We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a purpose!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Gateway Inn
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I needed a hotel to spend the night as my new place was not yet ready. As I drove up I knew I DID NOT want to stay here, the environment alone was discouraging and the people that were hanging out there would drive fear into any individual, most of whom seemed as if they were renting rooms for sex. I did not have many other options at this last minute I thought I would at least hear what they had to say. I have to hand it to the agent at the front desk, she was super nice and the only reason I ventured further to even complete my booking and at the very least check out the state of the room. Upon entering the room I knew the toilet was broken as it was running continuously, I made my way back to the front desk and was given another room, well the air conditioning was broken in this one. That was it for me, tired, frustrated with a 2 year old after a long day in hot, sunny South Florida...thankfully I was able to get a refund.

Room Tip: Don't get a room here unless it's just for sex!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cammz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

As an overnight guest with an early Amtrak train the following morning, I was very happy to stay in this convenient location, and I found the accommodation perfectly satisfactory. I was welcomed graciously by the delightful receptionist who was helpful throughout. My room had all the amenities as offered in good working order and was clean and fresh with a little balcony with two comfortable chairs outside for smokers and/or fresh air fiends. My only complaint is that the breakfast was inadequate and of poor quality and that the person on desk duty in the morning lacked the charm and attentiveness of her lovely colleague of the previous day, but these are surely simple matters to address and did not detract too heavily from the overall enjoyment of my stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, especially to Amtrak travellers who can literally walk across from the station in a matter of minutes and enjoy a relaxing shower, a good TV selection, good wifi access and a comfortable night's sleep. The area is quite acceptable and as a solo traveller I felt perfectly safe.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank Valda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

It is in our opinion after travelling 5 weeks in America staying in numerous luxury Hotels, that The Hollywood Gateway Inn deserves our Number One recommendation for location, public transport, smoking outside your room - with balcony, breakfast included in the price, coffee all day and tidy facilities.

At first and as time grew near; previous negative reviews had us really worried! However my choice was based on our needs to get to Miami Sun Life Stadium for Wrestlemania and Hollywood Amtrak Station.

After the initial travel weary and odd Hotel welcome was out of the way, we found our King Room (209 – facing the car park) as specified per website, comfortable, clean enough and appliances in fair working order.

Having stayed 7 days at the Hollywood Gateway Inn the place grew on us as did the staff by revealing their happier nature. YES, we could see that the place was a bit worn for its age, although painting, paving and gardening was in action. The pool area was tidy and Breakfast was a treat.

Furthermore, we relied on public transport; as per one example the No.7 bus ($14 - 7 Day Bus Pass or $4 - All Day) travelling East towards Young Circle you have all other bus connections taking you to Hollywood Beach – No.4, Aventura Mall – No.1 (South) connecting to Miami Beach area, Fort Lauderdale – No.1 (North) connecting to the Swap Shop is the – No.40.

Walking West along Hollywood Blvd. Hollywood Amtrak Station took 8 minutes and the nearest shopping area took a 20 minute leisurely walk.

N.B. The Hotel complex has two Security points of entry with your room key. The door situated midway is not secure, period! Thus a prerequisite to unwanted and or suspicious behaviour entering as stated in previous reviews. However we were not witness to anything untoward and this security breach did not affect our stay or safety.

We hope our review has been of help and assistance…
Australian :) Travellers

Room Tip: We had a KING Room (209) with balcony overlooking the carpark area where we could relax and smoke (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was a very great hotel to stay at.I was in Miami for Wrestlemania 28 on April 1st and the best part of my trip was the the stay at this hotel.The pool was great,rooms were clean and staff was helpful.I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is about the worst hotel in the Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood area. I am originally from Miami and lived in Fort Lauderdale for some time as well. I still have family that I come to visit from time to time which is why I was here. The only good thing I can say is that it was close to the Airport and that is about it. Some people will say it is close to the beach and I-95, and that does not say much, because there are numerous better hotels that are near the beach and I-95 and the airport. The room I stayed in was smokey and musty smelling and it was not clean. The carpet had not been vacuumed, the bathroom was dirty, I could see soap scum, and the location is in a rather crime riddled neighborhood. I would definitely not stay here again and I will look for another much better hotel for future stays.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I had a great experience with this hotel, as soon as I got there my room was ready, very clean and very spacious. The customer service rep was a sweet heart she made sure I was happy with my room, also I spoke with the manager he helped me get dinner reservations and shows at the Hard Rock. I needed some clothes done by a dry cleaners so they had Image Cleaners pick up and drop off the same day. I will recommand this hotel to anyone that comes to Hollywood Florida.

Room Tip: The southeast corner rooms are brighter and quitier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

It was st. patricks day,no other vacancies were available while visiting the hospital.They charged us 79 bucks to stay in a filthy room w bullet holes in the walls,visible bed bugs on there poorly unmatching furniture,there were pictures missing from every wall,the sink was cloggin and filling up faster than I could use it.had to use my fingernail to use screw to get shower hot water.Not to mention the minute we put our keycard in the door,we heard 10 racoons just a goin at it outside,we looked and it wasnt animals at all, just 2 hookers fresh of ghetto street this place is located.I drove 9 hrs there and slept 2hrs surprisingly because I didnt even want to sit down.This place is not Safe or Clean by Any means,and should be reported to the CDC!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlyBagheera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
#34 of 72 in Hollywood
1,136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Fort Lauderdale Hollywood/Airport South
3.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#37 of 72 in Hollywood
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#31 of 72 in Hollywood
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
3.1 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#16 of 72 in Hollywood
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Gateway Inn

Address: 2900 Polk St, Hollywood, FL 33020-4231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range: $58 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Gateway Inn is the prefect place to relax and rest up.The Newly Renovated Hollywood Gateway Inn is located in a wonderful location right off I-95 and within minutes of Fort Lauderdale international Airport, Port Everglades, Hollywood Beach, Downtown Hollywood.The property recently underwent full renovation and is a now a beautiful modern boutique property in the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Gateway Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing