We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$102
$96
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollywood Beachside Boutique Suites(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$192
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$124
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$178
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveler rating
419
272
108
33
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
272
108
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive musicbeach chairshollywood beachnice tiki bartiki hutfree bikesfull kitchenperfect locationgreat beachview of the oceansmall kitchenboard walkravenstepsmotelumbrellasflorida
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 863 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've been coming here for years. It was always our favorite place have a charming room with kitchen, the tiki bar, the free bikes....we absoutelu loved it

But alas new owners decided to have live music late and then switch to blaring music "until someone complains" which for us was 11 pm and we couldn't take it anymore.

They now serve food and have draft beer at the tiki bar so they must want business for the bar

Unfoetunately for those in the rooms, even with windows shut tight and air conditioner blaring, the music is so loud as if they are singing in your room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Barbara45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Happened upon this jewel by accident (or was it destiny) with the intent of staying one night on our way down to Key West. We stayed 2 nights and would have stayed 3 but had reservations Gorgeous beach and Boardwalk.!!!! Soaked in the sun during the day and relaxed at Tiki Bar in the evenings. Lisa was most helpful in guiding us to the best places to eat. (Nick's and Capone's)
My only regret is they are too far away for us to go there at least once a month
CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK

Jay and Tammie

Room Tip: Ask for a roomoff the patio if you want to be close to bar or one toward the back if you want more seclusion
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everyone knows it's a crap-shoot planning your summer family vacation. Do we drive? Do we fly? Is the Hotel going to be clean? Are there eating places within walking distance? Will the staff be friendly & helpful? Will they speak English? and last but certainly not least, can I afford it?.

I went through a time in my life where all I would stay in was large corporate chain hotels but those days are over! Just drive on past all of those snooty large overpriced chain hotels like the Marriott/Hilton types as well as the places where no-one at the desk or in housekeeping speaks English and check in to the Riptide Hotel ON Hollywood Beach in Hollywood Florida.

Leave all your worries & cares at the door and let office manager Lisa, night attendant Nalani plus the rest of this top notch staff be your guides for a great stay.

I have traveled the world and have NEVER stayed in a cleaner place with a nicer more helpful staff than at the Riptide.

Talk about being close to the beach! From our room it was 20 steps to the sand on the cleanest safest police patrolled beach I've ever been on. Another great thing is that pets are not allowed anywhere on Hollywood Beach or the Broadwalk which keeps it super clean.:)

Got kids? Another cool feature of the Riptide is that they will loan you everything from bicycles to boogie boards to beach chairs & large beach umbrella's for your personal use at the Hotel. There is no pool at the Riptide, you don't need one, you're at the Atlantic Ocean for Pete's sake! Heck, one day when it was raining, Lisa in the office gave us umbrella's and rain jackets to keep us dry on our evening stroll. These people bend over backward to make your stay a great one.

There's a 'Tiki Bar' on the Broadwalk at the Riptide and they usually have some kind of music afternoons and early evenings and don't worry, you can't hear the music from your rooms with the A/C running and we were in unit #2 which was 10 steps away.

Each unit has a kitchen area that is also kept very clean with all utensils provided. You can walk to the Hollywood Trolley and take it to the supermarket downtown for supplies for $1 per person each way which beats the heck out of a cab fare!
Speaking of cab fare, it ran us between $18-$23 each way from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport and it's about a 15 minute ride.

The Broadwalk is filled with all kinds of eating choices as far as the eye can see. Or favorite was the Taco Shack which was one block over & Nick's on the Broadwalk and both were very good.

So there you have it, just another happy American family that had a great time at the Riptide ON Hollywood Beach and would do it again in a heartbeat. That's my story & I'm stickin to it! WC Edgar

Room Tip: Our room #2 was great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wcedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a three-day weekend at this place and it was great! The hotel is right on the Boardwalk, only steps from the beach. The rooms are updated and clean, you have a small full kitchen, cable, and you can even borrow movies from the front desk. We stayed just outside the tiki bar just and they serve free coffe every morning. They also serve free hot dogs at lunch, and of course, for those of us who like our rum, they make delicious frozen drinks, along with a full bar and live entertainment. If you like a more quiet atmosphere, the hotel has a second building that doesn't face the bar, but for us the tiki bar was just fine! They also offer chairs and bikes for free.

We did not need our car the entire weekend since the hotel is a short walk from dozens of restaurants. What a great weekend! We will stay here again!

Room Tip: the best rooms are the ones facing the ocean. For a quieter stay, ask for rooms in the building without he tiki bar, but if you like to hang out and hear live music then those are the best rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I attend an annual conference in Hollywood/Ft. Lauderdale each June. Instead of the conference venue, I have stayed at the Riptide, and have had an incredible experience each time during my past 3 visits. It is extremely clean, sits directly on the boardwalk that you can ride the Riptide's bikes on, and the beach is a few yards from your hotel room. There typically is always live music which isn't too loud, next to the tiki bar that overlooks the beach. This last visit we held a business related BBQ, and the manager and rest of the staff went out of their way to assist and make everyone comfortable. We will return again next year and I highly recommend the Riptide if you are planning a visit to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor room that overlooks the ocean. It's in the north building, directly on the boardwalk.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nedvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews