We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mainsail Beach Inn
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$449
$399
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Beach Resort(Bradenton Beach)
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Gate Resort(Bradenton Beach)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Post(Bradenton Beach)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
242
25
4
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
25
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain sailthree bedroomthe kitchentop floorevery other daymaster bedroomanna maria islandevery amenitypool and hot tubthe perfect place to staydish soapwasher dryerfirst floorup to dateawesome placespent a weekfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 274 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Terrific place... very well thought-out. My spouse and I must have said "they've thought of Everything" a dozen times on our first day. We were looking for a place that's right up on the beach (Gulf-side) and has a full kitchen-- so that there'd be no need to pay restaurant prices for 3 meals per day. Plus, I LOVE to cook-- and really enjoyed this full-featured and -equipped kitchen. Only minuses were that (1) the balcony/deck is way too narrow [no room to even walk around the deck chairs without turning them sideways]; (2) the building's roof overhang is so short that the morning dew falls down like rain onto the deck-- so it couldn't be used (without getting "rained on") until late-morning.; and (3) the chaises on the beach are VERY uncomfortable-- should be changed-out for the style available at the Bistro next-door.

Room Tip: Chefs/Cooking enthusiasts: the kitchen is very well-equipped, but two things it lacks (which you'll likely need) are (1) an APRON; and (2) a liquid measuring-cup. ALL Others-- the beach-front experience is definitely worth it if you're looking to just plain relax and enjoy your days at the Mainsail itself. If--by contrast-- you're coming to A.M. to go out and do things (boating, fishing, etc.), then you're best served by saving the beachfront cost premium and putting it towards the FUN. EVERY ROOM in the place is wonderful :-)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, General Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review - we are so glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed your suite. We do our best to provide everything that you could need during your visit, so we are sorry that we didn't think to stock an apron in the kitchen for you (or a liquid measuring cup). Next time you stay, let us know what you need in your room and we will see what we can do to make your trip perfect. Thanks for bringing your family to our lovely island, we hope to see you again. In the meantime, please connect with us on Facebook or Twitter to keep in touch.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Although my individual ratings are not 5's I loved staying here and would go back again. We arrived a little late and the office closes at 4:30 so you need to read the instructions sent to you very closely or you will think, like us, you have been locked out!
Things to complain about - we had 2 daughters in their 20's and thought there were 2 beds in the 2nd bedroom but not so - we had to pull out the sofa bed every night and put it away every morning and it closed off the living area for everyone when my daughter was asleep. The furniture was comfortable but needed cleaning. We used the pool a lot and as no one else did it was very private. Some of the electrics look a little rusty and one of the outdoor showers didn't work but we coped. One of the wooden chairs on our deck was split and could be dangerous. My husband thought there would be more "service" than there was but it is a place where everything is provided for you to do it yourself, with towels being changed every 2 days and sheets once a week. Bathroom and Kitchen stocks are also replenished every 2 days. We have rented condos before and done everything ourselves so I wasn't too bothered. I think there may be some confusion calling The Mainsail a hotel when it is really a vacation rental.
Plenty of storage space, full washer and dryer, well equipped kitchen, lovely bathrooms, beds too high for me but relatively comfortable. Being able to walk straight out onto the beach was amazing and I loved the sea breeze, amazing sunsets and the odd opportunity to have rays swimming at my feet and dolphins further out performing for their beach audience!
We have been to Anna Maria before and know the places to eat and shop so needed no help. There is a computer set up for guests to use and WIFI throughout the building (as used all the time by my daughters). If you want to visit the award winning Bistro restaurant you only need to walk across the car park, but you do need to book! There were 2 kayaks available for use by guests and you were responsible for getting your own beach lounger and putting it away at the end of the day - a very informal set up.
I enjoyed the whole "living on the beach" experience but that is available at quite a few places on Holmes Beach at a lower financial cost than the Mainsail.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are more expensive but I loved walking out onto the deck and being 10 seconds from the ocean!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FormerYankee728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Mainsail Beach Inn, we are glad you liked your visit and did not want to leave us. We appreciate your comments, even those that are critical of the furniture and deck chairs because it is our guests feedback that helps us create a better experience for the future. We are looking into upgrades and will remove the damaged deck chair immediately. Thank you for your comments and we hope your next stay will be fully up to the standards our guests expect. We hope to see you again in the future, in the meantime, please join us on Facebook or Twitter to keep in touch.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder, Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I would rate this as a 4 1/2 if I could, but I will give them the benefit of the grading system and go with a five. We stayed here for a week at the beginning of December, and I can't say enough good things about Mainsail. The place itself is gorgeous, comfortable, and pretty well maintained. We had a room on the third floor directly over the beach and the view couldn't have been any better, particularly at sunset. We watched the dolphins swim through the area from time to time and the schools of rays "vacuuming" the sand along the coastline.
---The bedrooms were large and had great beds. That was a concern for me before we arrived, but they were really comfortable. The bathrooms were also spacious, and the master bath had a shower so big you could almost get lost.
---The kitchen was surprisingly well supplied. I've stayed in numerous condo and suite properties, and usually the kitchen-ware is sparse at best. Not here. They had nearly everything you could need as far as pots and pans (a non-stick omelette pan would have been nice, I have to admit). They also had plenty of glassware, mixing bowls, cutting boards, utensils, appliances, etc. They even had a nice block of Wusthoff knives which was really surprising. It's a great set-up if you're someone who likes to cook. There's also a nice full size dinner table and formal chairs, along with a small breakfast bar.
--- The living room is the only area that was a bit of a let-down. The tv was great. It was a massive flat screen with a DVD hooked up as well. The couch and chairs, however, were all pretty worn out. They weren't uncomfortable, but they weren't great either. One chair had a cover thrown over it so that it would kind of match the other (or maybe to cover a stain?).
---The baclony was nice and had plenty of chairs outside, though it was a little on the narrow side. I'll bet it couldn't have been much more than three feet wide, but it does run nearly the whole length of the condo. The only real issue that we had was that one of the sliding glass doors didn't lock. We reported it to the front desk and they had maintenance check on it while we were gone. They did check on it, but it was never fixed, and we never heard a word back from anyone about it. We were on the third floor so it wasn't that big of a deal, but still. It would have been nice if we could have at least been advised of what was going on, or if they would have maybe provided a jam-bar for the bottom of the door if nothing else.
---The pool area was really nice, clean, and comfortable. The jacuzzi was nice and hot and they had really nice lounge chairs around the pool. They were quality wood ones, not the usual aluminum and pvc chairs that most places provide. They also had a nice Webber gas grill set up out there with a sink and counter workspace.
---Other than the above mentioned door issue, the staff was great. Everyone was friendly, and any issues were taken care of quickly.
---Overall, this is a great property and I would happily return. Actually we hope to in the future. You're a little limited as to restaurants in walking distance, but there are plenty of great places that are a short drive or trolley ride away. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation on the beach.

Room Tip: For the beachfront rooms, the first floor rooms let you walk directly out onto the beach, but the upper floors give you a better view. Both are nice, so it just depends on which you prefer.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jereme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Mainsail Beach Inn. We are glad that you had a wonderful time and found the Beach Inn to be well-equipped for your week long stay. We appreciate your kind words about our property and are happy that you had everything you needed in the kitchen. We also welcome your suggestions on upgrading some of our features. As to the one problem you experienced with the slider to the balcony, we apologize for not communicating with you about the repair. Our handyman did check it during your visit but did not get the correct replacement part until after you had departed. We should have kept you better updated on the process.

We do hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future, but in the meantime, please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep in touch until your next trip to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder, Manager of Mainsail Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On arriving at Anna Maria Island we were expecting our accommodation to be a bit rustic, how wrong can you be! Mainsail Beach Inn is stunning. From the moment you walk in it screams quality. Margo was very friendly & helpful, showed us around and suggested some good restaurants. Our condo was 9c, top floor 2 bed, not technically beachfront but good view of gulf from both balconies, sun on balcony all day until 4pm. Interior decor & furnishings tasteful and good quality, kitchen well stocked everything you need including washer/dryer. Vileroy & Boch crockery, was scared I would break something (but didn't thankfully). Pool was lovely, had it to ourselves one day. In fact we felt like we were the only people there. Only steps from the gulf, you don't even need to wear shoes it's so close. Beautiful beach, amazing sunsets, enjoyed watching the pelicans and dolphins swim up and down. Bliss! You should try it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of the Mainsail Beach Inn. We are so happy that you had a nice visit with us and we thank you for your positive comments. You summed up our property perfectly! We hope that you will be visiting us again in the future, in the meantime, please join us on Facebook or Twitter to keep in touch in the meantime.

Sincerely,
Margo Ryder, Manager, Mainsail Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in Unit 6, a two bedroom with 2.5 baths and 2 balconies. Everything is very nice quality including the linens, kitchen accessories, appliances, and bedding. The entire condo and common areas are immaculate, very comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The staff is very knowledgeable and eager to make your stay pleasant. I would highly recommend this resort. Anna Maria Island is a wonderful location for relaxing and enjoying many wonderful restaurants. The beaches are lovely, too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1947Mom0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachInnAMI, Manager at Mainsail Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review about the Mainsail Beach Inn on Anna Maria Island. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. We will pass along your nice comments to our staff and housekeeping team. We hope that you will stay with us again soon, in the meantime, please join us on Facebook or Twitter to keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Margo Ryder, Manager of Mainsail Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews