We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overtipped!”

Island Gourmet Grill
Ranked #19 of 40 Restaurants in Holmes Beach
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Providing an exquisite menu that features true American cuisine in a hip environment, Island Gourmet Grill creates palate teasing dishes that guests will enjoy. Island Gourmet Grill is under new ownership. With its clean, Florida atmosphere meshed with traditional yet slightly modern dishes, Island Gourmet Grill is a fantastic choice for dinner with friends or a romantic date with a loved one, and the service and visually appealing atmosphere will surely entice guests to come back for more. Al Fresco dining is also available along with a full bar.Not only does Island Gourmet Grill offer a beautiful dining environment, but the cuisine is fantastic. Some modern Italian classics accompany array of fresh seafood, steak, chicken dishes and delicious hand made pizzas.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overtipped!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a nice dinner, The pizza was great! Three of us ordered the chopped salad but only two received one, No worries they were super big so we shared. Would of went back but we were charged a tip of 45.00 and did not realize it as my son paid the bill. We had added another 45.00 so the tip was a third of our bill. Left a very bad taste in our mouth as we were sure the owner was waiting on us! Food was good especially the pizza.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Joan, I want you to know that we would never intentionally accept a double tip. If you would give me some more information I would like research further. At that point I can address this issue and hopefully get you back in our restaurant. I would appreciate a call. Thank you, Scott 941-778-0333.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    83
    33
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“"THE RESTAURANT" on the island!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

An excellent upscale experience. We were promptly seated in a spacious dining room and served our drinks, then we had some very fresh raw oysters. Delicious! The main courses of shrimp and clams were excellent. If you want a special night out on the island, this is the place to go. You won't have to endure stuffy and pretentious maitre'ds and waiters, elbow to elbow table space, cutesy little menu names that sound good but are disappointing, $80 entrees or $30 glasses for wine. Island Gourmet really is what the name implies, an Island Gourmet treat. We were so very surprised when the owner visited our table to ensure we were satisfied. This is a lost art. We willl be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for you post. We love the compliments....Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great value”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just to clarify, the restaurant is called Island Gourmet Grill not Italian Gourmet Grill. There are Italian dishes but lots of fish/seafood dishes as well.

We went on Valentine's Day and the dishes were excellent and the service very prompt and friendly. All the staff were welcoming, even the busboys.

The only improvement I think they could make is to update the exterior to reflect the great quality experience inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your post, love the compliments. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Got better!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place was not that great before they recently changed the chef. Pizza was not that great nor was the rest of the menu. If you've been here before and haven't been back in the past few months, try it again. Menu has been revamped and food is excellent now with Ezio in charge. If you liked his food at Slims you'll be happy here too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Island Gourmet Grill, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you JP. We changed ownership August 2012 also. Yes we are glad to have Chef Ezio. It is our goal to serve great food in a fabulous setting. Thanks for your business and tell your friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Kinda Schizophrenic, but turned out great!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had dinner at the Island Grill with a group of six over the holidays. We usually eat several times at "Eat Here" because the food is the CIA style we are used to, but we couldn't get in one night so we decided to try Island Grill since it was new to us and we hadn't been before. We had eaten at this location a few years ago at a previous incarnation, "Da Giorgio's" and had found the food to be wildly inconsistent.

We called to make a reservation and we told they didn't take them, so we went over. When we got there, we were told that the dining room was booked w/ groups(s) (?) for reservations(!), so we would be seated in the bar. During the entire time we were there, the dining room was half empty. Nervously we placed out orders. One couple ordered a variety of appetizers, my husband ordered a dinner, my son ordered a pizza, and I ordered the linguine with clam sauce. I told the waiter that a good clam sauce could be the test of a good restaurant.

The food was superb! The appetizers were wonderful, my husband loved his dish and my son loved his pizza. The salads were great and my linguine and clam sauce ranked as one of the best I have ever had. Of course, that may be because it was made w/ loads of butter instead of olive oil, and what isn't good w/ garlic and butter? We ended up having a really nice time after a rocky start, the owner/manager came over and talked to us several times, and the service was enthusiastic. Everyone seemed eager to please.

We were told that the restaurant opened in September and we were there in December. It seems that there are still some management problems that are being worked out, and the decor is ho hum, but the location is excellent, and the food and service were absolutely terrific, so we will be back again when we are back on the island, and we are recommending it to our friends. I hope it is a big success, but not so big that we can't get in next time we are down!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Gourmet Grill also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Island Gourmet Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing