We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
422
274
108
33
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
274
108
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive musicbeach chairshollywood beachnice tiki bartiki hutfree bikesfull kitchenperfect locationgreat beachview of the oceansmall kitchenboard walkravenstepsmotelumbrellasflorida
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 868 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Riptide for the third time during Memorial Day weekend. We had stayed there before last Christmas, as well as the Christmas before that (which was before the hotel had changed owners). The first two times we had thought the hotel was quirky, albeit in a kind of fun way, and that the Riptide was the best deal on Hollywood Beach (which, admittedly, has very few good options -- either dive hotels or the overpriced Marriott). This time around, though, the quirks were a lot more difficult to deal with. The air conditioner in the room our kids were staying in started making loud sounds that woke them in the middle of the night; they finally had to turn it off to get some sleep. The room they were moved into the next day had an air conditioner that kept tripping a fuse and turning off.

But the real deal breaker for us was when we returned to the room on Sunday evening at 11 to find a loud party in the courtyard outside our room with 15 or so people sitting with a boom box playing loud music and large bottles of liquor. The men there were of the large, shaved headed, and heavily tattooed variety. At 11:30, when the party showed no signs of breaking up, we called the hotel office, only to find out that it closed at 10 pm that night. We called the emergency number listed on the office's message and received no answer. We called the number again 15 minutes later, and again we received no answer. Even though we left messages both times, no one ever returned our call. We eventually wound up calling the police, who finally came and quieted the party down. (911 operator: "Do you want an officer to knock on your door to give you a report after they finish?" Me: "Please God, no! You haven't seen the size of these guys.")

The next morning as we checked out, I told the person at the desk what had happened the night before. She showed absolutely no surprise, quickly called someone (either the manager or the owner) and told them that a room was complaining about noise the night before. The clerk never even bothered to tell the manager that no one had answered the emergency number the night before -- clearly this wasn't a big deal. Whoever answered told her to knock $50 off our room for the night, which the clerk did without batting an eye -- this obviously wasn't the first time this had happened. I told the clerk that we couldn't come back if there wasn't any system to deal with noise or other issues at night. She just shrugged her shoulders, and that was it.

So it looks like next time we're back at the overpriced Marriott. At least we can get a quiet night's sleep. . . .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank meichner27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I just had my h.s. reunion all weekend long at The Riptide. My class rented out all the rooms........this was the most amazing reunion we have ever had. Being on the beach all weekend long was unbelievable.......the rooms were nice, neat, spacious and extremly accomodating. The motel staff couldn't do enough for us............the party was a private party both friday night and sunday morning brunch.........the motel hosted a sat afternoon b.b.q for us.......it's the most perfect spot for anyone who grew up in south florida to have a reunion, but even great that we booked all 25 rooms for the entire weekend...............there aren't enough good things I could say about having our reunion at the riptide as well as how great the entire staff treated all of us.......i totally recommend it to everyone, especially h.s. reunions from south florida.

Room Tip: it won't matter..they are all nice with kitchenttes, wi-fi, flat screen tv's, what more can i ask for
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I were in town for a high school graduation. We stayed at the Riptide Hotel and could not have had a better time. This hotel is right on the Hollywood Board walk and the beach and our room looked directly at the ocean. We had a great time at the Tiki Bar and met many regulars that visited the Tiki Bar and live in the area. The staff at the hotel and Tiki Bar were exceptional, especially Carly who is one of the bartenders at the Tiki Bar. This is a great beach hotel but if you are looking for rooms and amenities of a five star hotel you would be disappointed. This hotel is a great place to stay if you love the beach and the ability to be on the boardwalk and walk to all the bars and restaurants that are there. We had a great time and look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: any of these rooms are located right around the Tiki Bar which has live music through out the day to approx. 11:00 p.m. We were never disturbed by this, but if you need if very quiet you may ask for a room in the building furthest away from the Tiki Bar.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Riptide Hotel for our honeymoon. It was absolutely fabulous. The rooms were clean, the staff was excellent and friendly, the bartenders at the Tiki Bar were exceptional. It was a great experience and my new husband and I will return very soon. Thank you for a great time!
Kathy Link

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We live in Tamarac, Fl, about 20 miles west of Hollywood Beach and were looking for a nice, clean place on the beach to spend the weekend. We found it! The Riptide was all we were looking for and more. Helpful, smiling people eager to make sure everything was perfect, good music at there tiki bar, and a laid back atmosphere. Hollywood Beach is a South Florida treasure and the Riptide is a great place to enjoy it.

Room Tip: we were in room 22 and the ocean is right out front but I think all the rooms have a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews