We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Gourmet Grill

Island Gourmet Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Gourmet Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 40 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Providing an exquisite menu that features true American cuisine in a hip environment, Island Gourmet Grill creates palate teasing dishes that guests will enjoy. Island Gourmet Grill is under new ownership. With its clean, Florida atmosphere meshed with traditional yet slightly modern dishes, Island Gourmet Grill is a fantastic choice for dinner with friends or a romantic date with a loved one, and the service and visually appealing atmosphere will surely entice guests to come back for more. Al Fresco dining is also available along with a full wine bar.Not only does Island Gourmet Grill offer a beautiful dining environment, but the cuisine is fantastic. Some modern Italian classics accompany array of fresh seafood, steak, chicken dishes and delicious hand made pizzas.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Service and food were great. The pizza was amazing. Good crust and lots of toppings. It has been a long time since I have had a really good pizza. I am glad we stopped in to try the place out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Love the 5 stars. Thank you Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    72
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solid meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice place. Liked being able to make reservations on open table especially since we have small children. Waitress was a little slow and average at best. Food was very good. Chicken parm very good. Pizza very good. Overall enjoyed it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mspusf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for the review. I have show all of the staff so we may learn from your experience. Thanks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, substandard food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

First and foremost, the chopped salad (which the waiter highly recommended) was the worst salad I have ever eaten. The lettuce wasn't chopped or even julienne, it was minced. It seemed like the chef took a classic chopped salad and put it in a food processor, then jammed it into a ring mold to make it look fancy. The crispy onion garnish was limp and greasy. When I eat a salad, I want to be able to see and taste its individual components. That was not possible with this dish.

A lot of previous reviewers have mentioned the firecracker shrimp. While they sounded good on the menu, they were nothing as advertised. This dish was a glorified shrimp salad, overly sweetened and slimy. This restaurant is on the Gulf Coast, why is it not serving Gulf shrimp?

On the bright side, the pizza was above average and the service was very friendly and attentive.

This restaurant would be much better if it focused on pizza instead of poorly executed, pretentious dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineLinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
So sorry to read of you unpleasant experience. I am so taken aback by what I am reading. It is defiantly not our norm. .What can I say? If you do try us again please let me know so I can make sure everything is perfect. Thnaks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“A Nice Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We read a couple of reviews on this place and decided to give it a go. We did on-line reservations through Open Table (which turned out not to be necessary). As a party of three we were promptly seated, served and out the door in just over an hour! Penne Palermo was a hit as well as Veal Milanese (largest portion of beautiful veal ever)! The Pretzel encrusted Grouper however was a bit of a disappointment as the Dijon cream sauce just "melted" into everything else on the plate. This place is certainly worthy of a try if you are in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Morgan Thank you for your comments, We appreciate you coming in. Thanks Again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magic out of the Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Wow. What a surprise. This shopping center restaurant may appear like just any other quick place for dinner, but sell them short. After a day in the sun, a cool setting is greatly appreciated. The IGG has a large selection of beer, ales, and wine to select from. If that not your interest, why not try their bold, very strong ice coffee instead. We ordered from the Pasta selections. Large portions of Penne, Italian Sausage with Vodka Sauce (Penne Palmero) and tender fetticini noodles with a light cream sauce with smoke chicken ( Chicken Chevre) were perfectly prepared.
Set aside one of your evening while visiting Anna Maria Island and enjoy the Island Gourmet Grill.
JR from Sebring

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
JR Thank you for writing. Love the compliments. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Gourmet Grill also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Island Gourmet Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing