We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cuban Chic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Vegas 8

Las Vegas 8
Ranked #180 of 591 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
276 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cuban Chic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Part of a local chain and this location even had a drive rhrough. While this gave us pause this was quickly overcome. The food was excellent and the service quick. The waitress missed one item but it was OK. We will come back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brackjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I wound up eating here twice on my July visit to Hollywood, FL. This place was recommended by the conciere at the hotel and it did not dissappoint. They had $2.75 drinks on Happy Hour "all day", worth trying. I had the Moto it was very good. Took the kids and they really enjoyed their food also. Had the grilled chicken one night and the fried chicken another, both were very tender and tasty. The back beans are the best!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tootsemikayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cuban Food that was sub par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were a party of 4 who took trip advisors review that this place was #1 in Hollywood. If it is #1 I would not even want to try #2 . The rice,black beans and Yucca were the only good things that came out of the kitchen. The Churrasco was good but overcooked, the lechon asado was dried out, the pork cutlet was well overcooked as was the chicken cutlet sandwich

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Service, Portions HUGE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went on trip advisor's recommendation for this restaurant and it didn't disappoint!
The restaurant is small with dim lighting, honestly nothing special about it's appearance.
Our waitress was extremely friendly and helpful with giving us ideas on what to choose from the menu.
As other reviewers had said, get the lemonade. It's very sweet and I watered it down with extra water but it was absolutely wonderful!
I had the las vegas combination plate and when it came out, I regretted getting something so big because I knew I couldn't bring it back to the hotel with me. It came with beef, pulled pork, and chicken chunks, fried sweet plantains, and rice/beans.
So delicious - 2 people could easily be stuffed on just this one entree.
We ordered fried yucca with garlic sauce as appetizer and it was very good, yucca fried properly and was not bitter
Friend had garlic chicken chunks which she said also could be split for 2 people.
Ordered dessert of tres leches cake and flan - get the flan, you won't regret it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NJAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We took a Trip to Southern Florida and wanted to make sure we took in some Latin Flare. Our first Latin meal of the trip was at Las Vegas 8. Overall I thought the dinner was quite good. I got a steak option that was smothered with ham and cheese. The steak was tender and tasty. Unusual for me to say, but I think they might have gone a little overboard with the cheese, was that was easy to deal with. Our empanada appetizer was tasty (maybe a bit dry), but good. Overall, good value for the price. On a future trip I'll be sure to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Vegas 8 also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Dania Beach, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Dania Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Las Vegas 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing