We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Mainsail Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mainsail Beach Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an incredible resort! From the staff who go above and beyond to assist you with every need...to the incredibly spacious guestrooms that are right on the beach...everything about the Mainsail is beyond any expectation we could have imagined!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34231flgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for writing about your stay at the Mainsail Beach Inn. We are happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. Please come and visit us again when you can. We love seeing our guests return year after year.

Sincerely,
Margo, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    19
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
162
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Mainsail Inn is a fantastic place to relax. We had a 3 bedroom apartment right on the beach (on the 3rd floor). The apartment was of a high standard and very well equipped. The views are stunning and it is literally right on the beach. The waves are almost too loud with the doors open!
Margo and Amy are very friendly and helpful and run the pace in an efficient but low key way.
It's on a lovely part of the beach where you can watch the birds fishing or dolphins swimming.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for writing a review about your stay at Mainsail Beach Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and found the beachfront condo to be to your liking. The view is amazing... isn't it? We hope to see you again next summer but encourage you to keep in touch by following us on Facebook. Til then, safe travels.

Sincerely,
Margo, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love the Mainsail. This was our fourth stay there (in 3 years) and it's always such a welcoming and easy experience. We cannot imagine coming to Anna Maria Island and staying anywhere else at this point. The villas are beautiful (we always choose a 3 bedroom waterfront because of the size of our family) and the staff could NOT be any nicer. This time around, Edyta helped us with our reservations and was SO pleasant to work with. Once on the property, we were excited to see Margo who you can always count on to be incredibly cheerful and helpful. Our only "complaint" ... and it's a very minor one in the scheme of things ... is the occasional noise (ie. footsteps) that can be heard overhead if you are staying on a lower floor. However, there are just too many positives outweighing that one negative ... and we understand that there's probably not much that can be done at this point regarding the insulation of the floors during construction. But overall, if you are lucky enough to be headed to AMI, you just won't find a nicer place to stay than the Mainsail. When we're on the island driving around and it's time to head back to our "room", we get so excited that we get to turn into that beautiful place! Thanks to everybody there for yet another nice stay ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netta55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for writing a review about your trip to Anna Maria Island and for your compliments about your stay at Mainsail Beach Inn. We love to have return guests and are so happy to see our "friends" come back year after year. We look forward to seeing you next summer, if not sooner, and will try to place you on an upper floor if that is more to your liking. Best wishes til we meet again.

Sincerely
Margo, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just finished a week stay at Mainsail at a three bedroom oceanfront. It was my retirement gift to myself. It was everything reported and more. Each bedroom has its own bathroom which was a plus when my children and grandchildren came. The location and view were what you dream about. Ana Maria Island (AMI) has such a charming, low key vibe which immediately destresses you. I watched this happen to everyone who came in and immediately saw the water and let out a big sigh of "aaaah". Thanks to Amy and Margot for taking care of all the details. Honestly there doesn't seem to be anything Margot can't do. We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: I had room 7c. I don't think there was a fitness center. I just walked on the beach. I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay at the Mainsail Beach Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to our lovely beach-front property and that the 3 bedroom condo was perfect for you. We hope to see you again next summer. Til then, please keep in touch with us via facebook.
Sincerely,
Margo, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our stay at The Mainsail Beach Inn was Perfect! We stayed in a 3 bedroom/3 bath beachfront villa. It was truly a luxury villa with the best view of the Gulf. The staff at the Mainsail Beach Inn was very welcoming and personable. We loved everything about The Mainsail Beach Inn and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblyMom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your visit to Mainsail Beach Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again next summer.

Sincerely,
Margo, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This apartment was heavenly. Right on the beach with an unobstructed view of the sea with dolphins birds and pelicans and stingrays in abundance. It was huge too with enormous bathrooms. The only downsides were: the price as it doesn't come cheap but you can get better deals at other times, one of my children had to have a room with no external windows which she didn't like and we were not able to book the apartment for a whole week as it gets booked up pretty much a year in advance. This meant that we had to move from the best apartment to probably the worst in the block which, whilst nice was much more cramped and stuffy in the bedrooms and no comparison with the sea view room we moved from - i would not book this again. The rooms on the ground floor do not have high cealings so do not feel as spacious and luxurious but they are cheaper. The pool was great if a little small but you are right on the beach. Anna Maria itself is stunning and we felt it was well worth a second visit.

Room Tip: even the rooms at the back without a sea view are good but personally I do not like the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoRInBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, General Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the Mainsail Beach Inn. We appreciate your feedback about your visit with us. We are glad that you liked the first suite you stayed in that was located right on the beachfront. We understand that after being in one of the premier suites that the 2nd non-beach suite would be a disappointment but we were glad that we were able to accommodate your time frame by working around the other bookings. Our boutique property has many loyal guests that do book their trips well in advance, especially during the spring and summer months. We would love to have you visit us again in the future and hope that we can arrange for you to stay in one of our beachfront suites for the entire week.

Sincerely,
Staff of Mainsail Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bedroom beach front condo for 4 nights. High-end accomadations, Kitchen superb, everything you need. D'ont like to cook? That is ok too because the best resturant in the area is next door. Bedrooms, bedding, bathrooms are top-end. Decor in each was just right, not over done with someone's leftovers from home..Beach chairs and umbrellas were provided by the Inn, although it was hard to go to the beach because the room wa so nice. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Glad we picked beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, General Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay at the Mainsail Beach Inn. We are glad that you found everything to your liking! We appreciated your wonderful comments and hope that you will join us again in the future. We try to make the Beach Inn "just right" for our guests.

Sincerely,
Staff of Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
3.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainsail Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Beach Inn

Property: Mainsail Beach Inn
Address: 101 66th St, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking stunning turquoise waters and situated on a powder sand beach is the Mainsail Beach Inn on Anna Maria Island. Offering guests a superb island experience, our resort offers 12 upscale multi bedroom suites, all with beachfront access, and some with a Gulf views. Hardwood plank floors, gracious living areas and fully equipped gourmet kitchens are complemented with locally inspired artwork, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, balconies or a patio. Community amenities include a heated resort-style swimming pool, hot tub, pool side grill, and beach lounge chairs & umbrellas. Conveniently located next to The Beach Bistro for fine dining and within walking distance to the Anna Maria Island trolley for easy access to Pine Street shopping, dining options and attractions. Barefoot Luxury. Authentic Florida. Discover the Mainsail Beach Inn difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Mainsail Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainsail Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Mainsail Beach Inn Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing