We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay before a cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
E. Brunswick, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay before a cruise”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I picked this place based off the good reviews and the fact that they provide a free shuttle from the airport to hotel, and a fairly cheap shuttle ($8 pp) to the port.

Arrived at FLL 8 pm. Called the hotel as we walked to baggage claim and was told where to go. Bags were already waiting for us, many thanks to JetBlue.
You go outside make a right and walk up a short distance. Can't miss where you are picked up. The wait was only about 15 mins and the ride to the hotel only took about 10 mins.

Check in was very easy and the staff is very nice.
The hotel itself is great. We stayed in room 213 (king bed). No complaints. The only negative was the view. Room was clean, no smell, and a/c unit was a normal sound.
Did not get to use the pool, however it did look very inviting in the evening.

The hotel resturant was busy but did not appeal to us. The prices were on the high side for what is offered. Just an example- chicken parm was $18. We decided to walk over to Denny's. Paid $20 for the two of us. If that does not appeal to you, the hotel has a variety of delivery menus.

Next to the hotel is a gas station. We picked up 2 bottles of wine for the cruise there.
As for the police car/cars you see out front. We were told it's just a security thing.

So after a great night of sleep we were ready to start our vacation.
We picked the 10 am shuttle to the port. I would recommend this time slot. You are given colored ribbons for your bags and bored by ship name. Shuttle left on time at 10. By the time we dropped off other cruisers and got to our ship it was 10:45. We were on IOS pier 29. 3rd stop. By that time traffic was starting to get bad. So go early. Less time having to wait in lines.

Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MaximusKat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillBakerGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words of praise. Our goal is to provide dependable service and make your stay a satisying one. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and let us know we are reaching our goal. We are committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    177
    61
    33
    25
See reviews for
130
167
44
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel enroute to a cruise from Port Everglades. The airport shuttle was horrible. They share with the Days Inn, so the shuttle was very crowded and hot. From the time I called, it took an hour to get to the hotel.

The hotel has some kind of energy-saving feature on the air conditioning that is supposed to sense if you're in the room. If you're not there, it shuts down. It worked on motion, so if you were lying still in bed, it shut off, and would only go back on if you moved. I'm all for energy-efficiency, but really!

All I wanted on this stay was a pickup from the airport, and a comfortable room. They get an F on both.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear AndyandDonna,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment and issues you had with the airport shuttle and the air conditioner. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

two couples traveling and we all liked this place. nice, large room. beautiful pool area and landscaping. restaurant was okay, service was a bit confused but server worked it out. denny's across the street for breakfast and $8 (per person) shuttle to the port. would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillBakerGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your comments. I have shared your comments with the staff. Our goal is total guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Bill Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Clean, convenient to the airport for when you arrive late in the day/evening. Nice restaurant and a bar in the hotel (not a chain next door). Food was good for dinner and breakfast. Didn't try the pool etc.

Fine for what we wanted - a decent overnight stay close to the airport, as we checked out first thing and headed for our cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRGUYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERivera1, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Holiday Inn Airport and Cruise Port. We value your feedback. Your kind words are encouraging. They are a reflection of hard work and dedication from our staff. It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again. We are eager to making your next visit award winning.

Best Regards,

Ernesto Rivera
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here post cruise.we were greeted well. Stored our luggage and took a 15.00 taxi to Ft Lauderdale beach. There are only a Mc Donald's and Wendy's across the street. Breakfast is the usual. Fitness room lacking but the small pool was a nice touch. Front desk has delivery menus for food. Check out fast and shuttle right there to take us to airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family and I loved our stay here in early January. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the facilities were very clean. The outside pool/bar area was breathtaking. You would forget that the highway was nearby because it was so quite. The drinks were yummy and the pool was the prefect temp. The staff was not very friendly so that is the only reason why I did not give this establishment five stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbabnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERivera1, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Holiday Inn Airport and Cruise Port. We value your feedback. Your kind words are encouraging. They are a reflection of hard work and dedication from our staff. We are currently using the information provided to improve the issues shared with us. We ask that you accept our apologies. It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again. We are eager to making your next visit award winning.

Best Regards,

Ernesto Rivera
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am not impressed with this hotel. Stayed for 2 nights, would have moved after the 1st night if I would have had the time. This is a full service Holiday Inn, not a Holiday Inn Express. I stay in hotels a lot in my job and I would prefer a Express over this full hotel. Room was clean but the beds are old and not very comfortable. Bedding was very lightweight. I had 2 queen beds for just me so I had to take the bedding off the other bed and double it up on my bed to be comfortable. Also, the pillows were very small. The room was clean but dated. A plus was the TV, nice large flat panel and the wifi was decent, not really fast but better than most. One thing I found really irritating was, at this price, no free continental breakfast. They only had full service breakfast or a buffet, both overpriced. I have much better experiences and less costly hotels on a regular basis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Randy B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the bedding and the pillows have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/South Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Fort Lauderdale Hollywood/Airport South
3.2 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,560 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
Address: 2905 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL 33020-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 42' LCD flat screen TVs, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. Overlook our stunning new tropical pool area with a large heated pool, Jacuzzi and pool bar. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is perfect for corporate travelers and families alike, the hotel is conveniently located near Ft. Lauderdale , Port Everglades, Dolphin Stadium and just 15 minutes north of Miami. There's Hollywood Beach, where you can indulge yourself in the wonderful sunshine and explore the famous Boardwalk. Also, don't forget the nearby attractions of Fort Lauderdale which bring visitors from around the world. Enjoy superb dining at our indoor/outdoor Cafe Aquatica or in the Rendezvous Reef Lounge with it's great atmosphere, whether inside or out on the terrace which overlooks our refreshing tropical pool area and waterfall. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is located at I-95 and Sheridan Street. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (Daily 5:00 AM - 11:59 PM).Shuttle service to the Port Everglades available for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel Hollywood
Holiday Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing