We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really #2??”

Island Gourmet Grill
Ranked #18 of 40 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Providing an exquisite menu that features true American cuisine in a hip environment, Island Gourmet Grill creates palate teasing dishes that guests will enjoy. Island Gourmet Grill is under new ownership. With its clean, Florida atmosphere meshed with traditional yet slightly modern dishes, Island Gourmet Grill is a fantastic choice for dinner with friends or a romantic date with a loved one, and the service and visually appealing atmosphere will surely entice guests to come back for more. Al Fresco dining is also available along with a full bar.Not only does Island Gourmet Grill offer a beautiful dining environment, but the cuisine is fantastic. Some modern Italian classics accompany array of fresh seafood, steak, chicken dishes and delicious hand made pizzas.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were with a group of 4 couples on a Friday night. The evening started out fine, prompt order of our drinks, polite waiter, took our appetizer order....then we waited for quite a while. Those having the calamari said they were good, Caprese was ok. Then we ordered our dinners and waited, and waited, and waited. When they finally came, the Mahi was cold, the shrimp entrees couldn't even be cut with a knife. The owner came by and we told him about the cold fish....he wanted to take it back to nook it. By then we were all tired, didn't want to make a scene and will not recommend this restaurant to those vacationing on Anna Maria.
Looking over other reviews, it seems management is micromanaging the Trip Advisor site instead of making improvements....or padding the reviews.

Thank MiMi143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

I m really sorry you did not have a wonderful experience. I did try to make things better when talking with you. I do understand you we're very frustrated. Again I apologize for not delivering a wonderful dinning experience. If you do decide to try us again I would like to try and make it up to you.

I appreicted you taking the time to write. I will us this as a coaching tool for all of my staff. Hopefully we can minimize the mistake going forward. Thanks again Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Island Gourmet Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a white pizza - olive oil + cheese. Deeelicious. My favorite white pizza to date. The restaurant is really beautiful, and the service was great. Each server we encountered, as well as the mgr, seemed to be eager to please and attentive (very refreshing!). Next time we're back staying on the island, I'm sure we'll come here a lot (they deliver!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ILoveLouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for the review. We would love to welcome you back. Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

After reading many outstanding reviews of The Island Gourmet Grille, friends and I decided to make the trip from Long Boat Key to see what all the fuss was about. We were rewarded with outstanding food and very special service from our server Lynn. For starters, we had the Italian wedding soup, oysters Rockafeller as well as the dozen raw oysters. The soup was delicious; perfectly seasoned with tasty little meatballs. The Rockafeller and raw oysters were also excellent. The cocktail sauce that accompanied the oysters was rather bland tasting more like plain ketchup than the spicy sauce I prefer. A little more horseradish would have improved it. Entrees included pappardelle with shrimp and scallops in a perfectly seasoned cream sauce. The shrimp were plentiful and cooked crispy. The scallops were tender with just a hint of smoky flavor...delectable. We also had the eggplant lasagna which, too, was excellent. Wine was reasonably priced with a good selection. The Island Gourmet Grille was outstanding. We'll be making a repeat trip north for another visit soon.

Thank Johnbrady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for the 5 stars. Love the compliments. Please tell your friends on Longboat Key. Thank you for writing. Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed on Anna Maria 2 weeks and went there twice. The bouillabaisse was outstanding and my wife had a pasta dish that was very good. We had a pizza take out after a full day and it was way better than the normal advertised places on the island. The stombolli is the best value, huge and tasty. They don't seem to get the normal traffic that the waterfront places get but for a great dinner and good service it's one of the better places on the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeyZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for writing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

In our 4 weeks on Anna Maria, this was one of the best dining experiences, Good food, pleasant atmosphere and friendly service. Wine offerings were very good and customer priced! Try this place- you will be pleases that you did,

Thank Boscobel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for spreading the word. We appreciate your business. Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Gourmet Grill also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Island Gourmet Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing