We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving”

Nakorn Thai Restaurant
Ranked #146 of 598 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

And it is true in this case. Before we traveled to Hollywood, I did some looking and this place peeked my interest. We happen to like Thai a lot and back in NY, we tasted them all. And as you know, NYC is the Mecca of all International gastronomy, so it is rather hard to impress yours truly.
So here we are, walking the Hollywood streets in search of this place. It's a mix bag of empty restaurants and bars. So here comes our place. We walk in and I am slightly nervous. The place is practically empty with a very 80's décor. I am afraid my wife will kill me now. So we sit down and examine the menu.
Here is our pick:
Tom Kha Gai, Tom Kha Goong, Age Tofu, Wakame, Panang Curry, Squid and Scallop.
Guys, when this stuff was delivered to our table, we were amazed by the flavors and the deliciousness. Soups were especially exceptional.
Wow!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vladmeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favourite Thai place!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is by far the best Thai restaurant my husband & I have found! We are very picky when it comes to Thai food. I have tried many different dishes & all came out very tasty! My 7 y/o son loves their Crazy sushi rolls & I do too! Once in a while I will indulge in the Seafood Curry or Chili Fish. A little pricey but I can usually get 2 meals each out of these dishes!
Friendly staff & great location.
The restaurant is a little too dark for us but decor is nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spicy means HOT, and Delish!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been eating and enjoying this gem for many years. Unassuming, underrated, and under-appreciated, Nakorn delivers a Green Curry Shrimp dish that is the bomb!

Less than $15 bucks and packed with a bunch of large and delish shrimp. It is spicy and not for the faint of heart, but right before the spicy is about to overtake your mouth, the flavor kicks back in. The coconut flavor comes through and wins your heart.

Tonight I tried the Tom Guk soup and it was HOT. I loved it but it made my nose run.

I'm not fond of the Denny's-esque new photo-menu. Cheesy.

Never a big wait. Wine, liquor, and beer is served too. 3 hours of free parking in Hollywood rocks, too, so enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good local place just off Hollywood Blvd. nice to walk the area before dark as well. Staff was friendly. Restaurant was clean. Food was cheap and good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“And they deliver!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great food and their delivery is fast. Can't go wrong. Their menu consists of Thai and sushi and both are very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakorn Thai Restaurant also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Nakorn Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing