We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for area”
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riptide Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

For an expensive and busy area, this hotel was a good value. Accommodations were good, not spectacular, though the staff was very friendly and helpful. The A/C in the room was exceptionally loud but kept the room nice and cool. The little kitchen area, with fridge, stove, microwave and coffeemaker - even dishes and utensils - was very appreciated. Nice vibe and service at the outdoor tiki bar, decent prices on drinks. Though they advertised live music every night - one of the reasons I booked the hotel - both nights we were there (Friday & Saturday) it was canceled due to rain earlier in the day…though the weather was totally clear after 6PM both nights. Hmmm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 771 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Sandwich is delicious tuna sandwich and their salads. did not have anything from the menu not delish. We are regulars and Tarah is a great bartender always flashed a big smile. Great prices and great views over ice cold drinks served with a smile. Live music all day everyday

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place has bare essentials but the location and view cannot be beat.

Breakfast (not free) is available at around $10. If you prefer to sip on coffee while watching the beautiful sunrise, I suggest you bring your own. The room had a pot but no coffee! Since the office didn't open until 8:00 or a little after, the coffee wasn't ready until 8:30 am. People were standing in line waiting.

I suggest the office open earlier or invest in a Bunn!

The Tiki hour happy our was great. Another time, bartender service was lacking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Riptide is a classic beachfront hotel, complete with Tiki Bar and daily musical entertainment for your beach vacation pleasure.

Don't expect fancy, its not.. expect clean, it is.
Don't expect stuffy (go a little further north up the Broadwalk for that,) expect friendly, it is..
On the other hand, don't expect top shelf liquor, there is none.. expect beer and wine and tasty frozen drinks, they got that handled..

They have breakfast, lunch and snacks at the bar, good selection, freshly cooked and table service on the patio as well. Try the guacamole, its freshly made and delicious.

For those that are so inclined, there are a few bicycles and chairs you can use for a morning ride or to sit on the beach. They are free, and as such, may or may not serve your purpose.. YMMV.

There is what is billed on the website, a "Gift Shop".. umm, no.. its a glass cabinet with a few items for sale. Grab a tank top for the ladies, guys- sorry, NO tanks for you!.. only T shirts.. ?? Mgmt: Seriously?.. what is that all about?

Oh yeah, it mentions scuba diving on the website.. However, not at the Riptide; you are on your own.
Mgmt: Maybe you can hook up with the dive shop over in Dania and actually be able to offer a deal to guests?
Another note to Mgmt: Please fix the in-room safes...

On any given day, you will find a great mix of locals, regulars and hotel patrons enjoying a break from the sun, enjoying a snack, or meeting up after work at the Tiki, its a fun crowd. Or if you like, sit at a table on the Broadwalk just feet from the sand and watch the surf, the people or the clouds...

Room Tip: Parking can be tight at times, as a rule, it's 1 car per room, ask about overflow parking right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surgtech2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Front desk was awsome and a even better view. Nice and clean... Plus they have a bar on site with restaurant with tables right on the beach! This is a must come if you are coming to Hollywood Florida!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drinkfishwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is an average motel but what sets it apart is its location right on the beach. The people are pleasant and helpful. Don't be apprehensive by the party noise at the Tiki Bar. It ends about 9pm. The Tiki Bar is not a full bar, basically just beer and wine,

No swimming pool.

The bathroom is very small. Shower only. Has a flat screen TV, and kitchen with microwave and refrigerator. The beds are comfortable.

I was worried about parking (which is included in the room price), but the Riptide has a separate lot about 150 ft from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Code39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

So your looking for a hotel on the beach, on the Boardwalk, not part of a huge chain, but still want to be a part of the fun? This is it! What a pleasant surprise to book this hotel, we called it a "Boutique Hotel". Just the right size, perfect spot on the beach, rooms are clean and set up nice, mini kitchen. I could stay here for a week. It even has a Tiki Bar with happy hour and live music and they have a full service kitchen. No pool but you don't need one walk 20 feet to the sand and beach. The price is a steal you can't find anything this nice for the price. What adds to the deal- FREE bike rental, beach chairs, and umbrellas. We will be back loved this Boutique Hotel, small amount of rooms do not wait to book this place. We stayed here 2 days before our cruise

Room Tip: ask for a room with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 73 in Hollywood
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $153 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located on the broadwalk in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. It is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV's with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. Daily parking fee of $10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing