We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$106
$96
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$116
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hollywood Beachside Boutique Suites(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$103
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
$205
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Inn(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$120
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$246
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
418
272
108
33
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
272
108
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive musicbeach chairshollywood beachnice tiki bartiki hutfree bikesfull kitchenperfect locationgreat beachview of the oceansmall kitchenboard walkravenstepsmotelumbrellasflorida
Filter
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 862 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to the Riptide, 1st time with the new management. The improvements were noticeable from check-in to check-out. We arrived before the 3pm check-in time and was able to get into our room early. We had stopped for some groceries before our arrival, and was pleasantly surprised when Chris helped us carry our luggage and groceries to our 2nd floor room. The room was small and old, but clean. The bathroom was the biggest disappointment. It was very small, with no electrical outlets for a blow dryer. The kitchen set-up was very nice, with a coffee pot, filters, a full size fridge, and microwave. Since we fly in from PA., the use of the bikes (only 2 so get them early) and the beach chairs (need new ones, pretty old and broken) was a nice surprise, and we took advantage of them everyday.
Now for the best part and main reason we stay at the Riptide. The Tiki bar and music! They have GREAT live music from 1 pm - till 9 pm everyday! We enjoyed ordering lunch from their full menu, having Tony cook the best burgers & wings on the grill, right in front of us. Bartender Rocky would serve us our Corona Lights and join us in conversation. Tarah, the other great bartender told us of all the new upgrades coming to the Riptide in the future, including breakfast. Happy Hour was always a fun time, with the locals treating us as friends.
We will definitely be back to see what new improvements are coming to the Riptide, including the breakfast!
Lisa-front desk, Tarah & Rocky-bartenders, Tony-chef and Chris-hotel help.....you guys ROCK!
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We enjoy the south building, with the music, tiki bar and beach steps away.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stusmomPa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear stusmomPA_,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It makes us feel so good when guests that have stayed in the past notice the changes we are making. I do apologize for the condition of the beach chairs and limited supply of the bicycles during your stay. We have corrected that and purchased more chairs and bicycles so they are more available for the guests needs. I do apologize for the problem with the outlet in the bathroom; we do offer in every room a blow-dryer for the guests use and are repairing the wiring in some bathrooms that need updating. Thank you for your patience & understanding while we work to improve the quality of your and other guests stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Riptide is a throwback to the era of small oceanfront motels. It offers a variety of rooms to suit most every size group or family. The rooms are clean and come with basic kitchens and bathrooms at a great price for being directly on the beach. The people watching is great.

Room Tip: Stay in the North building for quieter nights.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Rick H,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We agree Hollywood Beach brings some of the most eclectic people in South Florida making it one of the best for people watching. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently had a 6 hour overlay after getting off a cruise ship. We had no place to stay so started walking down Hollywood Boulevard to see if we could find a place to store our luggage. A wonderful manager by the name of Felicia made arrangements for us to have a room overlooking the ocean for 6 hours. It was Superbowl Sunday and at 6:00 pm we had the hotel call us a cab for 6:30. The cab never showed up even after calling twice. It was 7:30 and we were frantic. Felicia said "no worries" our general manager Tal will give you a ride." We take care of our people ." she added. Tal drove us to our gate. He absolutely would not take any money from us even though we insisted. This is a wonderful small business that really tries to do the best they can to make your stay relaxing, safe, and enjoyable. I thank you Felicia and Tal ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnda43357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Lynnda43357,

Thank you so much for all your kind words! Tal will always go above and beyond for our guests. I am so pleased we were able to be there for you and your family. And we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lauren G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I appreciated the free bikes and free beach chairs . This is second year we stayed. Great value. Clean beach. We will return.i the front desk was helpful when i misplaced a key. wrote over two hundred characters

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenVercammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear DJL1967,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you brought in 2013 with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Best Regards,
Lauren G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Riptide for 3 nights over New Year's because we were in town for a concert at the Hard Rock Hollywood. The hotel is located oceanfront along the Hollywood Boulevard,which has many small tourist shops, restuarants and bars. Very nice beach with lots to do and interesting people watching. Rooms very very spacious and clean, not luxurious by any means, by adequate and comfortable. Nice Tiki bar on-site with live entertainment.

Room Tip: Choose the North side if you want a quiter room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear DJL1967,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you brought in 2013 with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Best Regards,
Lauren G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews