We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good desert spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolada Bakery & Cafe

Chocolada Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 23 Dessert in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good desert spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We always stop at this place for desert but because is so crowded and chaotic we usually end up taking it home. All the deserts are out of this world! The food is good but nothing special .The service needs improvement and the guy who's sitting people at the tables is rude. Most of the tables are placed outdoors and jammed in a small place which doesn't allow for any privacy or even a normal conversation.I suggest you choose your desert inside and either take it home or go someplace else to enjoy it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank strattera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    60
    14
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Frappie was awesome ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stopped for dessert and frappe. Took longer to be served but the dessert was pretty good. Best Carmel frappe ever. Service was decent by wonder why gratuity was added for 2 people eating dessert. Didn't like that much! I always tip 20 percent unless it's bad service. I will try lunch or dinner and see if the service is better.

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always enjoy our meals here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My daughter and I traveled to Hollywood last week and decided to once again give Chocolada a try. Last time the entire family ate here (hubby, 1 daughter, 2 sons - all teens) and there is literally something for everyone on the extensive menu.

We shared an appetizer, both got chicken dishes (Mediterranean and Florentine) and she had dessert. SPECTACULAR!!!!

Per usual we sat outside. The poor couple next to us got served right before sunset and they had to swoosh flies the whole time. Fortunately, that did not happen to us.

Downfall: the wine pour could be a little more generous and they only have a limited selection.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EileenMBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Almost like a trip to Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best coffee, desserts and chocolate in South Florida. Hungarian Dobos torta is truly authentic. So are many more mostly East European desserts. Sandwiches are delicious as well. And to to top it all location and service are excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apatahunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

While waiting for take out we walked Hollywood Blvd and stumbled across this bakery/café. I had the dulce leche cheesecake & my spouse had the chocolate mousse. OMG!! Is all I can say...fresh, yummy and sure to satisfy your sweet tooth!! Very reaonably priced... a must try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolada Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Chocolada Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing