We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lesson learned”
Review of Billy's Stone Crab

Billy's Stone Crab
Ranked #7 of 603 Restaurants in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $250
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Waterfront Seafood Restaurant & Market in Hollywood Beach, FL Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant is known far and wide nationally and internationally as one of THE best seafood restaurant & market in the Ft. Lauderdale area. And for a good reason. Billy's two story fine dining seafood restaurant, is accessible both by elevator and stairs and has floor to ceiling captivating views of the Intracoastal Water Way in the main elegant dining room. The sunset is magnificent. And at night, when the draw bridge of Hollywood Boulevard is illuminated and the lights change colors, the view is quite spectacular, making the restaurant a preferred city spot. If you come sit on the dock or dine upstairs, you can watch this beautiful panoramic nature over the Hollywood Beach Marina. According to owner Billy Hershey, "It's very romantic. We have a comfortable atmosphere allowing customers to relax, look over the water and watch the boats pass by." Billy's Stone Crab Restaurant & Market is an ALL YOU CAN EAT* stone crab restaurant. We have ALL YOU CAN EAT* medium, large, jumbo and colossal stone crabs, stone crab dinners and ALL YOU CAN EAT* jumbo Alaskan king crab legs. Hershey says, "People come here and say Wow! Your crabs are better than Joe's. We will never say our crabs are better than Joe's. We will thank them for the greatest compliment that we can ever have."
port orange
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lesson learned”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we would have rather gone to red lobester. the food would have been palatable, and not just overpriced.

why do some restaurants think that just because they over charge for poor culinary quality and mediocre service, that makes them a place to go? huh?

never again, let the tastbuds and wallet beware......

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    288
    104
    85
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Years Eve at Billy's”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had an outstanding dinner at Billy's Stone Crab on New Years Eve. We were pleased to be seated at a great table overlooking the Intercoastal waterway. Our waiter, Michael, was very knowledgable, attentive, and professional. The stone crab claws and Alaskin King Crab legs came out promptly and it was delicious!! We were not rushed and spent a lovely New Years Eve dining at a top notch restaurant. Thank you Billy's....we promise to return soon.
Susan S

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I started going to Billy's four years ago. We were in Miami for our 20th anniversary and now we make it a ritual to visit every January when we take our anniversary vacation. We have never been disappointed.Some may says it's a bit pricey, but when you want to make it special, it's definitely worth every penny! The food is always delicious! The waiters are very helpful and attentive to your needs. We love sitting by the window looking out at the water and the boats passing by. We cannot wait to go back again! Oh wait, we will be there next week :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2beachbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crawl on by”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to eat here because it was close by our hotel and had decent reviews. Service was slow and inattentive, the server asked whether we wanted more rolls; we said, "no" because there were still rolls left. She then took the basket away. Our entrees took over an hour to be served. That might have been tolerable but my grilled seafood plate was unbelievably bland and my husband's dish, linguine with garlic shrimp consisted of a gooey pasta and shrimp that tasted as dull as my grilled shrimp. If you crave tasteless,overpriced seafood, then this is the place for you. The outdoor seating was marred by the smell from the water.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKHAM
Level 6 Contributor
803 reviews
554 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit, well worth the return”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great food. Excellent service. Intracoastal view. The stone crab are a delight and the fish are delicious. Try it - you will come back over and over again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeFMarkhamON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Stone Crab also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Billy's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing