't cut into your tour time! We'll train you properly and make sure it is safe for all to roll prior to the tour. Our guides have trained thousands of riders, so rest assured that even if you are riding a segway for the first time, allow these two ladies to train you and you'll be rolling on a segway effortlessly in a matter of minutes.Our full two hour tour is $65 per person, covering just under 8 miles round trip. We stroll along the entire north half of the island. Our one hour tour at just under 4 miles is $45 per person. We do accept cash, Visa, and MasterCard. Reservations are requested as we fill up quick. Please give us 24 hours notice if at all possible.REQUIREMENTS:14 years and up. We've trained up to age 95 years old on a segway. Want to know the story, just ask.100-300 pounds are our weight limits.Any rider under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
“One of the best things we did in our six weeks on the island!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Casey was fun, and the whole experience was delightful. The machines are easy once you relax. I had already been on the island for a month, but I learned so much.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evergreener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun times”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

he had a great time. A good way to tour anna maria. casey is a great teacher and tour guide I WAS NERVOUS TO START BUT CASEY MAKES SURE YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE ON THE SEGWAY BEFORE YOU START OUT. rest breaks and time for photo opts.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank deb5251955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our first time to ride Segways but will not be our last. It was great fun. Casey was very careful to make sure we were comfortable on the Segways before leaving the parking lot. She was patient with me and my apprehension with this new experience. The tour was informative, we learned a lot about the island during the tour and wished we had done the tour at the beginning of our visit instead of towards the end. Residents are used to seeing the Segway tours along with people on bicycles and pedestrians so we felt safe when riding on the streets. The Segways are equipped with a large pouch in front so you can store a jacket, camera etc. while riding. Casey stops along the way to allow you to rest and she also provided a bottle of water for us. My husband and I are both 60+ and we highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tulsawheatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“What a great way to spend a fabulous Florida morning!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife bought us a 2 hour tour trip for Christmas, and the date we chose to use it, coincided with a visit from out-of-town friends. This was their and my wife's first time (I had only done this once or twice before). Kasey (or Casey?) was a great and patient tutor, taking the necessary time to familiarize my wife who was filled with a little apprehension and trepidation at the thought of riding on two wheels.
The tour was fantastic, with stops along the way to see things we (as residents) never knew existed. The brief stops were few, but properly positioned to allow riders the chance to relax and stretch, but were not obtrusive or limiting to the ride itself.
The equipment was top-notch, new segways replete with pouches and mounted indicator keys. There's rental places in Siesta Key which use old generation equipment, not to mention, forced "turtle" mode.
Every aspect of this tour was spectacular. Kayce was great. She was enthusiastic, not just about riding segways, but exuberant in her passion for the island. She was patient, as previously mentioned, and encouraging. Not one of the new riders felt inadequate, like is found at other similar venues.
Whether you are a first-timer, or an old hand, this is the tour for you. New gear, best guide, and lots to see.
Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daemonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to see AMI”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I took the 2-hour tour around the north end of AMI (Bean Point, Anna Maria, pier, etc.) and loved every minute of it.

I was a bit apprehensive, as we had driven around that area the day before, that we would be close to the road/cars. However, the route uses lots of side road and pathways to keep the main roads down to a minimum.

Also, once you get used to Segway then they are quite easy to handle.

Casey was a great guide - pacing the trip very well and passing on loads of information over the walkie-talkies.

With the initial training included, the whole experience lasted almost 2.5 hours which was just about right.

If you are thinking about doing this then stop thinking and just DO IT - you will not regret it at all!

Oh, and the café it runs from is a great place for a drink or food!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MysteryMan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zegway by the Bay also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Zegway by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing