We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“WE WILL BE BACK...................” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waves Apartments & Resort

The Waves Apartments & Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waves Apartments & Resort
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Hollywood
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
“WE WILL BE BACK...................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Gotta tell you, this place is the best. Our room was 150 steps from the beach, yes 150 steps and my toes were in the sand. The Waves is lile a slice of heaven, we are currently planning our return trip back to stay again. They even had the old fashion charcoal grills, we cooked hamburgers the old fashion way and my girlfriend loved it. I can still smell the burgers cooking. Like I said, if you want to go to heaven.......GO TO THE WAVES.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbuckhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    16
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
27
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I grew up in South Florida and, when I was young, my family and I would spend our vacations at the beach. This hotel reminds me of what I call Old Florida. It's not splashy and high tech, but it is quiet and has a spectacular view of the ocean. Now, I live in Fort Lauderdale and know the area very well. While my sailboat was in a boat yard, I needed a place to stay. I chose The Waves because of the location and the price. I couldn't have been more pleased. The view from my room was spectacular, Hector and Michele and their staff worked very hard to make my stay trouble free, the room was clean and equipped with a full-size refrigerator and microwave. As an example of great service, when I checked in, the high-speed Internet wasn't working. Michele and her staff came out at 9:00PM on a Friday night and had me up and running in about a half hour. The other guests were friendly and the overall feel was more of a community than an antiseptic hotel. No pool, but an uncrowded beach is literally seconds away.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheLadyEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

excellent service and amenities. The rooms were clean and the proximity to the beach a definite benefit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loizaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Upon arrival I was prepared to be disappointed. This is more of a motel than a hotel. I live closeby, but rented here for the 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. It was very difficult to get in touch with the staff when I called ahead to confirm my reservation and ask a few questions about the room (as a matter of fact nobody ever answers the phone), but the lady at the desk at check in was very friendly. This hotel/motel is merely STEPS from the beach and my room was on the end of the building and had a slight view of the beach. This "resort" is located on the north end of the beach, which I particularly like because you are away from the local crowds. The locals and guests on this end of the beach are very friendly, beachy people. There were grills in well kept courtyard and everything was neat. The room itself was ordinary, but the fact that it had a full sized refrigerator, kitchenette sink, coffee maker and microwave made up for this. The room was clean and the hotel provides extra kitchen utensils and cooking supplies in case you forgot anything. This "resort" could use an upgrade. The beds are not very comfortable and the air conditioner is very loud. My room was at the end and the way the door opens out onto the landing is a very precarious situation; too many drinks and down the stairs you will land. It is very quiet on this end of the beach and the courtyard with the grills is a great touch. The landscaping is well taken care of and the grass is well kept. This place is great for a quick getaway to the beach, but I would do some major upgrades. New beds are needed as well as linens and it is time to upgrade to different types of TVs because the small one on the wall up near the ceiling was difficult to see and hear(it rained so we were inside for a while). New and more quiet air conditioners are now sold and I would suggest getting to that immediately because after a long day at the beach one likes to fall asleep quietly and these are LOUD. I would stay here again for a quick weekend because it was clean and had everything we needed, but it would not be my first choice for more than 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Waves Apartment is located only a few steps away from the beach that is never crowded, even not at the weekends! The rooms were clean and the kitchen equipped with the most important things for a short-term stay. Arriving after business hours is no problem, because the hotel owners leave the key for the apartment in an envelope next to the office desk.
The only disadvantage is that it's necessary to have a car, because there were no shops or restaurants within walking distance.
I really recommend this hotel everybody who is searching for a cheap apartment close to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia30000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrise
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Hotel is in a great location and staff are great."
My husband, 19 yr old daughter, 15 and 10 yr old son and I stayed here over the weekend of father's day The location could not be better, a few steps to the beach! The view from our room was amazing! We could see the ocean from our room.
Our room was clean and we had everything that we need.

The broadwalk is perfect for people watching, morning walking, roller-blading, biking, etc., and has excellent lunch options such as pizza, gyros, ice cream, etc. Were some volleyball nets up along beach. . Restaurant has indoor/outdoor seating with a bar outside with live entertainment. For dinner we headed to Hollywood Blvd, tons of restaurants and bars. Visited the Seminole Hard Rock casino, and that plaza also has nice restaurants/shops with a little lake in the middle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mireyaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is a great hotel. Cleanliness is my biggest concern and the room was very clean, quiet and conveniently located near a major highway. The beach is literally a few steps away. The room contained a full size refrigerator and microwave. It was much better than I expected for a value-priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
The Desoto Inn
The Desoto Inn
#6 of 70 in Hollywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#24 of 70 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#31 of 70 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#6 of 28 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Reef
Coral Reef
#2 of 28 in Hollywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves Apartments & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments & Resort

Property: The Waves Apartments & Resort
Address: 317 Oak Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves Apartments & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The right size apartment suites for anyone's needs are available at these apartments. Stay short-term or long term. We offer comfortable and well maintained apartments complete with spacious interiors and fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, and much more. Guests can enjoy the magnificent clear blue ocean and sunbathing on the spectacular beach while staying here.Our property is located at the North end of the beach in Hollywood Florida, 35 minutes North of Miami Beach and 40 minutes South of West Palm Beach on the East coast of Florida. Footsteps from the ocean, with miles of beautiful sugar-sand beaches and palm trees under a warm tropical sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waves Apartments & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments Hotel Hollywood
The Waves Apartments And Resort
The Waves Apartments Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing