We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Above Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Hollywood Beach Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates of the Year
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Above Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We visited the Hollywood Beach (Florida) Marriott on North Ocean Drive the first week in December. This very impressive building is loaded with character. I am guessing it is at least 50 years old, and thrived in its heyday of hotels along the Broward Coast as a Howard Johnson's before the art deco era. It was purchased by Marriott in 2001. Marriott reportedly spent $7 million to renovate the property and currently is planning more.
It is decorated with lots of dark woods and colorful furnishings, reflecting an old Florida style. The rooms are well appointed, the beds very comfortable. Its location is perfect: Right on the beach with great views of the Atlantic Ocean from most all rooms.
The famous “Broadwalk” separates the hotel from the beach by just a few yards. Runners, joggers, skateboarders, walkers, bicyclers and inline skaters can be found traversing the miles-long broadwalk.
The hotel’s rates are not cheap, such as 2- and 3-stars, but the extra cost is well worth the trip to this facility. We were lucky to get a decent room price, under $300, and it included a full breakfast and free parking. By the way, the breakfast is one of the best we have ever had. Kudos to the chefs.
This facility’s hospitality is second to none. All customers are greeted cheerfully, from top managers down to maintenance personnel. Many hotels could take a hospitality lesson from this grand old dame on the ocean.
We like the amenity of added fruit to the hotel’s water coolers, a pleasant-tasting change.
There is also a gift shop, and a coffee shop that has a limited food menu.
The only downside is the Tiki Bar and Restaurant at the rear of the hotel on the broadwalk. Eating or drinking at the bar outside when it is extremely windy or cold can be a dealbreaker. We hope, with the added renovations, Marriott will consider an indoor bar with a few tables and perhaps include a small area for a piano player or guitarist.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    481
    168
    73
    55
See reviews for
408
457
46
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

First of all, Hollywood beach is special for the Miami- Ft. Lauderdale area. Properties are just a boardwalk away from the beach. Not only are beaches very accessible from properties, They are much less crowded than some in the area.

Marriott is the only full service hotel on the beach. Bar, restaurant and pool area are a nice escape. Rooms and service are what you would expect from Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob33026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'm a little late writing this review, but HAD to write about this place. My boyfriend & I were staying at another place for free through family in Hallendale & decided to visit Hollywood Beach & grab some lunch at the Marriot. SO GLAD we did! We were served by Lisa who is a very sweet caring person & now a friend. Instead of leaving Florida when we were supposed to, my boyfriend surprised me by extending our stay at the Marriot. Everyone is so nice, friendly & are willing to help you in any way with a smile. The rooms were very nice with comfy beds. Worth getting the beach front view with balcony & having access to the room that serves appetizers & desserts. I forget her name, but she's a sweet Spanish lady who we talked to for awhile who is an amazing cook! Basically, if you want to be served with smiles & great hospitality from the wait staff to the bartenders then you should definitely book your stay here & make sure you ask for Lisa when dining in the restaurant!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbunnysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was staying it this hotel quite frequently few years ago (2006). Unfortunately it used to be very good, now is just average. They used to have Starbucks coffee in the lobby. Coffee place has been replaced with pizza place. Rooms were not renovated in past 7 years. Prices for room however went up. It is still probably best location in the area, but only location seems to be outstanding, other things are just average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 607TomP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

You have developed a totally great team at this campus. Was greeted at the front desk by "Be be". Might have the name a bit wrong but she is totally awesome. Advised me that as silver elite we could use the pent house amenities. Provided a brief download on our room but what was the best and most important thing was that totally relaxed but for real smile and the ultra friendly attitude. This trip I took my wife so it was extra pleasing to have a great room with use of the amenities available on the pent house floor. We had a totally great team member in the room where you had a great choice of appetizers. She is totally awesome also but cannot quite remember her name. We also had a great team member on the earlier AM shift. Both took time to explain what was available and when. My wife and I used this service a lot as I was on business but needed to pay for her expenses. We did not talk to or meet any team member from maintenance, housekeeping, restaurant or the front desk that did not acknowledge us with a friendly smile and a good morning or how are you today. All with genuine smiles. Yes please do share my review with your team. This Marriott campus has the greatest team members in total that we have come across in our travels. "Penny"

Room Tip: The exercise room is totally awesome but is on the second floor. If that's one of your needs th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I have come back to this hotel time after time - for many years. We love it because it is an unpretentious but high quality Marriott with great friendly and courteous service. It is right on the boardwalk running along Hollywood beach shore. It's restaurant is overlooking the ocean - as does it's beautiful pool. All staff -from doorman to concierge to front desk staff to laundry staff to waiters et alis - all are friendly, very accomodating, and ca't wait do do something for us.

The place is clean, has a parking garage, and has lot's of options for different levels of service.

If you want an ideal place to have a romantic, family, or retirement visit - book early and often. you will really enjoy.

Room Tip: get a room with "partial view" to the ocean. South looking rooms have slightly better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

As a Marriott Plat member for years I have been to a lot Marriott's' in the world and the service we received here was 2nd to none. In the Concierge Lounge had the friendliest and best service i have ever received. The Food and Bev Manager went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. A+. It's really close to the FLL Airport and right on the boardwalk, don't even need a rental car for a short weekend trip. Don't judge the hotel by the outside! Get inside and have a great time and a great price and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12VoltMan-Chitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Marriott

Property: Hollywood Beach Marriott
Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Beach Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hollywood Beach Marriott, a South Florida boutique hotel that is situated directly on the famed Hollywood Broadwalk and on the Atlantic Ocean. As the only Marriott hotel on the Broadwalk, and only five miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and eight miles from Port Everglades, this Hollywood Florida hotel that is on the beach is nestled away from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, which captivates a true hometown, beach town experience for the best in accommodations. The Hollywood Broadwalk is rated as one of the best beach boardwalks by Travel + Leisure magazine and USA Today, offering almost three miles of strolling, biking, dining, and nightlife, all connecting to the hotel so you can walk to so many attractions. In walking distance, Florida action awaits you! Featuring 229 guest rooms lined with amazing water views, the Hollywood Beach Marriott also offers an indoor and outdoor restaurant to satisfy, plus a delightful beachfront pool and Jacuzzi for serenity. Casual and cool, we boast the perfect function space for your next beach Wedding, Mitzvah, or Corporate meeting. Whether on vacation or getting down to business, you can do it right in Hollywood, Florida ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing